Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars54
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£20.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 10 January 2005
So, Smallville Season 3. What can I say? Well, this season is considerably darker and there is far greater plot development. Its no longer a case of "clark gets a new power and uses it to defeat the latest super villian." Which in some ways is good and in others isnt quite as good. The emphasis is on individual character development, from Chloe making her deal with Lionel and the consequences to Lex's discoveries about his father.
The trouble with all this is, is that the plot gets to be slightly convoluted and bizarre. Around episode 15 you find your self longing for the simple season 1 and 2 plots. However, the feeling doesnt last and before long you are back to enjoying a high quality series.
Look out for episode 16, Crisis. Possibly the strangest episode ever! Oh and Tom Welling's 1960 style hair cut in Relic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 22 May 2005
Smallville is one of the most creative series I have ever seen. The re-imagening of the Superman myth is amazing. Series 1 and 2 established it in the younger adolescent mind while series 3 however struggles to maintain the same level. Some episodes like Perry White and Talisman bring in the humour and excitement while other episodes episodes especially that of Exile seem to portray a darker version of Clark's development.
The main problem is that of Lana, she just whinges all the time just like she did in series 2, and now she's fallen again for a nut case obviously psychos are her forte. The series does have a few treats including the development of a new power and also the Lionel vs Lex battle comes to a head but all in all the series is mediocre in comparison of its predecessors. All in all not too bad but not too good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Okay, so I'm a bit behind the times. But I am glad I am giving this long running show a chance because I enjoyed the third season of Smallville.

Season three opens three months after the end of season two. Clark Kent (Tom Welling) is living in Metropolis, letting a ring with red Kryptonite keep him from being tempted to return to his family and friends in Smallville. He's trying to forget his past and the horrid stuff he blames himself for from season two. His father Jonathan (John Schneider) manages to bring him back, and things begin to return to normal.

Well, as normal as they ever get in Smallville. Lex Luthor (Michael Rosenbaum) has just returned from the dead and might be slightly crazy, especially if his father Lionel (John Glover) is to be believed. Chloe's (Allison Mack) relationship with Clark is strained because of her secret investigation into him. And Lana Lang (Kristin Kreuk) and Clark try just being friends even though they both still love each other.

While the power struggle between Lex and Lionel plays out over the course of the season, we get several Krypton enhanced villains as well as the first appearance of Perry White as played by Michael McKean.

Frankly, there still aren't too many on-going stories here. Many of these episodes wrap up the main story in the 42 minutes they are allotted. Character relationships seem slow to change as well. The big exceptions to that are the Lex/Lionel storyline and a storyline with Adam (guest star Ian Somerhalder) who comes to town trying to hide some pretty big secrets. While that was a pretty interesting story arc, the final episode of it was just plain stupid as it tried a storytelling technique that just made no sense at all.

As with any season, there are a few episodes like that one that fall flat, but most of them work well. They manage to bring back several memorable characters for a second shot at Clark, especially in "Asylum." We learn that Clark's biological father had been on Earth back in the 50's.

As the season gets closer to the end, things begin to take a darker turn. Even then, this is still a fun series with characters we've come to care for.

And that is what makes this series work so well for me. I really like these characters. Clark Kent may be a super powered alien , but he still feels human. As repetitive as his relationship with Lana can be at times, I still understand their hesitation at getting back together. Chloe has toned down her longing for Clark, which was a nice touch as far as I was concerned. Lionel is about the only one I don't like, but he's still playing the role of villain, and he makes a great one.

The cast has definitely become comfortable with their parts, and they bring their A game every week. While I wouldn't say there is a bad performance in the bunch, leading the pack are Michael Rosenbaum and John Glover. Any scene they are in sparkles, and when they share a scene, you can't take your eyes from the screen.

The one cast member who really suffers this season is Sam Jones III as Pete, Clark's best friend. Outside of a few episodes, he's lucky to get a cameo in most episodes. It's hardly surprising that this is his last season as a regular.

And speaking of last seasons, the season ending cliffhanger seems to spell doom for several of our characters. You'll definitely want to move on to season four when you are done with this set. I do have a complaint with the season finale because it seems to break one relationship rather quickly with very little leading up to that, but again it is minor.

Season three consisted of 22 episodes, and all of them are presented here in wide screen and stereo sound on six discs. There are plenty of deleted scenes, a gag reel, and three episode commentaries. There is one featurette that talks about what all the behind the scenes people do to bring the show to life each week. While the 22 minute piece seems like a love fest at times, it is pretty interesting learning what all goes into the making of a show like this. The one thing missing is any recap of previous episodes. While most of the time that isn't a big deal, especially if you are watching two or three in a row, I would have loved it for the first episode of the season. I hadn't watched this show it almost a year, and I was trying to remember exactly where the last season had ended.

Season three of Smallville is not focused yet on big story lines, but it still provides solid entertainment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 25 June 2007
This has got to be the best season of smallville out!

The first episode of this season is one of the best episodes the smallville saga has to offer. The fight between clark and his dad is legendary. It's cool to see clark's dad dealing with Jor El and what happens after as we only really ever see clark interacting with Jor El.

Every episode is entertaining, there's never a dull moment in smallville! The climax and cliffhanger at the end of the season is brilliant, making it well worth getting the next season as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 January 2005
smallville has successfully kept up it's excellent reputation as an excellent show. this year is full of Clarks teenage rebellion, mythology of superman and of course clark getting even closer to finding his true origins. lionel(John Glover)is a great part in the third season and Lex slowly becomes more dark and mystical, as he will later on. clark uncovers a new super power, and the season finale was one of the most dramatic episodes ever. people die, people get hurt and people are trapped. Its great well worth it!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
Season 3 veers constantly between dark and light - light: Perry White arrives in Smallville - played fabulously and hilariously by Annette O'Toole's real-life husband Michael McKean (note that they have no scenes together), the fact that Jor-El chose the Kents to raise his son; dark: Clark's antics on Red Kryptonite resulting in serious health issues for Jonathan Kent, Lex's forays into insanity and back again. There are mainly stand-alone stories this year, although there is the double-headed cliffhanger of Chloe's apparent death and Clark being stripped of his humanity to be reborn as Kal-El. The actors continue to raise their game, although Sam Jones III seems to be phased out as the season progresses: a sure sign of his departure before the finale. Also this year Terence Stamp features more prominently as "The Voice of Jor-El" - an intense presence whose determination to enforce his will over his son clashes with the mortal man who raised him. The only drawback of this season is the lingering Clark & Lana love story - will-they, won't they is fast becoming do they have to? This DVD set features a couple of commentaries although the blooper reel doesn't contain as many gems as the one featured on series 2. Favourite episodes: Phoenix, Extinction, Perry, Relic, Whisper, Delete, Hereafter, Crisis, Truth, Memoria & Talisman.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2007
This season starts of fantastically, with Clark dosed on Red Kryptonite and living it up in Metroplis. With Chloe and Lana trying to bring him back, but with no use.

The entire season has a much darker tone, with Chloe and Lionel fighting one another, Clark's killer girl friend trying to kill Lana and Lionel's continuing research into Clark, and his quest for an answer to his pressing problem.

The "freak of the week" format contiues to decline, inf avour of longer stories and plots.

Sadly the evolution and interactions of characters seen in season 2 dissolves, with Chloe seemingly giving up on hopes of being with Clark, and Clark simmiliarily dismissing Lana in the second episode. This leaves (IMO) a lack of heart in this season, as the produceers seemto have decided it was better to explore the Luthors than anyone else.

However this really is the Luthor season, as Lex and Lionel come to blows, the first of which sees Lex commited to a mental assaylum, Lex's return, his father's imprisonment.

Overall this season is worth a good solid four, since the arks continue on and on, with the characters remaining motionless, but some episodes do shine out, such as Whisper (clark in glasses!), Perry and Truth (chloe forces people to tell the truth to her for once.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 11 April 2005
Alough this season doesnt quite match the current season 4 being shown on E4. But never less it spirals high above the previous two seasons,the first season followed a linear path introducing the ship and the significance of clark being on earth,and that bloody metal disk for his ship,the second just shows the further development of that dam metal object and further insight to the caves and clark...The third season how ever is compleatly different,opens a world of new storys and develops all the charecters rather than just clark,as well as the clark and lana situation getting worse the lex and linol situation goes to the verdict this is one you really dont want to miss!buy it or you'll regret it!you can watch it over and over and it only gets beter and betr...i just cant wait till the fourth season comes on dvd to...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
I may be a bit late coming into the world of Clarke Kent and co. but it is timeless and soooooo good!!!!!

This season delves into some pretty deep issues that they handle so well, Clarke is growing up and now Lana and he are together it soon turns back on them and they decide to part.

In this season you get to see more of the Lionel and Lex relationship and the lengths they will go to to hide there true intentions.

Loved the episode 'Obsession' watching Clarke open up and be able to be with a girl without hiding anything and to be happy was a delight, obviously with it being Smallville it doesn't last.

Loved seeing Christopher Reeve join the season in such a a fab way, teaching Clarke about his heritage and herlping him make a connection with his home planet.

Can't wait for the next season xxx
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 27 April 2005
Well what can i say....this has to be the best series of smallville so far and it is fair to say that the series gets better by the episode. I enjoyed this series more than the previous two as it is a lot deeper and darker as it focuses more on clark's secrets and his restricted relationship with his birth father Jor-El.
Highlights of the series are: the cat fight between Lana and Chloe in 'Delete', the super hero fight between Clark and Jonathan in 'Exile', when a young student at Smallville High somehow manages to drag Clark into her dreams in 'Slumber' and finally when Lana becomes infatuated with a new student in 'Magnetic'. This episode is super as we get to see the naughty side of Miss Lana Lang.
Overall, i would say that this serious is most definitely the best so far and i would give it five stars and ten out of ten. BUY IT !!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.