Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mingus was up there with Mozart n' Miles..., 1 Mar 2004
This review is from: Mingus at Antibes (Audio CD)
I don't like to verbalise too much about music,
but I noticed no one had wrote a review of this.
I cant overemphasise the impact this album had on my life.
It contains some of the greatest examples of improvisational group playing ever recorded. Forget labels like Music, Art, Jazz, Funk, Soul, Rock,. This album contains some of the most emotionally resonant music you'll ever hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Get THIS in Your Soul !, 4 Feb 2007
By 
KMorris (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mingus at Antibes (Audio CD)
It was probably Mingus' best group featuring Eric Dolphy (alto saxophone and bass clarinet), Booker Ervin (tenor saxophone), Ted Curson (trumpet), long-serving Dannie Richmond (drums) and the leader himself on bass who recorded this live festival gig in the summer of 1960.

The performance is bookended by extended rollicking gospel-tinged workouts of two of Mingus' greatest 'hits', "Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting" and "Better Git Hit in Your Soul". Along the way, Booker Ervin really takes it to church on a passionate reading of the mighty "Prayer for Passive Resistance" which is sold as a rock and the highlight for this listener ; while Dolphy (on bass clarinet) and Mingus himself get the most out of the musical question, "What Love?". Curson and Richmond's contributions are also a joy throughout the proceedings and special guest artist Bud Powell joins the band on piano for "I'll Remember April".

What we have here is a fine, spirited and jumping live recording. The CD version is good value for money as when this was originally issued on vinyl it was a two-record set and, it also stands up well as a fair introduction to the work of Charles Mingus. It will make you eager to search out more from this important composer and musician who, like Thelonious Monk, always commanded the employ of top and imaginative soloists.

Mingus, yeah! Better get THIS in your soul !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Git This In Your Record Collection, 28 Dec 2009
By 
J. F. Adkins (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mingus at Antibes (Audio CD)
I echo all the previous comments, this is an outstanding example of live jazz from one of Mingus's best bands. Blistering solos, driving rhythm section and original themes. Refreshes the parts other bands cannot reach BUT not for the faint hearted !
Rumour has it that somewhere exists a video of this concert - now that I would like to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful & passionate Mingus concert from 1960., 25 Feb 2008
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mingus at Antibes (Audio CD)
This complete 1960 Antibes concert is probably one of Charles Mingus's most exciting live recordings which, inexplicably, was not released by ATLANTIC until after his death in 1979. The music is uncommonly fiery and passionate with inspired playing from Mingus(bass & piano), Eric Dolphy(alto sax, bass-clarinet), Booker Ervin(tenor), Ted Curson(trumpet) and the ever-present Dannie Richmond(drums). The great bop pianist Bud Powell makes a guest appearance on one track, 'I'll Remember April'.
Small group jazz doesn't get any more powerful or moving than this and 'Mingus At Antibes' deserves to be included in any modern jazz collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mingus at Antibes: Live, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Mingus at Antibes (Audio CD)
Its the best Mingus I've ever heard and it doesn't get better than that. Oh my goodness thats less than twenty words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Mingus, 4 Sep 2009
By 
J. G. Adolpho (Gosport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mingus at Antibes (Audio CD)
This is classic Mingus. The live recording quality is amazing considering how long ago the album was made. Some of the music may be a bit 'out' for some tastes, the conversation between Mingus and Dolphy on 'What Love' where they are exploring the tonsl palletes of their instruments is a particularly heavy part!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mingus At Antibes Live., 10 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mingus At Antibes (MP3 Download)
I came to this album with a sense of not knowing what to expect. It was on first listen an engaging album which each time it is played bringing out more and more enjoyable jazz. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mingus O'clock, 3 Jun 2005
This review is from: Mingus at Antibes (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of double bass, and I expected loads from this album. It delivered, but it's weaved in to the rest of the band, who are all genii. A drummer friend of mine complained that, whilst technically impressive, the rythm section tends to be very broken up, and at times (if you're not in the right mood) this album can be hard to listen to.
This is nit-picking though. This album contains some really quality jazz that will have you grooving into the early hours.
Being drunk is practically a requirement however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mingus at Antibes
Mingus at Antibes by Charles Mingus (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews