Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual delight for horse lovers
The story in this film is very simple, which is not suprising given that is from the Disney stable, where stories are made to be appreciated by children as young as 4. Rest assured that young children who like horses will like this film.

To sum it up, the film is set somewhere in the arabian peninsula at the end of World War II, there is young girl who finds a...
Published on 27 May 2008 by Kamran Rahman

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of 45 minutes
This film is just dreadful really. It short, predictable, silly and the story is totally flat. There doesnt seem to be any real feeling between Neera and the stallion, and this is the biggest fault as its supposed to be the basis for the film. A shame really, as a lot of work training the horses obviously went into it.
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by Rachael Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual delight for horse lovers, 27 May 2008
By 
Kamran Rahman (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Black Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
The story in this film is very simple, which is not suprising given that is from the Disney stable, where stories are made to be appreciated by children as young as 4. Rest assured that young children who like horses will like this film.

To sum it up, the film is set somewhere in the arabian peninsula at the end of World War II, there is young girl who finds a fiery young black stallion, makes friends with it and then rides the horse in a race to restore the fortunes of her grandfather who was once a proud and famous breeder but has fallen on hard times.

However, where this film really excels is that it is, quite simply, the most beautifully shot film of the most beautiful animal on the planet - the arabian stallion. Its a relatively short film, but I think the timing is just right. If you think horses are beautiful animals you will appreciate this simple, short, breathtakingly beautiful film.

I could criticise a few things about the film, because it is far from perfect, but I would rather give it the full five stars... enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautifully filmed beautiful story, 29 Nov 2008
By 
Maria Plotkina "bonechka" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Young Black Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
This is a moving story of a friendship between a girl and a horse, who met in a desert, where a special bond emerged betwen them and they went on to win an important race together, which helps to restore the girl's grandfather as a horsebreeder. Surely it's not a very realistic story, more like a fairy tale, but that's what it's supposed to be and it's surely a must have for all horse lovers as it tells a touching story of friendship and is beautifully filmed. My 2 year old daughter who is as crazy about horses as i am simply loves this film and knows it by heart. A good film to watch with your children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Young Black Stallion, 19 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Young Black Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
A great all round family movie. Old fashioned but lovely for kids particularly if they love horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars black stallion review, 23 April 2006
This review is from: The Young Black Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
although bit slow in parts ,this film was interesting,i love all animal films,my child enjoyed this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of 45 minutes, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Rachael Simpson "Book worm" (Inverurie, Aberdeenshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Young Black Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
This film is just dreadful really. It short, predictable, silly and the story is totally flat. There doesnt seem to be any real feeling between Neera and the stallion, and this is the biggest fault as its supposed to be the basis for the film. A shame really, as a lot of work training the horses obviously went into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice family film, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Black Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
This is a nice family film. Enjoyed it - thank you for prompt and efficient service. Would recommend this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a bit slow ., 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Black Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
i really would like would like to see it again before i make any real comments. but if you insist.BORROW IT Unless you want the full story like i did,but i can assure you they do get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Black Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
A charming, though a little short, movie that the kids (age 9 and 11) want to watch again and again. Its picturesque and has adventure and action with a nice storyline, a little girl and a wild horse. Wish it had been a bit longer but all in all very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for pony mad girls., 17 Jun 2013
By 
M. Morgan (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Black Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this and The Black Stallion and the Black Stallion Returns for my niece several years ago. She loved all three, she has now 'grown up' and passed then to my daughter who watches them regularly and loves them too. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars young black stallion dvd, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Black Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant film, my daughter loved it as she already has the black stallion ,loves any film associated with horses or animals, film very easy to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Young Black Stallion [DVD]
The Young Black Stallion [DVD] by Simon Wincer (DVD - 2005)
4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews