Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 isnt quite the magic number
I was about to come on here and gripe about how the premsie of 'Prometheus Unbound' came out of nowhere and was very sudden with Daniel deciding t oabandon the SGC for a mission weve only jsut heard about before the credits even roll. Then I checked Gateworld and discovered that, as with the Atlantis releases, theyve messed about with the broadcast order so 'Gemeni',...
Published on 29 April 2005 by Richard Marsh

versus
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Longer Value For Money
Sadly, the Stargate DVDs have fallen on hard times. For the last several years I have happily paid to import these DVDs, one at a time from the UK since they are released there much earlier than in the US -- in fact, for some time, we couldn't even get most of the episodes on DVD. Up until this particular DVD, I have continued to purchase every single one as they have...
Published on 3 Jun 2005 by Ann Wortham


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 isnt quite the magic number, 29 April 2005
By 
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 :Series 8 - Vol. 40 [DVD] (DVD)
I was about to come on here and gripe about how the premsie of 'Prometheus Unbound' came out of nowhere and was very sudden with Daniel deciding t oabandon the SGC for a mission weve only jsut heard about before the credits even roll. Then I checked Gateworld and discovered that, as with the Atlantis releases, theyve messed about with the broadcast order so 'Gemeni', which sets up 'Prometheus...' and occurs before it is on the next disc.
The most obvious other gripe is teh three epsiodes that looks like the standard format from now on. The reason for this is to accomodate the double-normal-length 'Threads' later in the season while still maintaining the usual number of discs-per-season. It does, however, leave you feeling ripped off especially when the price tag remaisn the same and the extras are mediocre disc-filler.
But enough whinging about the format: The episodes included are very good and contain some strong characterisation, especially evident in 'Sacrifices' which shows off the talents of Tony Amendola and Jolene Blalock while thankfully keeping the ever-overacting Neil Denis in the background. 'Endgame' is an exciting and intriguing if somewhat rushed addition to SG-1's X-Files-esque conspiracy story arc with a tantalisingly open ending. 'Prometheus Unbound,' once you've accepted its whirlwind setup, is the best of the bunch, guest starring Farscape's Claudia Black as the hilarious Vala and finally letting Hammond do something cool. Being light on main cast, this episode sinks or swims on its guest Cast and Hammond, Colonel Reynolds and Vala carry it with aplomb. In short, great episodes, shame about the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Longer Value For Money, 3 Jun 2005
By 
Ann Wortham "Ashton7" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 :Series 8 - Vol. 40 [DVD] (DVD)
Sadly, the Stargate DVDs have fallen on hard times. For the last several years I have happily paid to import these DVDs, one at a time from the UK since they are released there much earlier than in the US -- in fact, for some time, we couldn't even get most of the episodes on DVD. Up until this particular DVD, I have continued to purchase every single one as they have been issued, usually pre-ordering them.
What a monumental disappointment as DVD after DVD has featured less and less in the way of added features as well as *shorter* features. Furthermore, the focus of the features, especially at the end of Season 7 and now with the Season 8 disks has been weighted towards advertising for Atlantis rather than providing the buyers of Season 8 disks their money's worth, in my opinion! I certainly don't mind a little cross promotion between SG-1 and Atlantis (although the Atlantis disks did not seem to return the favor with massive amounts -- or any amount, for that matter -- of SG-1 promotion). But listing as features Atlantis bits or free Atlantis disks and then providing little else quickly becomes frustrating for the *SG-1* fan. Constant focus on Amanda Tapping to the exclusion of the other actors also has gone way beyond frustrating for this particular fan (who much prefers Michael Shanks and Chris Judge and Richard Dean Anderson and could care less about Ms. Tapping or her "doe eyes," as the producers like to sigh over).
To add absolute insult to injury, however, the studio has released these DVDs in the UK now with only three episodes per disk (at the same prices!) and with *no* episode commentaries. This is not because the episode commentaries don't exist, mind you. The German DVDs have been issued already and the commentaries *are on them*. No doubt the commentaries will also be on any upcoming box sets that are issued. So those of us who have already purchased the DVDs, such as myself, at the higher price have received less special features for more money. That's a good deal?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so exciting this time..., 5 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 :Series 8 - Vol. 40 [DVD] (DVD)
Disappointing trio of episodes, not fulfilling the promise of the first few of season 8. We fell asleep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in love, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 :Series 8 - Vol. 40 [DVD] (DVD)
sg1 are called upon to help one of the jaffar women as tielke and his love fall out and more missions as the gate is stolen,and Jackson is asked to go to head the archaeologists in atlantis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars disk 40, 8 May 2005
By 
THMS "thms101" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 :Series 8 - Vol. 40 [DVD] (DVD)
As with the above reviews, all THREE episodes were very good, but what a swizz on losing out on four episodes. I had expected the third one to be feature length, but no. So, one does buy to continue the collection, but one does get a raw deal - same price but less for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why 3?, 26 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 :Series 8 - Vol. 40 [DVD] (DVD)
After purchasing this DVD i expected a bit more than just three episodes. don't get me wrong i thought they were good, and kept to the plot, even though it sure has changed over the years.
But after having four episodes on a disc for so long why change it? It's shortened the whole thing down, depressingly. Well it is still worthwhile buying the DVD if you're a stargate fan. If you are not, why are you looking at this, start at number 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate SG-1 :Series 8 - Vol. 40 [DVD]
Stargate SG-1 :Series 8 - Vol. 40 [DVD] by Amanda Tapping (DVD - 2005)
£8.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews