Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is pure Marmite....
...you either love it or you hate it! A typical B movie - you either get it or you don't. I thought it was a fantastic off-beat comedy with some of the wierdest comedy one-liners in a long time but it's subtle so don't buy if you like Adam Sandler. Is this "Ferris Bueller's Day Off" for Nerds, maybe? I think ND is a slice of genius but I sent a copy to a friend with...
Published on 23 Oct 2008 by Bobster

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A weird film with a good heart, plus some good laughs too
The humour in this film threw me a bit, I've only discovered Jon Heder in the past few months, there's something about him that I really like, I personally think that both School for scoundrels and The Benchwarmers are both funnier and have more going on in them, plus Jon Heder is given more material in which to use his undoubted comical talent.

I guess the...
Published on 22 Jun 2008 by Dazman


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is pure Marmite...., 23 Oct 2008
...you either love it or you hate it! A typical B movie - you either get it or you don't. I thought it was a fantastic off-beat comedy with some of the wierdest comedy one-liners in a long time but it's subtle so don't buy if you like Adam Sandler. Is this "Ferris Bueller's Day Off" for Nerds, maybe? I think ND is a slice of genius but I sent a copy to a friend with similar taste (or so I thought) who didn't get it at all. As I said in the beginning...this is Movie Marmite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Gosh!", 13 Aug 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I watched Napoleon Dynamite and wasn't expecting to like it as I thought it was going to be another teen comedy in the ilk of American Pie, or some other excruciatingly drawn out brain-dead flick.

But I was really surprised. I watched it and I thought it was okay. Then the next day I kept remembering scenes, the character of Napoleon Dynamite grew on me and I ended up having to watch it again. The same thing happened with my missus, she thought it was a pretty average film, but something about it really appealed to her and now it's one of her all time favourites!

This is a story about the kid at school who was a bit weird, socially awkward and a bit slow. Nobody knows much about his actual life, they just hear his ludicrous stories and mock him. The film explores the home life of Napoleon and his less than conventional family.

The comedy is offbeat, and tends to come from Napoleon's soft cursing ("Gosh!") and physical manner. His loose dangling arms and weird running add to the oddness of the character. There's not one poor performance in the film, but Jon Heder's portrayal of the lovable geek is utterly convincing. And there's the `dance scene' - something which has to be seen to be believed, pure cinematic gold!

When Pedro, a Mexican immigrant comes to the school, it is Napoleon who befriends him, and together they work to get Pedro elected as class president, at the same time there's a romantic interest with Debs - slightly more switched on, but still a social outcast. The dynamic between the three is often awkward, but there's a sense of understanding between them, a feeling that they have found a group of their own to belong to.

There's warmth to Napoleon Dynamite, you feel as though the writers and the production team were really fond of the character and his family. They all exist in very independent worlds, but sheltered by a collective delusion. Napoleon imagines he's a lethal ninja fighter ("who's the only one here who knows the illegal ninja moves from the government?"), his brother spends all his time in internet chat rooms and despite his weedy appearance says he's training to be a professional fighter, and his uncle is convinced that he will be a sporting hero - even buying a time machine from e-bay to try to get his career re-started!

In a nutshell: Some find it hilarious, some find it mildly amusing - I'm somewhere in the middle, but either way it captivates me. I don't know what it is about Napoleon Dynamite that makes it such a great film, maybe it's because despite the outrageous characters - it is still more true to life than most other Hollywood films set in high school. Napoleon is a caricature, but you know that there are more people out in the world like him than there are middle-class, American, glamorous, bright-white-teeth-brigade 2D High school students. You are left wanting more, and with this DVD release you get just that - more scenes, and on top of all the extras you get the short film `Peluca' - on which this full length feature was based (it's less than ten minutes but you can see where some aspects of the film have come from). The extras get an extra star from me, which is why I give this five stars in total.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Napoleon Dynamite-Special!, 14 Jan 2007
By 
B. Straughan "No Bias" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this having already had the original version. The new special features include new deleted scenes (excellent),the original short film Peluca that the film was based on (good),some napoleon sightings(various shows John Heder has done as Napoleon)and the screen test for various characters.

However the first disc is pretty much identical bar commentary being added from the actors who portray Pedro,Deb uncle Rico and Kip. The film itself is excellent though if you haven't seen it. If you have and you already own it this is pretty much for diehard fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge of the ultimate nerd!, 27 April 2011
This review is from: Napoleon Dynamite [DVD] (DVD)
What an absolute gem this film is. Napoleon Dynamite is a nerd. He has nothing and I do mean nothing going for him, at all. He gets ignored or crapped on at school every day. His family make his life unbearable every day, and nobody will play ball on a rope with him, ever! Even so he remains convinced that by perfecting his skills he will come out on top. The skills include drawing animals and potential prom dates portraits. He would like to have nunchuck skills and be able to catch some sweet air on his friends bike, but he can't. He has zero social skills. He hangs up the phone on people before they know the conversation is over. He keeps oven crunchies in his pocket to eat later. He really is beyond help in every way imaginable. But does he care. Nope. His grandma likes to race buggies out in the desert. His uncle is a door to door salesman who's obsessed with his failed high school football career. His brother revolves his life around internet chat rooms and gradually becomes the geekiest gangster pimp ever. His best and only friend has the only mostache in school and on this basis, runs for the school election.
It's impossible to describe the feel and nature of this film because there is really nothing to compare it to. You really have to just watch it and experience something different. I can see how some people don't get it and think its a pile of crap, but I really liked it. It's a real feel good movie but without being cheesy or wet. It's got the funniest script - "do the chickens have large talons?". Hilarious movie that cheers me up every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 Nov 2007
Excellent! Loved it and now buying it. Totally understated and sincerely frank. Couldn't help but empathise, sympathise and laugh out loud. Not weird, not elitist, just honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sure to be a classic, 23 Aug 2007
By 
I have seen this film referred to as quirky, kooky and weird. It may well be all of those things but above everything it is already a classic in my opinion.
I am not a newcomer to films and have watched many films over the years. I have no particular preference for a certain genre. But every once in a while a film comes along and surprises you. Surprises you in the sense that you go into watching it with very little expectations and then find it exceeds all of them.
Watch this film and vote pedro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's a Sledgehammer", 19 Dec 2011
By 
This is the kind of film that you can watch without a hint of a smile upon your face, then three days later you will burst into fits of giggles while at work remembering just how awesome this movie is.
Its fun for the whole family, better than hunting wolverines with your uncle in Alaska!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A weird film with a good heart, plus some good laughs too, 22 Jun 2008
This review is from: Napoleon Dynamite [DVD] (DVD)
The humour in this film threw me a bit, I've only discovered Jon Heder in the past few months, there's something about him that I really like, I personally think that both School for scoundrels and The Benchwarmers are both funnier and have more going on in them, plus Jon Heder is given more material in which to use his undoubted comical talent.

I guess the humour here is subtle and understated in many ways and as others have said you'll either get this or not and there's no real in between.

Jon Heder (Napoleon Dynamite) puts in a fine performance, using dry humour very well, Efren Ramirez (Pedro) whilst not given a huge amount of screen time also performs very well, with good support from the rest of the cast.

This film only cost $400,000 to make, but so far has taken over $158,000,000 worldwide, it's an enjoyable comedy, I did not find it hilarious, but I'm glad I purchased it all the same, definately an acquired taste, so maybe best to hire first to see if you get it or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone - But I loved it, 18 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Napoleon Dynamite [DVD] (DVD)
Here's the best advice you'll ever get regards this film...

Turn it on. Watch the opening few scenes (as far as the "Happy hands club" scene should do it). Now ask yourself if you're amused or even interested. If the answer's "no" turn it off right now. It won't get any better for you. This isn't the film for you.

If, on the other hand, you're amused or even intrigued, sit back and enjoy one of the funniest things you'll ever see. The humour is weird, and it's not easy to say what "type" of sense of humour it would appeal to.

The film bases it's storyline/jokes mainly around the characterisation of the lead roles in particular, also some smaller roles such as Rex, founder of Rex-Kwon-Do. It's the sort of film that makes you cringe & laugh at the way the people behave and what they say, their inhibitions and their mannerisms. Lead character Napoleon is the typical nerd, but with a strange perception on life and a blurred vision between fantasy and reality - "girls want boyfriends who have skills - like hunting bow skills, nunchuck skills...." You get the idea...

The film centers on Napoleon and his 2 friends that he makes over the course of a week or 2, as well as Napoleon's internet nerd brother Kip, and his uncle Rico, a man with some issues centering around his football coach who wouldnt put him on during the last quarter of a match in '82. The film sees Napoleon's friend Pedro run for school president, his uncle trying to make his fortune as a salesman, his brother Kip united with his online girlfriend and Napoleon.... Well... dance. That's what's so great about this film - Nothing that much happens out of the ordinary to Napoleon, it's just funny watching him exist.

Definitely the marmite of films - You will love it or hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Napoleon Dynamite review, 14 Jun 2007
This review is from: Napoleon Dynamite [DVD] (DVD)
seeing as this is Jared Hess' debut film, it's absolutely superb. There couldn't be a much better actor to portray a few days in the life of Napoleon Dynamie than John Header.

Napoleon starts off as quite a lonely high school student but he gradually increases in popularity, mainly after something he does towards the film (not going to give it away, but it involves some music from Jamiroqui). He's a very exxentric person, with a huge orange afro, tucks his T-shirt into his jeans and wears moonboots.

After watching this film though be warned, you will begin to use some of Napoleon's quotes in everyday conversation such as "Sweeet!", "GOSH!" and "I like your sleeves". One of the best films I've ever seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Napoleon Dynamite [DVD]
Napoleon Dynamite [DVD] by Jared Hess (DVD - 2005)
2.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews