Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �I�ll go home with beautiful Jean�
In mid-18 th century, Highlands of Scotland, Rev. Mr. Forsythe decided that they village of Brigadoon was being unduly influences by witches and the outside world to he asked for a miracle that was granted and The village only appears one day once every hundred years.
It just so happens that on this very day two hunters from New York were lost in the Highlands Tommy...
Published on 20 Oct 2005 by bernie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Escapism
Enjoyed this film, if a bit contrived to fit in Gene Kelly's tap dancing skills, bit of fun. I recommend it.
Published 6 months ago by S. Bamford


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �I�ll go home with beautiful Jean�, 20 Oct 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brigadoon [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
In mid-18 th century, Highlands of Scotland, Rev. Mr. Forsythe decided that they village of Brigadoon was being unduly influences by witches and the outside world to he asked for a miracle that was granted and The village only appears one day once every hundred years.
It just so happens that on this very day two hunters from New York were lost in the Highlands Tommy Albright (Gene Kelly) and Jeff Douglas (Van Johnson). There Tommy meets and falls in love with a girl (Cyd Charisse), but does she really exist?
Things get a bit complicated and Tommy has a lot to think about while Jeff under the influence of alcohol may have shot more than a bird.
Ones man's miracle can be another man's curse.
An often overlooked musical, the music and songs of Lerner and Loewe, which is a product of its time. This movie does not pretend to be anything but a movie version of the stage production directed by Vincente Minnelli, with Jan Johnson and Gene Kelly at their best. I have seen several liver productions and this is one of those rare occasions in which the movie is superior. A must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good old fashioned love story!, 30 Jun 2007
This review is from: Brigadoon [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
I used to watch this film as a child and loved the story, costumes, songs and dancing. And now I'm older I still love it!

A love story between a guy and a gal - separated by more than just continents. A shooting expedition in the mist leads to the discovery of a village in the Scottish Highlands where the villagers are somewhat old-fashioned.......

Just magical! Suspend your disbelief and watch this film, it will make you smile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 18 Jan 2008
This review is from: Brigadoon [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
this is a really weird film. i remember watching it for the first time at my grandma's house and even after all those years i never forgot it, so when i found it on dvd i jumped at the chance to own this clever and brilliantly filmed musical!!watch it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �I�ll go home with beautiful Jean�, 15 Dec 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
In mid-18 th century, Highlands of Scotland, Rev. Mr. Forsythe decided that they village of Brigadoon was being unduly influences by witches and the outside world to he asked for a miracle that was granted and The village only appears one day once every hundred years.
It just so happens that on this very day two hunters from New York were lost in the Highlands Tommy Albright (Gene Kelly) and Jeff Douglas (Van Johnson). There Tommy meets and falls in love with a girl (Cyd Charisse), but does she really exist?
Things get a bit complicated and Tommy has a lot to think about while Jeff under the influence of alcohol may have shot more than a bird.
Ones man's miracle can be another man's curse.
An often overlooked musical, the music and songs of Lerner and Loewe, which is a product of its time. This movie does not pretend to be anything but a movie version of the stage production directed by Vincente Minnelli, with Jan Johnson and Gene Kelly at their best. I have seen several liver productions and this is one of those rare occasions in which the movie is superior. A must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply magical, 9 Feb 2009
This review is from: Brigadoon [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
I just love Gene Kelly and any film he is in is always very sweet and always puts a smile on my face. So with this particular film, I really don't care about the tragic scottish accents because the music and dancing totaly make up for it!
This is a wonderful fairy story, So don't read too much into to it, just enjoy the technicolour and really rather funny one liners!

Set in a mystical scottish village that only appears for one day every 100 years, two American hunters stumble upon this village (Brigadoon) and its occupants.
Then there is a whole lot of singing and dancing and of course an impossible romance between Gene Kelly and Cyd Charisse (the leading lady of the village).
But how can it be? They are both from such different worlds (quite literaly!)
Well sit back,(preferably on a rainy sunday afternoon), relax and watch the story unfold...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Anything is possible when you love someone. Even miracles.", 17 May 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brigadoon [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
The stagey Brigadoon isn't short of flaws (not least collecting some of the worst Scottish accents in movie history), but it's so beautifully staged that it carries the day, gaping plot holes and all. The use of CinemaScope is superb and the backlot shooting somehow seems perfectly appropriate for this piece of Highland whimsy and post-war wishful thinking. Strange to think that the film's unexpected failure heralded the beginning of the end of the MGM musical (and led to The Heather in the Hills among other numbers being cut in many overseas territories so they could dump the film in a double-bill!).

The special edition DVD boasts a good widescreen transfer and a fine selection of extras, including deleted numbers Come To Me, Bend To Me, From This Day On and Sword Dance and an audio-only outtake of There But For You Go I as well as the original theatrical trailer, but sadly the recording sessions that were included as an audio extra on the old MGM/UA laserdisc have not been included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saw this on T.V years ago, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brigadoon [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
I heard one of the songs on the radio and decided to buy it. I surpose that I'm a romantic at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely marvellous, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brigadoon [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
This film is magnificent!! This film was one out of plenty of old classic musicals that I remember watching with my nana when I was little, the scenery is beautiful, there are a few scenes that are funny and the songs are amazing! Now I am 17 and I never get fed up of the old classics, I can watch them forever!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 14 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brigadoon [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
What can you say about a classic except its a joy to have it on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 July 2010
This review is from: Brigadoon [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
Just remeniscing, a brilliant film much better than some of these way out ones of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brigadoon [DVD] [1954]
Brigadoon [DVD] [1954] by Gene Kelly (DVD - 2005)
£19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews