Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars219
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£1.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 26 April 2007
I admit the humor in this fantastic comedy made by the creators of South park this is not very adult ,but is extremely funny ,made with puppets to a very high standard ,the movie pokes fun at American war on terror and radical Islam.

The plot follows a group of American secret agents trying to fight terror and killing everyone on their path ,they have to face many dangers including Alec Baldwin and Michael Moore.

The best character is Kim Jong Il ,one of the best satires ever made of a living politician and I found it impossible not to laugh every time he come on screen

This comedy is not for everyone and some viewers might be easily offended such as American patriots, terrorists, people with gender issues or North Korean dictators.

The DVD has 2 hours of extras including some more Kim Jong Il fun.

I advise you to BUY this movie and laugh to your heart content.
11 comment34 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2005
I find it astonishing that anyone could watch this film without finding something to love. It is utterly hilarious, and I agree it is juvenile in parts, but then anyone who goes to watch something by Parker and Stone without expecting a certain amount of puerility should clearly not be allowed out by themselves, and furthermore, anyone who is so uptight not to smirk occasionally at stupidity should probably stick to watching Star Wars and other emotionally overblown pap fests, since humour is not their thing. For the rest of us, it is not only hilarious but also well-crafted and perfectly-aimed. There is a place for subtle satire and this film isn't it, but then the issues it deals with are not subtle either. It is impossible to rip apart America's stance on world peace without displaying them as brash caracitures since Bush and his cronies have become exactly that. It does not pull any punches, and, like South Park, is not bothered who it attacks, since it recognises that nothing on earth is completely immune to mockery, particularly politics, celebrities and Thunderbirds. So watch it and enjoy it (unless you are uptight, in which case go and hire 'Kez' and enjoy that instead). Oh, and for the record, it is all about America policing the world. That's the joke, for those of you who may miss it.
11 comment31 of 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 June 2005
"Team America" plays like Trey Parker and Matt Stone broke into Gerry Anderson's house while he was away, got totally loaded, and made a movie.
Like South Park, "Team America" rips into anybody and everybody - gay, straight, Republican, Democrat, Arab, American, French, Korean, treehugger or warmonger - no matter what kind of person you are there's guaranteed to be at least one scene in this film which will make you SQUIRM.
The primary target of the film is, as the title suggests, the macho gung-ho cowboy way America carries out its "war on terror", i.e. throwing military hardware around wherever they like, generally flattening population centres while wearing cheesy grins, all in pursuit of a handful of terrorists.
That said, the film is equally keen to rip into liberals with just as much venom - causing some to wonder whether it's a pro-Bush propoganda vehicle (!) - but the truth is that it's offensive to everybody, and fair play to it. Those same people probably think the Cartman character from South Park was proof that the South Park creators are neo-Nazis! Oh dear... It's called "satire" - and this might be some seriously scatological satire, but it's satire nonetheless!
It's been called the most offensive puppet movie ever made (although I wonder whether the people saying that have seen Peter Jackson's "Meet the Feebles"!) but, as undeniably foul as it is, sadly this DVD isn't quite as offensive as the filmmakers intended... The version of "Team America" available in the UK is the R-rated version that played in American cinemas and which was cut by about a minute, mostly in that infamous sex scene. Happily, there's an "uncut and unrated" version available on R1 DVD for those who want to see all boundaries of taste and decency well and truly violated!
44 comments17 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2005
I'm afraid if you dont laugh hugely at this movie then there is no hope for you. It rips right into the Hollywood blockbuster mentality and delivers a hilariously funny film which very rarely misses its targets - unlike the members of Team America! There's more than enough here for anyone with even a hint of a sense of humour, as well as a desire to see the major monuments and tourist attractions of the world blown to bits. What made the movie even funnier for me was the songs (what? you say!) - yep, the songs were absolutely fantastic parodies and even the stoniest hearts amongst you will feel a wee bit of sadness during Kim Jong Ils rendition of "I'm so ronery". As for the look of the film - think Thunderbirds with swearing and much better explosions and effects and you've just about got it - the guys involved in making this obviously went all out to make it look and sound great, and the DVD features which delve into the 'making of' side illustrate the time and effort the crew put into the look and effects of the film. And of course they made the puppets have sex!! My advice - get it, grab some beers and popcorn and laugh yourself stupid. Remember, sometimes believing is all we have.
0Comment31 of 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 September 2009
I admit the humor in this fantastic comedy made by the creators of South park this is not very adult ,but is extremely funny ,made with puppets to a very high standard ,the movie pokes fun at American war on terror and radical Islam.

The plot follows a group of American secret agents trying to fight terror and killing everyone on their path ,they have to face many dangers including Alec Baldwin and Michael Moore.

The best character is Kim Jong Il ,one of the best satires ever made of a living politician and I found it impossible not to laugh every time he come on screen

This comedy is not for everyone and some viewers might be easily offended such as American patriots, terrorists, people with gender issues or North Korean dictators.

The DVD has 2 hours of extras including some more Kim Jong Il fun.

I advise you to BUY this movie and laugh to your heart content.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2007
If you see the cover of this and still buy it, you'll know exactly what you're going to get - a crass, loud, brash, taste-free couple of hours boggling at the Team America approach to diplomacy (ie blow it up first, ask questions afterwards). It's pretty racist, in appalling taste and completely takes the proverbial out of a) Bush's approach to foreign policy, b) America's approach to anything outside its borders and c) the entire action-movie genre. But it's done in a very knowing way, and the biggest targets for Trey and Parker's barbs certainly aren't Arabs - or even the French! I laughed my wooden @ss off - see it on a day when you're not taking anything too seriously and you will too!
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I was slightly disappointed the first time I saw this film - probably because I was so hyped up about it, having heard so many people talk about how hilarious it was. My second time through it, though, everything clicked. Team America: World Police is juvenile and disgusting, yet sharply pointed satire that goes out of its way to be offensive - in other words, it's hilarious, and yet more proof of Trey Parker's genius. Parker and Stone do things no one else would ever dream of doing - or even be allowed to do. It's a film I know I know I will enjoy watching time and time again for years to come.
Hilarity aside, the audacity of making such an elaborate film using puppets is almost mind-boggling. Parker and Stone probably had little idea of what they were getting into, yet they stayed the course, brought together a tremendous team of individuals who, as the special features make obvious, relished the chance to take the art of puppetry to new heights, and created something that is really quite amazing. It's uncanny how life-like these puppets are - I daresay Alec Baldwin, for example, is much more wooden in real life than is his puppet in this film. These aren't just wooden characters dangling on strings; each puppet's head is filled with animatronics that control his/her expressions with uncanny precision. The puppet fights are hilarious, but nothing's funnier than watching Gary give "the signal" as his first mission with the elite American fighting force goes south.
As with everything Parker and Stone do, there's actually a point behind all of the humor. Though their detractors would never admit it, these guys actually do have a handle on what is going on in the world - and within America. If you've ever seen South Park, you know how quickly they manage to exploit the big issues of the day. No one is safe from these guys' political humor, but the Left does tend to suffer the brunt of the satirical attack in this film. (Those who say Parker and Stone are suddenly outright conservatives have obviously forgotten their short-lived series That's My Bush - which was the only unfunny thing they've ever done.) Team America itself takes America's military might to obvious extremes, as when they pretty much destroy Paris in order to stop WMD-toting terrorists (of course, no one seems to consider the fact that the terrorists would have destroyed Paris to an even greater extent themselves had their plan succeeded). Alec Baldwin's ilk, though, suffers most because they have two Stone/Parker targets on their back. One, they are soporific liberals who would stop terrorism by sympathizing with the enemy and commiserating with their extreme anti-American views over tea and crumpets; two, they are actors and I think Parker and Stone really mean it when they say they hate actors - it's one of the reasons they chose to make this movie with puppets (plus, one of the original inspirations for the project was the idea of doing a parody of today's action films).
I don't think I need to describe the movie, really. Kim Jong-Il (even though he does sound a little too much like Eric Cartman, at times) is a great character, of course, but you probably know all about the film's story by now. It is true that Parker and Stone push the envelope (actually, they just tear it all apart and rush right on past it) at times - especially in the puppet love scene and the vomiting scene - probably just to prove how much they can get away with, but you just have to expect that sort of thing from these guys. It's one of the things that makes them Parker and Stone. Let's not forget the songs, either. From the heart-pumping theme song to Kim Jung-Il's loneliness lament, Team America World Police features a great soundtrack (be sure to go all the way through the final credits in order to hear a final little snippet from Kim Jung-Il).
If you're easily offended, you'll probably be holding your nose higher and higher as you watch this film (even while those around you are bent over holding their stomachs with laughter) - but that's okay because the rest of us need someone to hold our popcorn while we struggle to regain our breath.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
Excellent, I laughed many many times, so much so my face hurt. It is extremely purile but so what? if you don't like mock the week or are easily offended its probably best to avoid, but i loved it.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 December 2009
Parody is a very difficult artform and many do it exceedingly badly - the Scary Movies for instance - but Team America is an equal opportunities satire that is also one of the funniest films ever made. For anyone at any end of the political spectrum if you can't find something to laugh at yourself about in Team America you probably aren't looking.

In a similar vein to Borat, Team America characterises the world through the eyes of the unenlightened. Unlike the Kazakh, this film makes the mockery of the US explicit. The subtlety of the humour is magnificent and while it is all on show at every point, sometimes it is hard to keep up with the layers of the jokes while laughing so hard. The opening sequence with Team America saving the world by blowing up half of Paris is jus utter genious. That it is Paris that takes the brunt of the explosions is not remotely due to chance as the script would have been written in the aftermath of serious tensions between Presidents Bush and Sarkozy.

This is not though merely a mockery of the US understanding of the world. It is a biting attack on some elements of the film industry. The moment in the extras where the writers acknowledge that Jerry Bruckheimer actually does some things they find quite difficult to copy doesn't take away from the satirical explosion scenes that defy physics or the miraculous kill ratio of the heroes while not causing any civilian casualties. The action movie is easy to satirise but Team America does it brilliantly.

Team America's crushing of actor ego is superb. That the film is made using puppets rather than live actors sets the scene for the ego assault so well. The Film Actors Guild is about as funny an attack on the seriousness with which ac-tors take themselves. I happen not to dislike Matt Damon particularly but that didn't stop me from laughing out loud - it could be any actor and it would still have been funny.

There are very few flat moments but the gross-out scene involving the lead character didn't really raise a smile and the Spotsworth oral sex was amusing but a little uncomfortable.

These moments are heavily outweighed by the genious of "We've lost Intelligence" or the secret signal the lead character is instructed to make if he perceives danger. The ridiculous plan to infiltrate the terrorist cell in Cairo is awesome. That the lead character has somewhat offensive make up on and still keeps the same accent while "acting" is legendary comedy of the absurd.

The line between absurd and brilliant is narrow and Team America is firmly on the brilliant side in the character of Kim Jong-il. The absolute ruler of a small but exceptionally dangerous country is given a Bond villain treatment on the outside but tears of a clown on the inside. This is simple and highly effective characterisation. "I'm So Ronry" works not only for the explicit meaning of the lyrics and the pathos of the character, but also because it is a damn good musical number.

The extras are ok, nothing too special. The accounts of difficulties arising from using puppets is interesting as so few puppet shows exist these days. The technical descriptions are at the right level of detail though whichever it is of Matt and Trey that has nothing to say for himself doesn't come across as a particularly strong contributor.

Team America is simply fantastic. If you are a left-leaning teenager you might not get some of the parody. If you are a right-wing US patriot you probably don't get why you are being laughed at but if you are anyone else watch this.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2007
The makers of this film are best known for the South Park series and fans will instantly recognize some of the voices (Kim Jong Il is Cartman). Team America is a more focused parody of action films with the same spirit ed, relentless roasting of American icons.

It is very, very funny. in particular, the forced depth the shallow characters reveal is the theme joke of the movie. It reminds us of the worst attempts at character development we've all seen in action films. The 'gorilla/berry' joke is a classic that I will remember with fondness to the day I die. And the villanous Kim Jong Il character, arguably the best developed, is a non-stop, laugh-generating machine. His 'Hello' alone is enough to bring on a chuckle. The music is well produced and the theme song, "America, F**k Yeah!", had me laughing for over a minute.

There are some destruction sequences that are a little bit too real, like when terrorists blow up the Panama Canal and puppet bodies are left floating in the water (and screaming 'no me gusta' on the way down). KJIs destruction vision sequence of LA and other major cities going up in flames is also highly disconcerting.

In the end it's that touch of realism that makes this film so funny. These scenes could be straight out of Terminator 2 or any Sylvestor Stallone movie. We really can picture Kim Jong Il singing "I'm so Lonely." And the "Freedom isn't Free" song could easily break into the C&W Top 40.

The only thing thing not funny about the film are a few sex jokes that fall flat (Chris's gang-rape joke and Gary's blow-job). These jokes occupy important laugh points in the comedy of the film and with a little more work could have been hilarous. The barf scene is a bit too realistic too...
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.