Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As heavy as er a heavy thing, 16 Feb 2006
By 
S. J. R. Jarvis "Not Worthy" (Cheadle, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Squawk (Audio CD)
For most Budgie fans the third album is the benchmark. But as far as I'm concerned, this is the one that sends shivers down my ageing back. I never ever tire of listening to this record.
Right from the opening guitar/bass intro riff of Whiskey River to the final chord on Stranded this is an album that has no weak spots and no fillers and never lets up. It's relentless. All the weaknesses of the first album were gone and what was left was raw, ultra heavy rock in its most potent form.
Bass player/vocalist Burke Shelley is one of the truly great but underrated singers to emerge in the 70s. His delivery throughout this album is faultless and his bass playing is magnificent.
Guitarist Tony Bourge really lets rip on this one and I stand in absolute awe at the result. He was, is and always will be a Guitar God. Seriously. The playing here is nothing short of magnificent whether it be the restrained but perfect work on Whiskey River, the blur of notes in Hot As A Dockers Armpit, the folk acoustic playing on Rolling Home Again or the gorgeous lead note choice on Make Me Happy. Go listen. This man seriously ruled in the early 70s.
By no means least drummer Ray Phillips always had an ear for the unusual when it came to drum patterns. This gave early Budgie a sound they sadly slightly lost later on. Ray was never shackled to the snare, bass drum and hi-hat - choosing to lay down patterns over whichever drums he felt suited. Genius.
If you ever wonder why old men with gray hair, large waistlines and dodgy vinyl record collections go misty eyed whenever someone mentions the 70s, buy this record, play it loud and most of all, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN UNDERATED BAND AND ALBUM., 2 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Squawk (Audio CD)
Having seen this band on numerous occasions it always seemed a tragedy that they never acheived the success they deserved whilst other, less talented bands went onto fame and fortune. Budgie always gave you your moneys worth and they are one of the few bands that never made a really bad album and in Burke Shelley had one of the all time great bassists and singers. This, along with their first and 'bandolier' is the pick of the crop. From the ferocious opener 'whiskey river' to the frantic'stranded' not a track is waisted 'bottled' lets Tony Bourge show off his slide skills and Budgie always had a knack for writing great acoustic songs and 'make me happy' is no exception. The mellotron laden 'young is a world' is probably the best track or maybe 'hot as a dockers armpit' (they always came up with great titles)hell, the whole album is great! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 2nd album, 10 Mar 2007
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Squawk (Audio CD)
This is the second Budgie album and to hear it remastered is a real tweet (treat) sorry about that. the 1st album Budgie has some great material on it and also their third, Never turn your back on a friend. But to me and many others this is the best out of their first five. And the riffs and bass lines just flow.In the middle there are a couple of slowies which are just beautiful!. there are more killer hooks on this CD than a japanese whaling ship I kid you not.. Pure seventies rock and what a rockin` trio they were and still are, different personell now but still a great band. this produced by Roger Bain who also sat in the producers chair for a few early Black Sabbath albums not to be overlooked if you love 70`s rock!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Trip Down Memory Lane, 19 April 2010
By 
L. Jakeman (Solihull UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Squawk (Audio CD)
This was a trip down memory lane for me.
I first heard this album in the 1970s when it came with a George Harrison triple album my step father brought home from the college he taught at.
This is Budgie at the interesting second album stage. It's so hard to follow up a good first album.
Tracks are a great combination of heavy rock stompers and lyrical balladic tunes.
I loved the pictures and the quotes from Burke & Tony. Reminded me of how rough and raw I found Cardiff when I studied there.
I did not quite so enjoy the bonus tracks but maybe that's because you can't quite have the same rawness of "Whisky River" if you have been playing it for the last 30 years !
If you are a Budgie fan you'll have this already.
If you are still to be introduced to Budgie you'll like this album if you enjoyed early 1970s metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album from my youth!!, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Squawk (Audio CD)
I was and still am a huge fan of Budgie having most of their albums on vinyl. To me Squawk sounds as good today as it did back in the 70's when I first bought it. Their sound was ahead of their time; thumping bass lines , searing guitars and piercing vocals are mixed with some very melodic songs. Sadly like most albums from that era it is way too short....however it leaves you wanting more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't go cheep quietly, it "squawks" loudly., 5 Nov 2014
This review is from: Squawk (Audio CD)
One of Budgie's lesser known , and better albums. This record has a mixture of styles that range from a blues rock instrumental (bottled). Acoustic strumming on "make me happy" and "rolling home again", and of course heavy metal. Best experienced on great tunes like the wonderfully titled "hot as a dockers armpit" (I sometimes quote that when I'm hot n' sweaty in the summer)! The guitar solo in the middle is reminiscent of Iron Maiden. Also worth a mention is the track Young Is A World. A much forgotten number by Budgie, it has a quiet start, but slowly builds up to quite an almighty guitar riff for the chorus. A strong Black Sabbath influence is present on Squawk, and is one of my favourites from the band.
By then, Budgie were getting better, and the next 3 albums that were to follow certainly confirmed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Squawk (Audio CD)
My personal favourite budgie album, at last obtainable in CD format. You won't believe how many years I've been keeping an eye out for this. A bit pricey but nevertheless worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Budgie - Squawk (1972), 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Squawk (Audio CD)
Squawk was the 2nd long player to be released by Welsh Rock Legends Budgie and hit the shelves in September 1972. This album is packed with killer tunes and ranks as one of the greatest hard rock albums of the 1970's. From the Classic riffage of Whiskey River, Hot As a Docker's Armpit and Stranded to the beautiful acoustic tracks Rolling On Home and Make Me Happy I can't put into words such how perfect this album is...

Track Listing:

1. "Whiskey River" 3:27
2. "Rocking Man" 5:25
3. "Rolling Home Again" 1:47
4. "Make Me Happy" 2:37
5. "Hot as a Docker's Armpit" 5:53
6. "Drugstore Woman" 3:14
7. "Bottled" 1:57
8. "Young is a World" 8:14
9. "Stranded" 6:17

Bonus tracks
10. "Whiskey River" (A side single version) 2:39
11. "Stranded" (alternate mix) 6:19
12. "Whiskey River" (2003 version) 3:20
13. "Rolling Home Again" (2004 version)

BG's Rating: This remastered CD (complete with bonus tracks) shows a legendary band at the height of its power! Great songwriting coupled with great musicianship and a hard rocking sound goes to make BUDGIE one of the greated HARD ROCK bands Ever! 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars budgies best imho, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Squawk (Audio CD)
a proper decent heavy rock album. for me squawk is better than the other early albums.... they just nailed it. all i need is this album and the best of with in for the kill breadfan and napoleon and you're away....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 4 Jan 2009
This review is from: Squawk (Audio CD)
This is Budgie's second album! They are fantastic! I like all the first five albums from "Budgie" to "Bandolier". They are a great band - and excellent rock band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Squawk
Squawk by Budgie (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews