Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD
A great way to spend an afternoon, if you have seen the other DVD Rose Red then this is a must watch it explains an awfull lot of stuff that you just dont get in the other one.
Published 14 months ago by frankie

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful film adaption of a great book!!
This Prequel to Stephen King's 'Rose Red' is based on the fictitous diary of one of the main characters in that film, Ellen Rimbauer. The book of the same name was published just after 'Rose Red's release and I bought it immediatly, It was brilliant, well written and filled in a lot of the gaps and sub-plots that the film 'Rose Red' had me think of. Then someome decides...
Published on 7 July 2010 by Lord Southwold


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful film adaption of a great book!!, 7 July 2010
This review is from: The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD] (DVD)
This Prequel to Stephen King's 'Rose Red' is based on the fictitous diary of one of the main characters in that film, Ellen Rimbauer. The book of the same name was published just after 'Rose Red's release and I bought it immediatly, It was brilliant, well written and filled in a lot of the gaps and sub-plots that the film 'Rose Red' had me think of. Then someome decides to base a film on that book, and wow! could they have done a more terrible job? I for one dont think so.
The book version of Ellen Rimbauers diary, begins in 1907 with her marriage to John Rimbauer, goes through the years they spent together at Rose Red and ends in 1950 with what I think is a great mysterious ending. The film however does not do this, not only does it cut out massive chunks of Ellen's diary, but what it does include is boring and either badly portrayed or badly directed. I totally understand that a film cannot portray everthing from a book, especially one that is written to span nearly 50 years, but i was expecting much more than just a few exertions from it, the film is not even much more than an hour long!!
In all, I would not recommend this DVD, If you have the book, stick with that, If not?...buy that instead, it is much much more better value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Prequel To "Rose Red", 10 Sept. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD] (DVD)
The Diary of Ellen Rimbauer is the prequel to Stephen King's "Rose Red", however it hasn't been written by King and unfortunately this shows. It's a well-made, and at times interesting story, but a rather unnecessary and bland introduction to the film it is dwarfed by in style and content.

Much of the "flashback" content of Rose Red is simply replyed here, and filled in and padded-out with extra dialogue. There are some interesting scenes; however the actuality of what happened to the people who disappeared in the house turns out somewhat lamer than hinted at in "Rose Red".

A lot of the story centres around the deteriorating relationship between Ellen and her husband, and the friendship between her and her African housekeeper/companion. This also takes away some of the mystique of the housekeeper that was suggested in "Rose Red".

Nevertheless it's not a bad watch, and I enjoyed it, despite being a little disappointed having just watched the altogether more powerful "Rose Red". "Diary" has been sexed-up a little in comparison (giving it an unnecessary '15' rating as opposed to Rose Red's '12') - but it's still not a patch on "Rose Red".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad flim if you don't know the flim of rose ..., 7 July 2014
By 
katie "I'm a avid book person my room is more... (CHESTER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD] (DVD)
Not a bad flim if you don't know the flim of rose red very well as in this flim there are some blatant mistakes. As this film was made after rose red I would have thought someone would have watched to make sure the stories matched up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD] (DVD)
A great way to spend an afternoon, if you have seen the other DVD Rose Red then this is a must watch it explains an awfull lot of stuff that you just dont get in the other one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Diary of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD], 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD] (DVD)
This is the second time I've purchase this item. Was so good I wore the first one out. I know how sad is that. LOL. You'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely enjoyed it , if you like rose red its a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Ghost Story, 15 April 2013
By 
J.S (Porto,Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD] (DVD)
I love antique houses & tipical ghost stories. This one is a bit slow, but this is not action right?
This is a story where you have to open your mind.
Loved the Character of Sukeena by Tsidii Leloka.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little to do with King, too Victorian for that, 22 Oct. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD] (DVD)
A very strange story in this film. A story that does not look like Stephen King's traditional stories. Many things are different from what he has ever produced. Strangely enough it comes after the film "Rose Red" that is posterior in story time. This story is thus a prequel to the previously shot one. The element that is typically Kingian is the haunted house with some connection to Indians behind. But that is all. The story itself is some kind of distorted and warped "Gone with the Wind" in a setting that looks like and sounds like a Victorian house from England's 19th century, the Bronte Sisters maybe. The main character, Ellen Rimbauer herself is more like one of these feminine characters from this English literary period. Little to do with Stephen King's social approach and even historical time. There is even a vodun dimension that is more typical of Anne Rice's witches, especially the last volumes of the vampire series when the witches join the vampires in some kind of old central American chase. Yet the film is outstanding and mesmerizing in its slow rhythm and its slow building of the terror that is attached to the man of the house, to the man that has to be eliminated. But we know better, since we know the sequel that came before the prequel. It is the house that is twisted and warped and not the man who just used the house to get rid of his mistresses and then later of his own children. The question that is not answered though is why the house accepted to be the servant of that man, and what's more why the house accepted to be the justice-bringer, the executioner of the demand for vengeance and retribution from the wife. Can we interpret that as the taking over of the house by the wife and her African servant and confident? I am not sure. It is not all that clear. What's more there are so many corners in the house that are not on the blue print that we would like to know how all that is possible. Did the house build itself, or grow inside the structure that was given to it, as it is suggested at the end? Maybe. But that is original for Stephen King. In "The Shining" the evil Indian spirit is living in the hotel but the hotel is not growing. In "Salem's Lot" the vampire takes over the house that welcomes him because of the crime it hosted some time before, but once again the house itself does not grow. There are several other haunted houses in King but never a house that has the power of growing, even if the Dark Tower could be seen as such, though it is not and it is only the character that is growing through mythical and maybe mystical time as he is going up the tower. The magic comes from somewhere else, not the building itself. And in this case the evil that haunts the house is not very clear, clearly identified. Indian, Irish hence Celtic, or whatever, it is not clear at all. Some elements are not used enough or made explicit enough, like the malformation of the daughter's right arm, and her pushing the little pram around with her doll in it, a Vodun doll? Yet the film is effective in its suspense and dense atmosphere.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne & University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good one, 18 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD] (DVD)
if you like steven king your enjoy this fim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD] (DVD)
I really did enjoy this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD]
The Diary Of Ellen Rimbauer [DVD] by Craig R. Baxley (DVD - 2005)
£4.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews