Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FACKIN INSANE!
Right well I can start by saying that Season 1 is probably one of the best seasons (despite being half the length of season 2, 3 and 4)!

Surprisingly to me, this comes with the miniseries (which was never actually part of the first season). The quality is not as good as the rest of the discs but something for nothing, should never be griped about! Especially...
Published on 19 April 2008 by K. Lord

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing
First of all, Battlestar Galactica is easily one of the best TV series of the last decade. Arguably picking up from most of the writers last series 'Deep Space Nine', the campy TV show of old has been reborn as a show which shines above even the other excelent shows coming out of the US at this time.

But the HDDVD transfer dissapoints where it counts. The...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by TRANSnational


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars so that's how one hand clapping sounds, 21 Jan 2008
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This contains spoilers.

Perhaps I should have given it 2 stars instead of 1 - for cool "inside the ship" visuals. But I had too many problems with plot, characters and general human stupidity for that.

Two main problems: total absense of logic - common and military - and the increasingly irritating presence of a b...chy looking blond and the hysterical doctor. ALso the whole is very slow. There is hardly any action at all.

Let's start with the logic. The main problem for the survivors is the fact that cylons look and feel just like humans. You would think humans will start a brainstorm over that problem. No, the whole is left to deal with to a single person: the (very obviously unbalanced and highly suspiciously acting) doctor. Also, you would think that if the military minds leave the search for the solution (in that case the equipment capable of telling a human from a cylon) to that single person, they would at least make sure the results are monitored by several independent stations - thus making it more difficult to falsify the results or to conceal them. Or at the very least, bug his office to be able to see what is going on. No, that would be too easy and will take care of the problem which is needed to develop anouther 10 or smth episodes.

The second (or the first) most irritating factor is that worn-looking blond in sultry dresses who keeps haunting that poor hysterical traitor of a doctor. Ok folks, how many times does one need to see the same boring scenes of rabbit sex. Yes she has great legs - and that's all. Nothing new is added to next episode by her constant appearances but a mild toothache starts developing fast - I think I now have an allergy to women in red for the rest of my life. And that without saying anything about the amateurish and highly pathetic discussions about God and souls and other such. There is a contradiction: if the blond rabbit sex scenes are added to attract more male 15-year olds, then who needs the soul discussions? And vice versa.

I also hated the generous attitude of the military to the whole "human or cylon" dilemma. It seems that the commanding officer's motto is "let's all die trusting each other". Very nice and very humane if it was not for the survival of human civilization aspect. The feeling that they should be paying a tad more attention to that crucial problem, never left me.

Some of the characters are not bad - Starbuck seems to be a very live person. Most of them though, are so cartoonish and predictable, it hurts. The commander is brooding and commanderish. the President is feminine, nurturing and "presidentish", the heroic captain pilot is earnest, sensitive and well... heroic...yack...When there is an emotion, it is always exagerated to the levels of the puppet theater. The good doctor comes to mind - watching another of his tantrums I simply felt like "somebody please give me a gun to shoot this irritating flea".

It is utterly amazing to me that Fox cancelled the "Firefly" while this kind of "SF show" goes on and on. I suppose by now they are too far out in space to hit them with smth heavy but I am deeply sorry I bougth 2 seasons at once (based of reviews) - I should have saved my money as I am definitely not going to watch the second one. Life is too short to spend it on Galactica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Space Opera for Sentient Beings, 8 Feb 2007
By 
james of the north (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A gritty space opera without the cheesiness of the original series, nBSG (as it has become known) is a thoroughly enjoyable TV series in the modern (shaky handicam, mumbled dialogue) mode. If you're looking for deep and meaningful character development this is not the series for you, but it is a highly enjoyable and gripping piece of hokum which features a lot of resonances with contemporary military and terrorist actions. Thoroughly recommended to those of you looking for thoughtful entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Star Drek: junk sci-fi for sci-fi junkies only., 17 Nov 2013
By 
Richard "Not here." (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone thinking that this must be a pretty damn good Sci-Fi series based upon its Amazon rating can be forgiven I guess. I had been told that it stood up well in comparison to Star Trek and so decided to check it out. But be warned, this bares an uncanny resemblance to kiddie-level TV junk. If you're happy with that; fine. Personally, I made it as far as the third disc in the box set of the first season before succumbing to irritation-sickness and having to hit eject. I'll be bailing on the other series too. What a rotten ride. But in fairness I should stress that this is apparently a minority view. It evidently went on to be a hit show. Tim Isaac (Editor, DVD Monthly) is quoted on the box thus: "A great reworking of a classic programme. Unmissable."

Whilst it's true to say that this update of the original trailer-park crap 70's show is a considerable improvement in all departments, that really isn't saying much. It's astonishing that a production could have so much money chucked at it and yet still emerge so schlocky. It's cliche-ridden in every respect. Shot in a ridiculously hackneyed, glossy MTV kitschy style, the direction is abysmally 'commercial'. it's a slick, overly mannered and derivative show driven by production ideas as stale and re-cycled as the atmospheric environment on the Galactica itself must be. What's being shot are witless stories centred on a cast of plastic, highly formulaic comic-book characters trying to come to terms with who's Human/Cylon and who's not and what that means in the cosmic scheme of things. Like you care with this bunch of forgettable fictional cyphers to relate to. At least the original 70s series avoided such pretentiousness. This update doesn't. On the contrary, It positively embraces it; presenting itself as 'adult'-level escapism.

Part of the reason for that presumably is that it's cheaper to shoot actors on set than to pay for expensive CGI action sequences. Consequently, once past the opening episode (larded with space-battle visuals to hook the audience-in), the most appallingly hammy high drama is forced upon us which is only occasionally interrupted by an action sequence in space. Yawn.

The screenplays are staged by a troop of West Coast luvvies in full-on, hyperbolic performance mode. Like a bunch of game, meathead thesps, they merrily roll-out every over-stated, tick-ridden, American-style screen acting move in the comic-book. The younger cast members in particular are shameless in this respect --or maybe they're just helpless. The general performance standard sucks: like they studied behavioural mimicry from gaming rather than drama school. But I bet they're all happy campers on this show: it looks like money for old rope and laughing all the way to the bank. By comparison, the lead turns by Edward James Olmos and Mary McDonnell seem masterly and restrained. But actually, all they're doing is turning in respectable readings of rubbish scripts. Even so, throughout Olmos still sounds like he's delivering V.O. for film trailers. Hat's off to him for getting away with it. That's a pro for you.

With scripts larded with dialogue this cliched and such derivative situations, who can blame the actors? These are less-than-gripping stories, lazily plotted and full of holes, in which the jeopardy arises from the actions of really stupid robots dreaming up dastardly ploys (they've got a plan!) to defeat equally thick human beings. Tales of numb-nuts begetting numb-nuts in space written by L.A. space-cadets. How could it miss?

But for my money, the most surprisingly unimpressive aspect is the standard of the SFX. The ships still look like models that have had CGI work done on them --and this from an evidently well-financed series dating from 2004. I would have expected it to have upped the ante on Star Trek in that department at least. It certainly doesn't. I could forgive much if the Space-action was better, but it really isn't very impressive in this first season. Probably it improves later but I can't be bothered sitting through the crap story-telling to get there. At no point was I gripped. Hard to be by such tired stuff.

Like they should care about a scathing Amazon reviewer though. This thing seems to have been embraced by a massive audience and must be a huge money-spinner.

For me however (and putting it simply so Tim Isaac can get it), this show is, I'm afraid, what my dear old grandad would have described as "Piffle".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great remake a long lost legend, 23 Mar 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great series which is a remake of a classic i really enjoyed them when they were on sky and hope the series continues for another few years i am looking forward to seeing them again. Well done universal keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where is disk 4??, 28 Nov 2007
By 
Matthew Weatherill "maffphew" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this and was totally engrossed but this is only a 3 disk set with the 4th missing. so the 'play back' box set is missing the final 3 episodes. why...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For frack sake, 26 Mar 2007
By 
Phil Armer (Newton Abbot UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD without having seen or heard anything about it. I have to say it is one of the best Sci-Fi serires I have ever seen there is plenty of action mixed with good story lines.

The only complaint I have with the series is the use of the word FRACK. It really does bug me. Either go the whole hog and use f*#k, and stick a certificate 15 on it, or take it out all together. Don't make up a word that sounds ,slightly, like the word it's supposed to be replacing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ugh - no change really!, 25 Jan 2010
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I saw some of the original series on TV and found it so unrealistic what with the petty politics and back-stabbing going on. Hardly the way to react in such a situation:- 'The Potential End of Humanity'. However I thought I'd give the new version a try and hence this review:

Good effects etc etc but sadly let down by the casting, some appalling acting and of course the story-line. The same sad bunch of humans all with their own private agendas - that just about sums it up for me. I will not be buying anymore of this particular show and I only wish Serenity had got a longer run. Now that was a sci-fi with bite! Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth Watching, 9 Sep 2005
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly the 70's , original, version of this is best described as cheesy, unless you were still in single figures in the 70's. The remake is a vast improvement with better storylines, scripts and dare I say acting (I do not appologise if you're an A-Team fan and miss the original Starbuck). I won't talk about the content except to say if you apprieciate Sci-fi that actually is more than just running around with a gun shooting tin cans, which makes one wonder how mankind could ever loose (until you hear the American gun-ho accent), you'll like this. But I digress, the 'traitor' is played by an Englishman (no suprise there) and the actor plays his role very well, in my belief. Don't expect complex plots but enjoyable non-the-less. Also the term cliffhangers as applied to this series stretches the imagination.
In summary this is well worth it (watch the mini series first) but not if you expect the original with a make over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best SiFi series ever!, 19 Aug 2006
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Battlestar Gallactica is just the best you can get out there.

< compelling thrilling >

No more to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battlestar Galactica DVD set, 8 April 2009
By 
M. Turner (Darlington UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Boxed set received as advertised. Cover slightly damaged but clear boxes and DVD,s in good condition. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD]
Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [DVD] by Edward James Olmos (DVD - 2005)
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews