Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Striking but not as enduring as the original.
Enduring Love [DVD] [2004]

On a positive note, the film's cinematography is both stunning, captivating, and alone makes the film worth watching. As do both Daniel Craig and Rhys Ifans' performances as Joe and Jed respectively. However, the change of Clarissa's profession from Keats' scholar to sculptor striks a discordant note early on which never, for those...
Published on 11 April 2009 by Mark Jeffery

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This isn't 'Enduring Love'
First of all this is a an OK thriller. But this isn't Enduring Love. All of the science and reasons for Parry's obsession are extracted, an extra character is added for absolutely no reason, the end of the book is changed to a happy crowd-pleasing affair so you're eventually left with an alright thriller with vaguely homophobic overtones. It's a shame really, as Craig...
Published on 1 Aug 2006 by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars A Travesty OfvThe Novel, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enduring Love [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I loved the novel and bought the DVD as I had never seen the film. It is terrible and I can understand why it flopped. It has been simplified to the point of having the life squeezed out of it. Badly directed and acted (despite the cast) it was like a cheap TV play. The ending is ludicrous and because it has been turned into a cheap stalker film it is completely implausible. Even Fatal Attraction had plausible characterization. Read the novel and forget this travesty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant DVD, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enduring Love [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This DVD is brilliant, I was to learn this book for my English Literature As Level and the film really helped; the depiction of Jed is extremely haunting however THE FILM ENDS DIFFERENTLY TO THE BOOK! do not just watch the film if you are asked to study the text as it is not as accurate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strange, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enduring Love [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
A very strange, moving and un-nerving film. It's quite scary to think how easy it is for obsession to strike. Not easy viewing, but compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very strange, and not an entirely accurate depiction of the book, a little more boring., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enduring Love [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Yes, this film is worth seeing if you are studying the book for an exam, but I wouldn't recommend seeing it for any other reason. It's quite slow paced with a lot of jumping from scene to scene with not a whole amount of explanation like there is in the book.
The choice of actors however, is something commendable, they each play their roles with appreciation of the finer details to what makes their characters notable.
I think it's good, but it's not as beautifully strange as the book, and the settings seem careless, not as imaginative and fine as in the book.

Do see it though if you are studying this, since it can help you view the book in a different light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars English studies, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enduring Love [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Bought this for my English exam. Not my type of book/film. A little depressing to say the least, but enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intense melodrama - psychological entrapment, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enduring Love [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
"AAARGGHHH!!!"

That one overwhelming interjection epitomises how frustrating and annoying, people and human nature can often be!

When AAARGGHH...could be replaced instead with profanities in typing this out to EXPRESS the emotions more VIVIDLY to describe this film in better detail!

In real life!

Yes...for me, this film hits those nerves!
You can REALLY feel for Daniel Craigs character in this bewildering assault on his senses by the person who comes TRAMPLING into his life.....and more frustrating that his partner.....JUST DOESN'T GET IT!

She does in the end though.

Don't watch it if you've ever been stalked. Don't watch it if you intend having a romantic dvd night, and don't watch it if you've had, or are facing a crappy day.

But if you want to scream at someone to get out of your face, or let out some other personal, emotional, anger or conflict management.....then watch it.

If only to view it entirely from Craigs character viewpoint...that's about the only and best parts of the film, and they are brilliant....the rest is pretty drab....but that's life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good viewing, 5 May 2012
This review is from: Enduring Love [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
this film was slow to get going but then i felt it picked up at a steady pace. i felt the performance by rhys ifans was great he really got into the character and was a joy to watch. daniel craig also very good in this. a good price on e bay a good dvd. well worth giving this film a viewing. well done cast on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A MARVELOUS BRITISH THRILLER WITH A SPARKLING CAST!!, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: Enduring Love [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Enduring Love is an alarming and Genuinely Uncommon British thriller with an artistic cast delivering the picture perfect proformances for their roles!!
As far as I am concerned Daniel Craig in his best on screen proformance yet delivers one heck of an emotional proformance.

plot summary!! A freak ballooning accident leaves Joe (Daniel Craig)with guilt and thinking the death of the guy in the balloon is his fault for letting go of the rope first. Jed a witness from the accident becomes dangerously obessed with Joe which leads to all hell breaking loose and an emotional fight for Joe to stay sane becomes almost too much to deal with leading down a very violent path!! there is a lot more to it but if I go into the entire story I will be giving too much away.
I also am a bit upset by all the bad reviews as this film is brilliant and should of one some awards but didnt!!

its funny,moving,incredible,depressing,harrowing,dark,thrilling,inspiring,dramatic,nail biting,chilling,in parts horrific,very entertaining in a bizzare and stylish form and there is just no way you would want to miss it.

BRILLIANT AND EFFECTINGLY SAD!!
A BRITISH THRILLER OF EMOTIONS AND A VERY DISTURBING SITUATION NO ONE WOULD WANT TO FIND THEMSELVES IN!!

A MUST SEE I CANNOT PRAISE IT ENOUGH....SEE TO BELIEVE......POWERFUL AND MOVING!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch, 4 Sep 2010
This review is from: Enduring Love [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I watched this film after reading the book and I think I would have enjoyed more if I hadn't read the book beforehand as quite a lot of plot details have been changed or missed out. However, it is still a very good film and I would definitely recommend it for a gripping, dark and original storyline and amazing performances from Daniel Craig and Rhys Ifans. A really good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Destined to send a chill down your spine but misses some of the book's qualities, 26 May 2010
By 
Reader, I Read It "Sarah" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Enduring Love [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
For any production team it was going to be a challenge to create an equally successful film to the much acclaimed novel. Enjoyable and entertaining as the film is, you feel slightly short changed compared to what the book has to offer.

So what about the first scene. Does it live up to McEwen's gripping first chapter? The answer is yes. Beauty and tragedy are both captured in one breathtaking scene. A far cry from your Blockbuster action packed opening, the surreal silence of the events that occur in the first few shots appeals to the ordinary. There are no hero's, no dramatic music or sign of Hollywood. The normality of it all creates the disturbing feeling that this is real life being played out.

One of the major disappointments of this adaptation is the change of Clarissa, a Literature Lecture with romantic viewpoints on life and love, to a young artist named Claire. The contrasts between Clarissa and scientific Joe are beautifully presented in the novel which is therefore somewhat lost in the film. Nevertheless, Samantha Morton (Claire) and Daniel Craig (Joe) present a believable performance and you are drawn in to see the complex struggles both have coping with the existence of Jed (Rhys Ifans).

The beautiful score and edgy photography adds to the quality of this chilling physiological thriller. With an all-star cast and strong production it will captivate and entertain you but don't substitute it for the book as you'll be missing out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enduring Love [DVD] [2004]
Enduring Love [DVD] [2004] by Helen McCrory (DVD - 2005)
4.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews