Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think more than Km Jong Il has been misunderstood
I find it astonishing that anyone could watch this film without finding something to love. It is utterly hilarious, and I agree it is juvenile in parts, but then anyone who goes to watch something by Parker and Stone without expecting a certain amount of puerility should clearly not be allowed out by themselves, and furthermore, anyone who is so uptight not to smirk...
Published on 21 Jun 2005

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as I have been promised
People kept telling me to watch it and I love a good laugh and like most types of humour. People said it was screamingly funny. It was OK, I found some of the gags amusing and laughed out loud occasionally. The puppeteering was amazing though, a stunning achievement for the amount of work that went into it. I just didn't find the film as a whole particularly funny,...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. George Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very funny movie for adults, 3 Jan 2007
By 
Aaron Ping "ajping" (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The makers of this film are best known for the South Park series and fans will instantly recognize some of the voices (Kim Jong Il is Cartman). Team America is a more focused parody of action films with the same spirit ed, relentless roasting of American icons.

It is very, very funny. in particular, the forced depth the shallow characters reveal is the theme joke of the movie. It reminds us of the worst attempts at character development we've all seen in action films. The 'gorilla/berry' joke is a classic that I will remember with fondness to the day I die. And the villanous Kim Jong Il character, arguably the best developed, is a non-stop, laugh-generating machine. His 'Hello' alone is enough to bring on a chuckle. The music is well produced and the theme song, "America, F**k Yeah!", had me laughing for over a minute.

There are some destruction sequences that are a little bit too real, like when terrorists blow up the Panama Canal and puppet bodies are left floating in the water (and screaming 'no me gusta' on the way down). KJIs destruction vision sequence of LA and other major cities going up in flames is also highly disconcerting.

In the end it's that touch of realism that makes this film so funny. These scenes could be straight out of Terminator 2 or any Sylvestor Stallone movie. We really can picture Kim Jong Il singing "I'm so Lonely." And the "Freedom isn't Free" song could easily break into the C&W Top 40.

The only thing thing not funny about the film are a few sex jokes that fall flat (Chris's gang-rape joke and Gary's blow-job). These jokes occupy important laugh points in the comedy of the film and with a little more work could have been hilarous. The barf scene is a bit too realistic too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever seen a man eat his own head............!!, 22 July 2007
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
First things first. This is not for everyone. If you do not like gross out hunour, are easily offended, and have puppet sex phobia, do not watch this film. For everyone else, you will laugh more than you ever have. This is one of the funniest laugh-out-loud films you will ever see. Although there are a lot of willy and bum gags, some of the humour in this film will carck you up. I watched it recently with a group of 6, and we couldn't breathe during some of it, we were laughing so much. It pokes fun at liberalism, Gerry Anderson, America, and Hollywood, and hits the mark with all the them. Buy it, f**K yeh!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purile, Juvenile, Brilliant, 22 April 2005
By 
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
Subtle. Clearly not a word that appears in the vocabularies of either Trey Parker or Matt Stone. The comic geniuses behind South Park have, in this blisteringly funny effort, turned their attentions to American foreign policy and with their usual foul-mouthed humour and exuberance have come up with what is easily one of the funniest films of the year. Maybe. To say that the South Park duo are an acquired taste is to put it lightly. This movie represents their most offensive effort yet. They poke fun not only at America's somewhat pushy foreign policy but also numerous actors, countries, musicals ... the list goes on.
The story concerns an actor who is hired by the anti-terrorist squad Team America after one of their number is killed in a shootout in Paris. He must earn the trust of the other members as they seek to uncover a fiendish terrorist plot by Korean badboy Kim Jong-Il. What sets this movie apart from any other comedy/action film you may have seen is that the whole thing is done in supermarionation. For those of you not familiar with the term, this is the technique of using simple marionette puppets, the kind of which were seen in the famous works of Gerry Anderson (Thunderbirds, Stingray et al.). This not only sets the film apart visually but actually adds to the humour quotient as they behave in a manner which would make the aforementioned Mr. Anderson (not Neo) turn his head in disgust. Sex scenes, Violence , Destruction of major world landmarks and enough expletives to make Tarantino blush. The innocence of the format combined with the ludicrousness of the situations only enhances the comedy further. Thats not to say that this movie is all simple cheap sight gags and swearing (although you could laugh from start to finish on those alone if thats your thing), it also holds some very real political undertones. Team America themselves represent Americas current slant on terrorists - hunt them down and destroy them no matter what the cost. This is played out wonderfully as Team America pursue their foes demolishing everything in their path as they go as the world looks on horrified. There's also the music. As with the South Park movie or Cannibal: the musical, Team America is crammed with instant comedy classics including montage, pearl harbour sucked and the Team America theme, appropriately titled - America, F*** Yeah!
That pretty much sums up the spirit of this film. Those of you who have seen the work of these two lunatics before will know what you're letting yourself in for. Those of you who are new to Parker and Stone should probably browse their back catalogue a little before you unleash this movie on yourself. Suffice to say, its not often that you can hear a whole cinema roaring with laughter. This film achieved that when i saw it there and i can't wait to relive the experience again at home. Its just not going to be everyones cup of tea thats all. Like i said at the start, it IS purile, it IS juvenile but above all else it is comic brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Team America **** yeah!, 6 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The creators of South Park have taken puppetry into a new dimension to devastaingly funny effect. The premise of the film is a satirical view of Americas attitude towards the rest of the world, so it's bombastic, violent and clumsy. But don't think the world of liberalism misses out on the abuse.

From Michael Moore to virtually the entire acting fraternity the creators of this movie spare no one from the axe.....

However, what results is the funniest film I have ever seen. It hits all the right spots, it's witty, clumsy, clever, satirical and downright lewd. There are scenes in this film that will make you laugh so much you will cry and eventually probably regurgitate your last meal.

I strongly reccomend sitting down with your the most self righteous people you know, show them the film and the ones who are left will be friends for life.

A work of genius is an understatement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerry Anderson turns in his grave!!, 9 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
Thunderbirds for the new generation, Team America are OTT yanks who take the fight to world terrorism with the help of hi-tech planes, submarines and.....an actor?
Taking the mick out of the USA, actors, arabs and anyone else they can get near, Team America trash every country they visit, don't give a damn, and swear like nothing you've ever heard (unless you've seen South Park of course!!)
This movie has everything (apart from a man eating his own head!!), disturbing moments, hilarious action, and a sound track that will stay in your head for days.
A definate must see for anyone who likes to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and beautifully offensive!, 11 Dec 2005
By A Customer
Although this is a 'puppet movie' it is definately not for kids! The film succeeds in being very very funny with a mixture of wonderfully observed US action-movie pastiches, jaw-dropping songs being highlights. You will find yourself humming them the next day, which is an unsettling experience!), and biting - if unsubtle - political satire. One of the film's greatest triumphs surely has to be that it suceeds in being equally horrible about everyone, including the usual american-imperialist suspects and the makers of pearl harbour. Additionally, if you are into puppet sex then this is the(possibly only!) movie for you.
This is a must-see film and one you will feel the need to watch everytime you want to wet yourself laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes! Oh f#ck yes!, 6 Mar 2007
By 
Paul Gray (Dundee UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
This film is brilliant!

Can't belive some of you slagging its comedy! It may not be to everyone's tatse but i sure all hell found it funny. If you ove South Park and are ot too keen on Americans, then buy this film!

The soundtrack is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 27 Jan 2005
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film, but not if you are someone who is easily offended. However, there are many items in there you will telling everyone over and over and over again. From Start to finish you will not be able to leave your seat as you will be too busy laughing. Classic Comedy from Trey Parker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT FILM BUT WHERE ARE THE EXTRAS?, 31 July 2013
By 
Peter M "cinerama" (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
The dvd contained many extras that came with the film but the bluray edition was devoid of any.How ridiculous to have excluded them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest film ever?, 24 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
OK, I rarely right reviews but this film deserves me spending time writing one.

The film is a mockery of everything that is going on in the world today, if we can't laugh at ourselves then we are doomed.

Comedy is so subjective but this is right down my street. I believe this is a marmite film, you will absolutely love it or unachivably hate it.

There are many films that are made to a very high standards of direction and acting, far too many to mention. But this is not one of them, it sits in its own place and really is a one off.

For me the funniest film I think I have ever seen?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Team America: World Police [DVD]
Team America: World Police [DVD] by Trey Parker (DVD - 2005)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews