Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling Feelgood Musical
This was the wonderful Fred Astaire's big screen musical swansong - and what a charming, pitch perfect musical it is.

There's not much opportunity for Fred to dance (at least not PROPERLY!) but he does give a great performance alongside the rest of a very good cast. The only downside is the Irish accent he attempts - which I rate only slightly better than Dick...
Published on 26 July 2009 by G. J. Oxley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
In slovac and very hard to change and get rid of subtitles
Published 22 days ago by A. Pryer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling Feelgood Musical, 26 July 2009
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Finian's Rainbow [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
This was the wonderful Fred Astaire's big screen musical swansong - and what a charming, pitch perfect musical it is.

There's not much opportunity for Fred to dance (at least not PROPERLY!) but he does give a great performance alongside the rest of a very good cast. The only downside is the Irish accent he attempts - which I rate only slightly better than Dick Van Dyke's cockney turn in 'Mary Poppins'!

That minor quibble aside, this is a superb feelgood, whimsical, family movie that features two absolutely outstanding musical numbers - 'Look to the Rainbow' and the sublime 'Old Devil Moon' - a song that literally sends shivers down the spine. There are other good ones including 'How are things in Glocca Morra' and 'If This isn't Love'. When two excellent songwriters such as E.Y. 'Yip' Harburg (lyrics) and Burton Lane (music) team-up, the end product is usually of deep-pile quality - as is the case here. As an aside, 'Yip' also wrote the lyrics for 'The Wizard of Oz' (featuring 'Over the Rainbow') which suggests he has a thing about this particular meteorological phenomenon!

Petula Clark has a lovely voice and a charismatic screen presence, and it's perfect within the context of this movie. Throw in a decent performance by Tommy Steele and you have two British singers appearing together in a major Hollywood musical. I bet that hasn't happened many times!

The vibrant, colourful print is lovely to look at, but biggest shock of all is that the movie was directed by the fledgling Francis Ford Coppola! It's like discovering that David Fincher actually had a big hand in 'The Sound of Music'!! The extras section of the DVD features a nice piece where FFC describes how he came to direct the movie and his credentials for doing so.

'Finian's Rainbow' was a massive Broadway hit on the stage when it opened in 1947 (running for 725 performances), and the only surprise is it took so long (1968) for a motion picture to be made. Please buy, watch and treasure this lovely musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Thirlwell (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finian's Rainbow [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
I've been "singing" bits of the songs from this movie since I saw it when I was a child. I was over the moon when I found the DVD and have now been able to share the pleasures with my family. A good family movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What happens when a man finds the legendary pot of gold..., 22 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Finians Rainbow [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This a great feel-good musical, beginning with the dreams of an irish immigrant (Fred Astaire) to find wealth and a new life with his daughter (Petula Clarke) in America. As his daughter begins a gently portrayed love affair with the local entrepreuner, the old man finds the legendary pot of gold at the end of the rainbow and brings into their lives the mischevious leprechaun (Tommy Steele) who has lost his pot of gold and wants it back. So begins a complex funny / romance / adventure tale of mistakenly granted wishes with ultimately beneficial effects, love affairs, accusations of witchcraft and the saving of the community from developers. On the minus side it has a slightly over romantic sixties soft-focus feel, and the irish accents are appalling; but on the plus side it has some great and undervalued songs (Old Devil Moon etc) and leaves you feeling on top of the world by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected..., 11 Jun 2005
By 
Matt (South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Finian's Rainbow [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Underrated film. The transfer to DVD is fantastic, colours really bright (perhaps too bright, I had to tone down the saturation on my screen somewhat). Audio is perfect, imho.
An unexpected pleasure was Francis Ford Coppola's commentary track. He really packs it in... hardly a second goes by without any comments... extended anecdotes about his reasons for making this film - trying to impress his dad, Carmine, his first experience helming a hollywood feature, casting, candid regrets on how certain things were done, how he'd do them today... Coppola's a wonderful, humble storyteller - the commentary track is a real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Follow the rainbow, 17 May 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Roguish Irishman Finian McLonergan (Fred Astaire) arrives in Rainbow Valley near Fort Knox with his daughter Sharon (Petula Clark) to test out his theory of economics - that if he plants a crock of gold stolen from the leprechauns, it will grow. Unfortunately for his plans, a Leprechaun (Tommy Steele) has followed him to retrieve the gold, a racist senator wants to buy the land he has buried it in and his daughter is accused of witchcraft when an ill-advised wish comes true...

Unlike many of the roadshow musicals of the Sixties, Finian's Rainbow doesn't feel overlong or overblown - despite being shot in 70mm, it keeps the scale small and retains much of the charm of the original show in the process. The direction is energetic and fluid, with some beautiful camerawork and the odd experimental touches - Woody's arrival features similar racing tracking shots to the ones Coppola used in Bram Stoker's Dracula - but the style never takes over. This is certainly considerably lighter on its feet than Coppola's very maudlin One From the Heart and much more involving. There's a sense of fun to Finian's Rainbow that doesn't come over in any of his later films, making it surprisingly enjoyable and hard to dislike.

The score - How Are Things in Glockamora?, That Old Devil Moon, Something Sort of Grandish and Follow the Rainbow - is better than you remember, boasting some very surreal lyrics, and the script is often genuinely witty and always good natured. The racial satire is surprisingly deftly handled considering the similarities to the rather heavy-handed The Watermelon Man: at one point Al Freeman Jr is taught how to shuffle like a black man when employed by the senator (Wynn), who is later turned into a black himself and rejected by his cronies.

Of the cast, bad Oirish accents notwithstanding, only Don Francks fails to engage. A colourless leading man with the look of a badly drawn Gene Kelly crossed with Frederic Forrest, he has a strong voice but ultimately lacks the charisma to carry off the romantic lead - and for someone whose great money-making scheme is to grow mentholated tobacco thus condemning a large number of the inhabitants of Rainbow Valley to lung cancer to appeal in this day-and-age, he needs all the charisma he can get.

Hermes Pan's choreography is adequate to the occasion but not particularly inspired, especially with Astaire's solos. He is not always helped by Coppola's direction, which often breaks the action into different settings, making it hard to maintain continuity in a routine. At other times, he shoots the dancers from the waist up, taking too long to pull back for a full body shot to show the whole body at work. However, Something Sort of Grandish, imaginatively and amusingly shot around a washing line, is beautifully handled, and his use of the Scope frame for The Girl I'm Near is flawless.

The picture quality is clear and crisp, and the [Overture, Intermission and Exit Music have all been retained. Alongside an introduction and commentary by Coppola and the theatrical trailer there's also a half-hour TV broadcast of the film's premiere but not, curiously enough, the short film about the making of the feature that was shot by Coppola's then-protégé, one George Lucas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slice of nostalgia, 26 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finians Rainbow [VHS] (VHS Tape)
My Mum forced me to watch this movie when I was younger and I loved it. I learned all the words and even the stupid "Doom and Gloom" cry from the leprechaun. Then I grew up and forgot about it until one day I uttered those fateful words - "Doom and Gloom!" I was so happy to find it on amazon and bought it immediately. The movie is so much more funnier than I remember though the songs are rather cheesy - but that is what makes it a fantastic movie. This movie made me fall in love with Tommy Steele and Fred Astaire and it also made me dream about my crock of gold. Wonder where I left it now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It may have been Region 1 but played O.K. om my Blue Ray and portable DVD, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a classic movie - magical. Tommy Steel, whom I have met is unconvincing as a elf. Fred Astaire and Petula Clark are billiant as co-stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finian's Rainbow, 21 Jun 2009
By 
R. Quill "Raymond Quill" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finian's Rainbow [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
I Actually got the Finian's Rainbow dvd for my father he taught is was a very good dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Finian's Rainbow, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hadn't seen Finian's Rainbow since it was first released in the cinemas-(1968?) and I had not seen it available in shops, but now I'm online I've not only found it but actually possess it on DVD. I loved it at first sight with wonderful performances from Fred Astaire, Tommy Steel and Petula Clark.It's wall-to-wall songs and dance routines with never a dull moment.I can thoroughly recommend it to fans of musicals in general or these three stars in particular...buy it whilst it's still being made available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must see!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finian's Rainbow [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
One of the golden oldies! I love everything about this movie. Its one of those happy ever after movies with lovely songs and the technicolour is so fake looking but glorious!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finian's Rainbow [DVD] [1968]
Finian's Rainbow [DVD] [1968] by Petula Clark (DVD - 2005)
14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews