Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little musical biopic !
This is a very pleasant couple of hours entertainment, loosely depicting the life and times of jazz musician Red Nicols. The movie is typical of its time and type and there is simply nothing to complain about at all - however minor. Okay! like other biopics the story line is a little bit questionable (even Red himself might have said "did I do this?" , "Did I do that?" )...
Published on 5 Jun 2009 by DoDo Fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Danny Kaye at his best; Louis Armstrong proving that he was the greatest!
'the Five Pennies' Musically this film was great but too smaltzy and 'Hollywood'. However, I shall watch it again if only for the music. Louis Armstrong was fantastic playing the trumpet
Published 21 months ago by Irene Babinet


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little musical biopic !, 5 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
This is a very pleasant couple of hours entertainment, loosely depicting the life and times of jazz musician Red Nicols. The movie is typical of its time and type and there is simply nothing to complain about at all - however minor. Okay! like other biopics the story line is a little bit questionable (even Red himself might have said "did I do this?" , "Did I do that?" ) But he would not have found the movie disagreeable. There is a certain poignancy through the story of Red's life, especially with the serious illness of his daughter and the abandonment of his musical career during the second world war. Happily these incidents evolve satisfactorily and won't leave you reaching for the tissues. Just a bit of moistness around the eyes maybe! Nice to see Barbara Bel Geddes (long before her Dallas days) playing Red's wife, and a youthful Tuesday Weld as his daughter (for the teenager scenes.) The music is terrific, and theres a generous amount of it too. Super to see Louis Armstrong, Bob Crosby and Ray Anthony making their contribution and other famous musical figures of the period being depicted; Glenn Miller, the Dorsey brothers and so on. Red plays his own numbers during the film and Danny Kaye does an excellent job of simulated trumpet playing. The movie is a bit schmaltzy in places but these sort of films usually are. It won't spoil your enjoyment though - and enjoy it you will !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another vintage musical, 5 Sep 2008
By 
C. K. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
This film was part of the many musicals being produced by the big Hollywood studios about this time. It tells the story of a trumpet player who is successfull and then due to circustances partly of his own doing gives up music. It is well worth viewing if you are a fan of old musicals and Danny Kaye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MEMORY PRESERVED, 7 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
What can you say regarding Mr Kayes performance simply "you wish you had half the talent of this great entertainer" timeless classic actually being made the same year as I was being made and seen as an impressionable child at the insistance of a father who Idolised the comic genius and of the few people who like norman widom could make you feel laughter,anger,sadness,elation,tenderness and almost every other emotion in and out of the book. Every kid should see it from 1-100 years of age.
Just to remind people that not every day is a good day, And your real friends never desert you but, just lose track of you sometimes.
And louis Armstrong is a Great support too.(after being the greatest horn player ever)but thats just my opinion.
thanks for taking the time to read this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past, 5 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
I bought this to replace an old worn out VHS copy. A fantastic film with fantastic songs (Many I sang to get my little girl to sleep when she was younger). It never ages and looks even better on DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Musical Ever, 15 Mar 2009
By 
J. Lithgow "bsbgirl_13" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
I remember being shown this video when I was about 3 by my gran and thought it was the most fantastic film ever!!

Danny Kaye is fantastic and the whole vibe from the film is just perfection in my book!! Hope it is never remade though!!! Too good the way it is!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd the five pennies,danny kaye, 17 April 2009
By 
Mr. M. Parry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
this was a present and they loved it the film is a classic a must for any danny kaye fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this any more., 2 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
I bought this film because it has "The Five Penny Saints" on it. I fell in love with that a while ago, and I wanted to see what the rest of the film was about.

The film is about a musician who gets the work / home balance ever so slightly wrong, and ends up paying a heavy price, for a time at least. Anybody who has ever wished that they could spend more time with their kids should watch it and take note.

Most of all though, watch it for the great music and songs! Danny Kaye is a great all-rounder, and if you have only ever seen him singing about Hans Christian Anderson, then you are in for a real treat when he starts scatting with Louis Armstrong.

Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars J.P.M. The Hague, Netherlands, 30 July 2008
By 
J. P. M. Smit (The Hague, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
After having seen this movie for a forty-eight years ago, it's staying very humoristic when I watched again on this DVD production.
Danny Kaye plays his role as Ernest Loring "Red" Nichols well with i'ts useable kind of humor!
For a seventy percent the history of Red Nichols is true, for the remaining part some artists of that time are not repressented in this movie, like Paul Whiteman's Orchestra when Red Nichols was a member when he got married in 1927 was absent.
In the movie I have seen Red Nichols was loosing his job. And also the other aspects, like he has left music business for a time during his daughter's illness is not true.
But it's well known music again makes everything good and the musicians do their utmost to give everyone their entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Arthur C. Dennison "autocolin" (Mirfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
I bought this DVD as a Christmas gift for my wife as she LOVES Danny Kaye. It arrived quickly and was well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five pennies, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
if you are an old film or a musical fan u will love it. if not dont bother!!!!.I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959]
The Five Pennies [DVD] [1959] by Melville Shavelson (DVD - 2007)
3.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews