Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saved me from Boredom
Ok, lets be honest, while the original films were great, the AVP film sucked. This game continues to link the two stories together.

Im not to familiar with the comics, but as far as i can tell from peoples reviews of them, like the AVP film it touches on some ideas to attempt to make a twisty cinematic plot. What they ended up with was a pretty lame story line...
Published on 11 July 2006 by Joel Minter

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair effort
With decent graphics, reasonable playability and a small amount of unlockables this is no game to be sniffed at. As with everything there are downfalls. To be fair the storyline is ok. Without wanting to give much away the ending leaves open the option of a sequel. The storyline isn't particularly groundbreaking but has enough interest to want to reach it's...
Published on 16 Mar 2007 by 'Chewy'


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saved me from Boredom, 11 July 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2) (Video Game)
Ok, lets be honest, while the original films were great, the AVP film sucked. This game continues to link the two stories together.

Im not to familiar with the comics, but as far as i can tell from peoples reviews of them, like the AVP film it touches on some ideas to attempt to make a twisty cinematic plot. What they ended up with was a pretty lame story line which couldnt touch the films by a long shot. HOWEVER...the game play for me more than made up for it.

The controls are not for the faint hearted, and im sure many people who slagged this game off gave up by the end of the first mission. There is a basic set up and many different confihurations for you to try out in the training mode, which takes you through the usual tasks. Although tricky at first, you dont need to worry too much about mastering them before you try the main game. After a while the controls become second nature, and thanks to a large selection of combinations of attack and movements, you will find yourself doing someting new and impressive right up to the final levels, meaning you wont get bored, and you can have some FUN with them. Some people say they should hav ebeen simplified, but i think if they did you would have felt like they hadnt done the Predator films justice.

Game play resembles the ps2 Spiderman movie and Grand Theft Auto games in the sense that your set loose in a free roam city. However, unfortunatly in this game your only given a small section of the city at a time, which you occasionally revisit in later levels. Although this may sound dissapointing, you find that hunting down individuals is often hard enough as it is, and your familiarity with the surroundings means you ca show off that cool move you figured out earlier.

For stories sake i supose your also set more liniar but rarely confined indoor levels aswell, which deffinatly makes it more tricky as you cant leap over buidlings away from danger. Levels take place in 2030 Noenopolis and strangley enough 1910 Chicago (i think), and as fun as it ma be to slash up mobsters, there is a relevance to the story.

You get a broad selection of weapons, which you can upgrade by seeking out hidden secrets. You have to collect these as you go, which means you dont get bored of them too quickly. You also get all the gadgets, though not all from the start. There are three vision modes which you are often forced to use often, which is good, as well as the classic cloak, plasmacaster and spear guns, as well as some fun extras.

The game play is FUN, which could be why it dissapointed fans expecting stealth and horror, but remember, the films were mostly action oriontated. This film does not follow the Alien vs Predator game play, though obviously does tye in with the story line. Non the less, i was hooked on this game, and is one of the few games i own which has had me want to complete it instead of giving up and chucking it back into the cupbourd for six months. Good, gorey (VERY gorey) action packed fun with strategy often tyed in, all in great graphics. Unlimited enermies in the city levels means you cant just massacre everyone in silence and strol to your destination.

Only let down by its lame story line, but untill the 'climatic' battle at the end where it had to be wrapped up, it never interfied with the great missions up until then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair effort, 16 Mar 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2) (Video Game)
With decent graphics, reasonable playability and a small amount of unlockables this is no game to be sniffed at. As with everything there are downfalls. To be fair the storyline is ok. Without wanting to give much away the ending leaves open the option of a sequel. The storyline isn't particularly groundbreaking but has enough interest to want to reach it's conclusion.

As i said before the graphics are solid and environments are nothing short of lovely. I believe that maybe stealth should have been enhanced rather a bit more. Sure there is cloaking and ways of your enemies to get round it but sometimes you feel as if your just embarking on a bloodfest. That said executions are exemplary and true to the predator portrayed in the superb films.

The vast array of weapons and their upgrades is a major plus. Any weapon you think of in a predators arsenal...you got it. Unlockables also include new hunting outfits as well all improving playability factor. Along with this there are 3 or 4 levels of difficulty.

The incorporation of several ''tech views'' enhances this game no end, and stay true to attributes of the real predator.

Though not a bestseller Predator:Concrete Jungle does enough to get a thumbs up from me. Should a sequel come about i will consider purchasing it. However i think that improvements are required.

Just have a bash at it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, 15 April 2005
By 
This review is from: Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2) (Video Game)
At last the predator gets a game of his own and what a game it is. The predator has long stood proud as one of Arnold Schwarzneggars greatest movie anti-heros, such a terrifying enemy with cloaking technology, an array of technologically advanced weapons and it lives for the thrill of the hunt. The game see's you playing the predator in 1930 who gets captured by the mafia and his technology stolen. You are then returned to your race, who for discracing them banish you to a savage planet for 100 years. They don't expect you to survive but you do and you return to earth in 2030 to regain your honour by hunting down the decendant of the mafia family's leader. In this time period the streets are crawling with scum and mafia who have taken hold of cloaking devices and weapons all derived from the technology stolen from you 100 years previous. This game doesn't shy away from showing you the predators true horrific nature. This game has an 18 certificate and believe me it use's it to the limit, for example the predator finds someone using a cloaking device made from his and he takes him to a billboard skins him and hangs him by his feet from it. This game has been eagerly awaited and hungered for by fans who will definitly not be disapointed and newcomers will also find this game absolutly awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrill of the hunt, 17 April 2005
This review is from: Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2) (Video Game)
There was little press coverage upon the release of this game, which is usually a bad sign. I need not have worried, this game is fantastic. It features all the Predator weaponry, costumes and sound effects from the films including AVP. The storyline is great too, it's like a playable graphic novel.
I don't want to reveal too much about the game for fear of spoiling it, but there are loads of neat little touches within Concrete Jungle which I think shows that it's been lovingly crafted by people who care about the subject matter.
If your a fan of the Predator films & comics then you should definitely buy this game, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn Around, 18 April 2005
By 
John Kerr "bodyneeds321" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2) (Video Game)
When you first start this game you think "Where's Anuld". At the start of the game you see a small intro video which gives you the gist of what you will have to do in the game and also the reason to why you do what you do in the game. The first mission is a bit pants cause you have 2 weapons and none of the vision modes. Once you get into the game its class. With all the vision modes, weapons, cloaking and even the cool scanning sounds from the movies, this all make it a very good game. If you pay attention to hen you are using the voice scanner you can her the phrases "Turn Around" and "Over Here" from the first film. At the end of the game there is a small suprise in the way of AVP. My only complaint is that the levels dont have any check points and some levels are quite long and if you die you go back to the start. Overall a good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOW GOOD IS IT?, 6 May 2005
This review is from: Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2) (Video Game)
I have seen the films more than once,I have been waiting for ages for a predator game to come out!I like Alien VS Predator Extinction...But let me tell you predator concrete jungle is the best game I have ever played on the PS2.You feel like a predator,Stalk with weapons of annihilation,various vision modes.A the best thing of all is the cloaking technology.(you are invisible)I feel that that is one of the best things about this game.This game is an awesome experience and I will remember it forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn Around, 18 April 2005
By 
John Kerr "bodyneeds321" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2) (Video Game)
When you first start this game you think "My God Where's Arnold". The game goes through a small storyline to begin with giving you the gist of what you are dealing with. On the first mission, you have hardly any weapons and cloaking doesnt work which is a bit pants! After that the game in general is amazing,all the vision modes, weapons, cloaking and all the sounds from the movies make it a grade A game. if you pay attention to when you are using the the voice function you can hear the phrase from the films "Over Here", "Turn Around". At the end of the game you get a good surprise in the way of AVP. Overall a good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring on the sequel!!!, 29 May 2005
By 
C. Williams (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2) (Video Game)
The Predator movies have always been my favourites, and I was thrilled beyond belief when I received Concrete Jungle. The game didn't get much press, and I was surprised they didn't make more out of it, but I wasn't disappointed. The Predator is beautifully rendered, looking every bit as menacing and realisitc as he did in the films. You have a vast array of weaponry at your disposal, including spearguns, nets, the wicked wristblades and so on. Vocal mimicry is one of the pluses, being able to lure your victims into a trap is GREAT. The cutscenes are impressive, making you ever eager to play the next action-packed level. It isn't perfect, I'll admit, some of the levels are repetitive and it's a bit annoying when you hear the cops yelling "stop you ugly f**k" for the fiftieth time, but it's the best Predator game I've seen so far, just because of the depth. There are loads of bonus missions, ritual challenges, etc. to amuse yourself after completing the story missions. Simply put, it's the best so far, and I can't wait until the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard but good!, 1 Mar 2008
By 
Mrs. Sharon L. Lawson "Sadakohere" (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2) (Video Game)
The film was terrific and the idea of causing havoc in a city environment sounded great so I bought this game. It is quite tricky and fiddly control-wise but after some solid practice in the training grounds, it's pretty fair enough to get used to. Hiding on rooftops and zooming in on people to analyse them behore deciding to kill them is delightfully sneaky. The modes of death are great, so vile but that's the Predator for you. Sound effects are good, graphics fine, challenges are a bit tricky and can take a few attempts but the satisfaction is worth it. Hope someone comes up with an invincibility cheat code soon so I can really go mental!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future is blooded for hunters and evil companys, 28 Jan 2006
This review is from: Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is awesome. The music is great as well as the graphics, weapons, visions, sound affects, gore, the predators shape and the storyline is great. This game links in with the Alien and Predator movies, it introduces the evil Weyland Yutani corporation too. I play on this game all of the time. I recommend you buy it, its the best game ive got. I hope they bring a game out where you can be an Alien. Bring on the sequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2)
Predator: Concrete Jungle (PS2) by Sierra (PlayStation2)
£27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews