Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think more than Km Jong Il has been misunderstood
I find it astonishing that anyone could watch this film without finding something to love. It is utterly hilarious, and I agree it is juvenile in parts, but then anyone who goes to watch something by Parker and Stone without expecting a certain amount of puerility should clearly not be allowed out by themselves, and furthermore, anyone who is so uptight not to smirk...
Published on 21 Jun 2005

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as I have been promised
People kept telling me to watch it and I love a good laugh and like most types of humour. People said it was screamingly funny. It was OK, I found some of the gags amusing and laughed out loud occasionally. The puppeteering was amazing though, a stunning achievement for the amount of work that went into it. I just didn't find the film as a whole particularly funny,...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. George Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think more than Km Jong Il has been misunderstood, 21 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
I find it astonishing that anyone could watch this film without finding something to love. It is utterly hilarious, and I agree it is juvenile in parts, but then anyone who goes to watch something by Parker and Stone without expecting a certain amount of puerility should clearly not be allowed out by themselves, and furthermore, anyone who is so uptight not to smirk occasionally at stupidity should probably stick to watching Star Wars and other emotionally overblown pap fests, since humour is not their thing. For the rest of us, it is not only hilarious but also well-crafted and perfectly-aimed. There is a place for subtle satire and this film isn't it, but then the issues it deals with are not subtle either. It is impossible to rip apart America's stance on world peace without displaying them as brash caracitures since Bush and his cronies have become exactly that. It does not pull any punches, and, like South Park, is not bothered who it attacks, since it recognises that nothing on earth is completely immune to mockery, particularly politics, celebrities and Thunderbirds. So watch it and enjoy it (unless you are uptight, in which case go and hire 'Kez' and enjoy that instead). Oh, and for the record, it is all about America policing the world. That's the joke, for those of you who may miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible good, 26 April 2007
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
I admit the humor in this fantastic comedy made by the creators of South park this is not very adult ,but is extremely funny ,made with puppets to a very high standard ,the movie pokes fun at American war on terror and radical Islam.

The plot follows a group of American secret agents trying to fight terror and killing everyone on their path ,they have to face many dangers including Alec Baldwin and Michael Moore.

The best character is Kim Jong Il ,one of the best satires ever made of a living politician and I found it impossible not to laugh every time he come on screen

This comedy is not for everyone and some viewers might be easily offended such as American patriots, terrorists, people with gender issues or North Korean dictators.

The DVD has 2 hours of extras including some more Kim Jong Il fun.

I advise you to BUY this movie and laugh to your heart content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America had it coming..., 8 Jun 2005
By 
Neal Vincent (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
"Team America" plays like Trey Parker and Matt Stone broke into Gerry Anderson's house while he was away, got totally loaded, and made a movie.
Like South Park, "Team America" rips into anybody and everybody - gay, straight, Republican, Democrat, Arab, American, French, Korean, treehugger or warmonger - no matter what kind of person you are there's guaranteed to be at least one scene in this film which will make you SQUIRM.
The primary target of the film is, as the title suggests, the macho gung-ho cowboy way America carries out its "war on terror", i.e. throwing military hardware around wherever they like, generally flattening population centres while wearing cheesy grins, all in pursuit of a handful of terrorists.
That said, the film is equally keen to rip into liberals with just as much venom - causing some to wonder whether it's a pro-Bush propoganda vehicle (!) - but the truth is that it's offensive to everybody, and fair play to it. Those same people probably think the Cartman character from South Park was proof that the South Park creators are neo-Nazis! Oh dear... It's called "satire" - and this might be some seriously scatological satire, but it's satire nonetheless!
It's been called the most offensive puppet movie ever made (although I wonder whether the people saying that have seen Peter Jackson's "Meet the Feebles"!) but, as undeniably foul as it is, sadly this DVD isn't quite as offensive as the filmmakers intended... The version of "Team America" available in the UK is the R-rated version that played in American cinemas and which was cut by about a minute, mostly in that infamous sex scene. Happily, there's an "uncut and unrated" version available on R1 DVD for those who want to see all boundaries of taste and decency well and truly violated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed my ass off!!, 24 May 2005
By 
Andy Raffan (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
I'm afraid if you dont laugh hugely at this movie then there is no hope for you. It rips right into the Hollywood blockbuster mentality and delivers a hilariously funny film which very rarely misses its targets - unlike the members of Team America! There's more than enough here for anyone with even a hint of a sense of humour, as well as a desire to see the major monuments and tourist attractions of the world blown to bits. What made the movie even funnier for me was the songs (what? you say!) - yep, the songs were absolutely fantastic parodies and even the stoniest hearts amongst you will feel a wee bit of sadness during Kim Jong Ils rendition of "I'm so ronery". As for the look of the film - think Thunderbirds with swearing and much better explosions and effects and you've just about got it - the guys involved in making this obviously went all out to make it look and sound great, and the DVD features which delve into the 'making of' side illustrate the time and effort the crew put into the look and effects of the film. And of course they made the puppets have sex!! My advice - get it, grab some beers and popcorn and laugh yourself stupid. Remember, sometimes believing is all we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for North Korean dictators, 14 Sep 2009
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I admit the humor in this fantastic comedy made by the creators of South park this is not very adult ,but is extremely funny ,made with puppets to a very high standard ,the movie pokes fun at American war on terror and radical Islam.

The plot follows a group of American secret agents trying to fight terror and killing everyone on their path ,they have to face many dangers including Alec Baldwin and Michael Moore.

The best character is Kim Jong Il ,one of the best satires ever made of a living politician and I found it impossible not to laugh every time he come on screen

This comedy is not for everyone and some viewers might be easily offended such as American patriots, terrorists, people with gender issues or North Korean dictators.

The DVD has 2 hours of extras including some more Kim Jong Il fun.

I advise you to BUY this movie and laugh to your heart content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin, 5 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
If you see the cover of this and still buy it, you'll know exactly what you're going to get - a crass, loud, brash, taste-free couple of hours boggling at the Team America approach to diplomacy (ie blow it up first, ask questions afterwards). It's pretty racist, in appalling taste and completely takes the proverbial out of a) Bush's approach to foreign policy, b) America's approach to anything outside its borders and c) the entire action-movie genre. But it's done in a very knowing way, and the biggest targets for Trey and Parker's barbs certainly aren't Arabs - or even the French! I laughed my wooden @ss off - see it on a day when you're not taking anything too seriously and you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets even funnier every time I watch it, 5 Aug 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I was slightly disappointed the first time I saw this film - probably because I was so hyped up about it, having heard so many people talk about how hilarious it was. My second time through it, though, everything clicked. Team America: World Police is juvenile and disgusting, yet sharply pointed satire that goes out of its way to be offensive - in other words, it's hilarious, and yet more proof of Trey Parker's genius. Parker and Stone do things no one else would ever dream of doing - or even be allowed to do. It's a film I know I know I will enjoy watching time and time again for years to come.
Hilarity aside, the audacity of making such an elaborate film using puppets is almost mind-boggling. Parker and Stone probably had little idea of what they were getting into, yet they stayed the course, brought together a tremendous team of individuals who, as the special features make obvious, relished the chance to take the art of puppetry to new heights, and created something that is really quite amazing. It's uncanny how life-like these puppets are - I daresay Alec Baldwin, for example, is much more wooden in real life than is his puppet in this film. These aren't just wooden characters dangling on strings; each puppet's head is filled with animatronics that control his/her expressions with uncanny precision. The puppet fights are hilarious, but nothing's funnier than watching Gary give "the signal" as his first mission with the elite American fighting force goes south.
As with everything Parker and Stone do, there's actually a point behind all of the humor. Though their detractors would never admit it, these guys actually do have a handle on what is going on in the world - and within America. If you've ever seen South Park, you know how quickly they manage to exploit the big issues of the day. No one is safe from these guys' political humor, but the Left does tend to suffer the brunt of the satirical attack in this film. (Those who say Parker and Stone are suddenly outright conservatives have obviously forgotten their short-lived series That's My Bush - which was the only unfunny thing they've ever done.) Team America itself takes America's military might to obvious extremes, as when they pretty much destroy Paris in order to stop WMD-toting terrorists (of course, no one seems to consider the fact that the terrorists would have destroyed Paris to an even greater extent themselves had their plan succeeded). Alec Baldwin's ilk, though, suffers most because they have two Stone/Parker targets on their back. One, they are soporific liberals who would stop terrorism by sympathizing with the enemy and commiserating with their extreme anti-American views over tea and crumpets; two, they are actors and I think Parker and Stone really mean it when they say they hate actors - it's one of the reasons they chose to make this movie with puppets (plus, one of the original inspirations for the project was the idea of doing a parody of today's action films).
I don't think I need to describe the movie, really. Kim Jong-Il (even though he does sound a little too much like Eric Cartman, at times) is a great character, of course, but you probably know all about the film's story by now. It is true that Parker and Stone push the envelope (actually, they just tear it all apart and rush right on past it) at times - especially in the puppet love scene and the vomiting scene - probably just to prove how much they can get away with, but you just have to expect that sort of thing from these guys. It's one of the things that makes them Parker and Stone. Let's not forget the songs, either. From the heart-pumping theme song to Kim Jung-Il's loneliness lament, Team America World Police features a great soundtrack (be sure to go all the way through the final credits in order to hear a final little snippet from Kim Jung-Il).
If you're easily offended, you'll probably be holding your nose higher and higher as you watch this film (even while those around you are bent over holding their stomachs with laughter) - but that's okay because the rest of us need someone to hold our popcorn while we struggle to regain our breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny. Reading the one star reviews on amazon usa just make it funnier., 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, I laughed many many times, so much so my face hurt. It is extremely purile but so what? if you don't like mock the week or are easily offended its probably best to avoid, but i loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius. Silly, irreverent, childish. But absolute genius., 6 Jun 2005
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
Not for the faint-hearted nor easily offended, this incredibly silly, juvenile film is one of the funniest things I have ever seen. It is a brilliant piece of puerile, slap-stick, rude school-boy comedy, that somehow ends up as a very witty satire that pokes fun at just about everyone.
The plot is suitably silly, and sounds vaguely familiar: The world is threatened by a group of terrorists and Team America: World Police is on their trail to bring them to a very brutal conclusion. In the interests of "saving the world", World Police justify much mayhem and destruction, and in the pursuit of a particular group of terrorists, destroy Paris and Cairo in hilarious ways. Like a pubsescent-teenage-remake of Thunderbirds, somehow crossed with Muppet-mayhem and seemingly directed by Terence & Philip from SouthPark, it is riddled with swearing, gratuitous violence and bloodshed and, yes, even sex. The references to Ken & Barbie in this particular scene are not, I'm sure, entirely coincidental. The violence is gloriously overstated, with the puppets getting a thorough ketchup-producing mauling either from simulated gunfire, explosions or real kittens.
It is directed with a mock-solemnity that gives it a big-budget, event-movie quality that just makes the whole thing more preposterous - the fact that grown men actually made this film is refreshing and scary in equal measure. The back of the DVD is like a who's-who of action film production - and it shows. Yes, its puppets, but it looks and feels like it should.
I loved this film on so many levels - partly because it is just great comedy and a fantastic satire on the state of the world the way it is at the moment - to pinpoint one character here, Kim Jong-Il is a fabulous caricature and his speeches and singing are truly hysterical. The self-appointed sanctimonious attitude of Hollywood do-gooders is equally ridiculed.
I also love this film because it doesn't preach or take sides, other than to point out how silly everything is. It doesn't take itself seriously and it is made for fun, not as a political statement. It is blindingly funny, it has to be said.
Its also a treat for the film-buff as the number of deliberate references/homages to other films (from StarWars to Kill Bill, to any number of Jerry Bruckheimer films) is a joy to watch as one joke-ridden scene of mayhem, carnage and stupidity blends perfectly with another.
It is a fundamentally ridiculous, childish and stupid film that quite simply made me laugh so much I had to regularly hit PAUSE on the DVD so that I would not miss the next scene.
For me, this film hit a lot of the same buttons as "beavis & butthead do america" did. Team America: World Police, is probably as funny, but is cleverer, and a more keenly observed piece of satire. It also has that "repeat-viewing" feeling that makes it an essential DVD!
just please let there be a sequel...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter Genius, 31 Dec 2009
By 
MLA (Leyton, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Team America: World Police [DVD] (DVD)
Parody is a very difficult artform and many do it exceedingly badly - the Scary Movies for instance - but Team America is an equal opportunities satire that is also one of the funniest films ever made. For anyone at any end of the political spectrum if you can't find something to laugh at yourself about in Team America you probably aren't looking.

In a similar vein to Borat, Team America characterises the world through the eyes of the unenlightened. Unlike the Kazakh, this film makes the mockery of the US explicit. The subtlety of the humour is magnificent and while it is all on show at every point, sometimes it is hard to keep up with the layers of the jokes while laughing so hard. The opening sequence with Team America saving the world by blowing up half of Paris is jus utter genious. That it is Paris that takes the brunt of the explosions is not remotely due to chance as the script would have been written in the aftermath of serious tensions between Presidents Bush and Sarkozy.

This is not though merely a mockery of the US understanding of the world. It is a biting attack on some elements of the film industry. The moment in the extras where the writers acknowledge that Jerry Bruckheimer actually does some things they find quite difficult to copy doesn't take away from the satirical explosion scenes that defy physics or the miraculous kill ratio of the heroes while not causing any civilian casualties. The action movie is easy to satirise but Team America does it brilliantly.

Team America's crushing of actor ego is superb. That the film is made using puppets rather than live actors sets the scene for the ego assault so well. The Film Actors Guild is about as funny an attack on the seriousness with which ac-tors take themselves. I happen not to dislike Matt Damon particularly but that didn't stop me from laughing out loud - it could be any actor and it would still have been funny.

There are very few flat moments but the gross-out scene involving the lead character didn't really raise a smile and the Spotsworth oral sex was amusing but a little uncomfortable.

These moments are heavily outweighed by the genious of "We've lost Intelligence" or the secret signal the lead character is instructed to make if he perceives danger. The ridiculous plan to infiltrate the terrorist cell in Cairo is awesome. That the lead character has somewhat offensive make up on and still keeps the same accent while "acting" is legendary comedy of the absurd.

The line between absurd and brilliant is narrow and Team America is firmly on the brilliant side in the character of Kim Jong-il. The absolute ruler of a small but exceptionally dangerous country is given a Bond villain treatment on the outside but tears of a clown on the inside. This is simple and highly effective characterisation. "I'm So Ronry" works not only for the explicit meaning of the lyrics and the pathos of the character, but also because it is a damn good musical number.

The extras are ok, nothing too special. The accounts of difficulties arising from using puppets is interesting as so few puppet shows exist these days. The technical descriptions are at the right level of detail though whichever it is of Matt and Trey that has nothing to say for himself doesn't come across as a particularly strong contributor.

Team America is simply fantastic. If you are a left-leaning teenager you might not get some of the parody. If you are a right-wing US patriot you probably don't get why you are being laughed at but if you are anyone else watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Team America: World Police [DVD]
Team America: World Police [DVD] by Trey Parker (DVD - 2005)
£4.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews