Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
Just over a year on and W.A.S.P release another fine album. Similaraties to Unholy Terror, but much more powerful musically and lyrically. W.a.s.p are true to their word they do it best when they are angry about something.The best track by far is Hallowed Ground accoustic version,a haunting song that
brings back the horror of September the 11th.This is an album...
Published on 10 Jun 2002 by csmith840@aol.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dying...
To be honest, after buying this album, i've not really listened to it too often as it sounds tired & dull. I'm a great fan of some of the back-catalogue (Dominator & Headless Children especially) but whilst this is undoubtedly in a similar vein to Dominator, the riffs just sound tired & there's no hooks to many of the songs.
Published on 3 Mar 2009 by Scoob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 10 Jun 2002
This review is from: Dying for the World (Audio CD)
Just over a year on and W.A.S.P release another fine album. Similaraties to Unholy Terror, but much more powerful musically and lyrically. W.a.s.p are true to their word they do it best when they are angry about something.The best track by far is Hallowed Ground accoustic version,a haunting song that
brings back the horror of September the 11th.This is an album which definately belongs in every W.a s.p fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best W.A.S.P. album for ages, 14 Dec 2002
By 
Tethys (Harrow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dying for the World (Audio CD)
I almost didn't buy this album. I'd thought that "Helldorado" was OK, but a bit simplistic, and "Unholy Terror" was just a bit dull, and lacking in pretty much every department. But I'm glad I did. This is W.A.S.P. back on top form. While the anthemic qualities of the early albums may be gone, there's still plenty here to get your teeth into, and this album is more comparable to "Crimson idol" or "Still not black enough". Ignore Blackie's politcal ramblings about September 11th in the liner notes, and just sit back and listen to some classic W.A.S.P. tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sincere album but same old problems with the mix!, 21 Mar 2003
This review is from: Dying for the World (Audio CD)
After Unholy Terror, which I considered to be the best new album since Crimson Idol, it was always going to be difficult to maintain the standard for Blackie Lawless. In this attempt he is covering the emotions raised in him by events on September 11th and his consequent visit to Ground Zero. There are some good aggressive tunes on it the conjur images of American tanks storming over the desert in search of revenge, and the ballad of the album, Hallowed Ground, is truly touching both accoustically and otherwise. As with recent albums though the mix is awful, to understand what Blackie is singing about you MUST read the lyrics as the guitars are too loud in the mix and the vocals have so many overlaps on them the vast majority of it is incoherent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best, 17 April 2007
By 
Mr. Terence Jones "terencej72" (Glasgow, Scotland, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dying For The World (Audio CD)
In the liner notes Mecurial WASP frontman Blackie Lawless describes this as "music to go to war with". He allegedly wrote this LP at the request of US troops who wrote him many letters after the first gulf war describing blasting WASP albums from their tanks and personell carriers. This was in an attempt to get their adrenalin flowing and frighten Iraqi troops.

As a result this LP is full of fast paced and heavy tracks. Some of which it must be said are similar to those found on previous release "Unholy Terror". That said there are a couple of real standout tracks on this LP. Stone Cold Killers is very well made, fast paced and melodic.

However it is "My Wicked Heart" that is the best track on this LP by some margin. In fact i'd go as far to say it is the best song WASP have done since the "Crimson Idol" LP and probably since then as well. Although it doesn't quite stack up against all time classics Headless Children, Mean Man, Wild Child, Somebody etc it is surprisingly not that far behind these.

If you can buy this LP for about £5 it's well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dying..., 3 Mar 2009
This review is from: Dying for the World (Audio CD)
To be honest, after buying this album, i've not really listened to it too often as it sounds tired & dull. I'm a great fan of some of the back-catalogue (Dominator & Headless Children especially) but whilst this is undoubtedly in a similar vein to Dominator, the riffs just sound tired & there's no hooks to many of the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and Exciting, one of their tops, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying for the World (Audio CD)
Excellent album, so exciting and fabulous, for me is one their their top moment, and believe me i'm a huge fan of W.A.S.P. and i like mostly their first five, but this album enter to their top of W.A.S.P. discography.
Notice mostly the fifth track "hallowed Ground', beautiful and amazing song, if you don't shed a tear and your heart didn't torn, you don't understand music, no matter how 'heavy' fan you are. Plus Blackie's voice is outstanding.
Another great and favorite songs are: 'Hell for Eternity', 'Revengeance', 'Stone Cold Killers' and 'Shadow Man'.
All the album is great and can be reapet for years, and someday it will be a classic, which in the 00's decade is rare.
Highly recommended for all music and metal fans, this is a must have! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roch cd wasp, 19 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying For The World (Audio CD)
Truly fantastic album, any dedicated wasp fan will love this,lyrics are upto Blackies expected standard always to please his listeners, even if you not heard much about wasp, you should really give this album ago, its a must to all rock/metal fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENOUGH POWER TO FRY YOUR SPEAKERS!, 27 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying For The World (Audio CD)
I have every W.A.S.P. album and when a band has been going for as long as they have you will inevitably have your faves amongst their body of work. Often bands struggle trying to keep their sound fresh and test out things that don't quite work, this is true of every long running band and can be the death of a band if they don't inspire confidence in their fan base from the get go with solid releases. So it is a testament to W.A.S.P. and Blackie that they're still tearing it up to this very day, be it through sound systems and MP3 players or through blistering live performances. Below I have listed the pros and cons of their 2002 album `Dying For The World' to help you better decide if it'll be an album you'll have on repeat and cherish for years to come, or if it's a couple of good tracks then back on the shelf gathering dust...

THE HIGH NOTES:
- The moment you bang this bad boy on it exudes power and hard rock riffage that'll clean your lug holes right out.
- Blackie's vocals are as good as ever and some of the high notes and screams will raise goosebumps on your pink bits. Heartfelt and satisfyingly heavy.
- The production is great (as Heldorado showed us it W.A.S.P. releases can sometimes be a mixed bag in this department) - sorry but I have to disagree with one guy on hear who says Blackie's vocals are drowned out, as mentioned above they are blistering and gravelly as ever.
- Darrell Roberts fretwork is fantastic and he is more than a match for Chris Holmes (That may not be the most popular view ever but in my humble opinion it's true) and adds a fresh twist on the W.A.S.P. sound.
- My Wicked Heart, Hallowed Ground and Hell For Eternity are scorching tracks, some of the best tunes these boys have ever sent hurtling at us. Pure hard rock heaven.
- The short production span on this one is unusual but I also feel it helps it sound a little different and doesn't suffer for it at all.

THE SNAPPED STRINGS
- There are the odd typical sounding W.A.S.P. Symphonies on here that could sit on any other album and do little to shock or surprise. None are really bad at all but Trail of Tears is one such so-so `heard it all before' ballady types with a similar vocal progression to many past efforts.

ROCK OR NOT?
This is a gem in the mighty saga of Blackie Lawless and the ever shifting line up that he calls W.A.S.P. It's a real stunner with some refreshingly different (but not completely departed) stuff that'll blow you away. A great one for every fan and a good starting point for new comers to the hive! Buy it now and teach your eardrums a lesson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All good stuff... but..., 13 Oct 2002
By 
C. Plumley "Plummers" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dying for the World (Audio CD)
I am a W.A.S.P. fan so I thought I would be saying great this album is but, for all the great music, the powerful sentiment and the passion of the album there is a problem. To really get into it, you have to read the lyric sheet whilst playing the tracks. Blackie Lawless has always had a gravel filled vox box but you could always make out his vocals. Not here. At the risk of sounding like an old man, you just can't hear him. This poor production really lets the whole thing down. Sorry. I love the band and they were one of the first bands saw live. But the rubbish production quality (and maybe the lack of Chris Holmes on axe) makes this one a bit of a disappointment of me. Maybe once I've read the words a few more times and got back in tune with Blackie's voice, I'll change my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WASP, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying For The World (Audio CD)
I have always been a W.A.S.P. fan but I think that Blackie and the boys should hang up the old fenders and do something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dying For The World
Dying For The World by W.A.S.P. (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews