Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The elements of miltary success
This battle stands out as being the supreme example of courage coupled with tactics; success required both. This dvd gives a historical perspective of the film 'Zulu' and surrounding conflict.

Nearly all of the battles in this series are won by the side with a leader who appreciates the importance of the terrain and the tactics of using weapons. Having endured...
Published on 4 Aug 2008 by J. Taylor

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars muddy narration
As the previous reviews mentioned, this is an excellent history of the incident.

Unfortunately, on many occasions it is impossible to hear what the narrator is saying due to the background 'battle and burning' soundtrack.

This spoilt it for me, I'm afraid, and as such I don't think I'll try any more of these History of Warfare CDs.
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by Mr. Simon J. Flynn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The elements of miltary success, 4 Aug 2008
By 
J. Taylor (Poole, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rorke's Drift 1879 - Against All Odds [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
This battle stands out as being the supreme example of courage coupled with tactics; success required both. This dvd gives a historical perspective of the film 'Zulu' and surrounding conflict.

Nearly all of the battles in this series are won by the side with a leader who appreciates the importance of the terrain and the tactics of using weapons. Having endured a millenium of fighting big battles against the odds, the British are shown to be far superior in this respect. However, this dvd also points out just how many Zulu warriors were still alive, had they decided to carry on fighting - a sobering thought.

Not the most important event in British warfare by a long way, but it must be a contender for the most inspiring victory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rorkes Drift 1879 Against all Odds., 24 Aug 2010
By 
A. Cooke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rorke's Drift 1879 - Against All Odds [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Rorkes Drift provides the viewer/listener with a highly detailed account, regarding the British Army,facing overwhelming odds against the Zulu.If you like History -then this will be right up your street!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rorkes Drift 1879, 25 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Kim E. Beal (Havant Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rorke's Drift 1879 - Against All Odds [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
If you want a re-working of the 1964 film Zulu, forget it. If you want a documentary of what really happened, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rorke's Drift 1879 - Against All Odds [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
This video tells the story of the start of the Zulu wars, and deals specifically with the defence of Rorkes Drift.
I found the background story, the way in which the British forced the Zulu nation to attack them, especially interesting, and it was good too to learn the background use, and purpose of the mission station, Rorkes Drift. Basically, the video explained what really happened and why, and it does so without the Hollywood treatment afforded to "Zulu" which, entertaining though it was, changed the facts to make the story more interesting...

On the negative side, it could have gone into more detail. For example, it includes a photo showing soldiers holding rags around the fore ends of their Martini Henry rifles - why did they do that? As a shooter myself, I happen to know that those rifles were never designed for rapid fire and that they very quickly became far too hot to hold, but that wasn't even mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars muddy narration, 7 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. Simon J. Flynn "Simon Flynn" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rorke's Drift 1879 - Against All Odds [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
As the previous reviews mentioned, this is an excellent history of the incident.

Unfortunately, on many occasions it is impossible to hear what the narrator is saying due to the background 'battle and burning' soundtrack.

This spoilt it for me, I'm afraid, and as such I don't think I'll try any more of these History of Warfare CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assagi., 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rorke's Drift 1879 - Against All Odds [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
How the English got the point from the Zulus assagis & Spears when there Country was invaded. Is History repeating itself again for the English Soldiers in the Middle East.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars anti dvd player, 12 Jun 2011
This review is from: Rorke's Drift 1879 - Against All Odds [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
For some reason cannot play this on my regular DVD player. The Player is only 2 years old. but it played on my computer. Very Informative. If Your a fan of the Movie Zulu and Zulu Dawn this will go thru all of the events leading up to the attack on Rorke's Drift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa845ea08)

This product

Rorke's Drift 1879 - Against All Odds [1994] [DVD]
Used & New from: 3.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews