Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanatstic remastering
I bought the original release last year. At the same time I bought the brilliant re-mastered Once Upon a Time in America and The Good, the Bad and the Ugly. I would encourage anyone to 'upgrade'. The film is beautifully restored to the same standard as the others, and you see the movie in a new light. The extra material is very interesting, especially the Christopher...
Published on 5 Jun 2005

versus
1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One man film
Clint gives this film a real kick start. After the first twenty minutes you can't help but feel that without Clint the film would be nothing. After the first thirty minutes these suspicions are confirmed by Eastwood's solid acting performance. A good film.
Published on 30 May 2000


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanatstic remastering, 5 Jun 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For A Few Dollars More (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the original release last year. At the same time I bought the brilliant re-mastered Once Upon a Time in America and The Good, the Bad and the Ugly. I would encourage anyone to 'upgrade'. The film is beautifully restored to the same standard as the others, and you see the movie in a new light. The extra material is very interesting, especially the Christopher Frayling part.
In any case it is one of the best Westerns ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clints Class shows again, 23 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. A. Craddock "T.C." (Middleton Manchester u.k.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Dollars More (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
The Sequel to a Fistful Of Dollars as The man with no Name returns to continue as a drifter. The support of the brilliant Lee Van Cleef should not be under- stated in this classic western . This film is not only equal to the first film more likely it tops it with five star performances from the two men as the Spagetti western series builds nicely towards the climax in 1968`s The good , the bad and the ugly. If you have never seen this one originally released in 1965 watch this because you will not be disappointed in fact you will be on the edge of your seat throughout. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undeniable, 21 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. R. Maxwell "Sparky" (Notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Dollars More (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I'm gonna say something controversial now, I like this film more than The Good, The Bad & The Ugly.

Of course the third in the trilogy is a masterwork which I love (even got a poster of it on my wall!) but there's something great about this film that makes me so fond of it, it's just unfortunate that the third film was such a landmark of the Western genre that this film often doesn't get the recognition it deserves, like a younger brother trying to live up to the greater achievements of the older. I think what swings it for me though is just the amount of brilliant one-off scenes that this film has. For instance, the card scene where Clint cheats (the film doesn't show it but i like to think he does!) 'I didn't hear what the bet was?' - 'Your life.' Also the tongue in cheek of it all is superb, like where Clint and Van Cleef test their shooting skill by shooting each others hats off and all over the place!

But don't let this mild humour fool you, there is a serious revenge story behind all this and the plot unfolds like the timepiece which is centre-fold to the story. Sergio Leone manages (along with its plot, action and everything else) to cram in a good deal of vivid imagery into this film as well, I for one will never forget the picture of the three mexican gunslingers silhouetted against the town waiting for Manco to enter. Additionally, don't expect to see Lee Van Cleef match his performance here in the good, bad & ugly, his portrayal of Colonal Mortimer here is understandibly tough but understatedly moving as the film reaches its climax, and for me its Cleef who steals every scene.

This film for me is a modern great/seminal classic whatever you want to call it its one of them! Add to all this a soundtrack which is probably the best I've ever heard on a Western, ranging from a lonely whistle to a full scale orchestral blast, possibly only matched by the composition heard in Once Upon a Time in the West, Ennio Morricone must have been an absolute genius. Basically this a must see movie, so see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leone has robbed El Paso, 7 May 2006
By 
Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS (Llandudno N Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Dollars More (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
What a difference between A Fist Full of Dollars and its sequel For A Few Dollars More.The quality of acting,film sets,music score and vertually everything else sets it apart as prabably my favorite of all three of the Dollar Trillogies.
Gian Maria Valonte was given a second outing and thankgoodness because he plays the phycotic El Indio to perfection.

Clint is well pared with Lee Van Cleef who eventually team up for different reasons to bring El Indio and his gang to justice.

At the end of the film we see Van Cleef give the fortune in bounty away to Clint because his motives for revenge are totally different.

The script is by far the most intelligent of any spagetti western and that opening scene at Twcomcary where Morriconies brilliance makes the gunning down of Guy Callaway that more spectacular with the music and tension.
The fact that Van Cleef is the bounty hunter in the scene takes second stage,it is the atmosphere given to us by Morricones score that makes the killing that more impressive.

It is in my opinion one of the most memorable scenes next to the shoot out at Sad Hill cemetery in the next installment in any of Leone work.

You can watch the scene again and again,the directing and acting are as close to perfection as you are likely to see in any wetern and that includes any of the classics.

Leone clearly worked exceptionally hard to make this second western a success.The script and music score are at the peak of direction.The acting and choice of actors were another reason for the films success.

Clint clearly takes on the mantle as the mysterious bountyhunter who will stop at nothing to bring the baddies to justice.

Every scene from begining to its climax at Agwacaliente has been carefully chosen.

No scene contradicts the other they all have purpose,this is brilliant directing,put alongside one of the most accomplished music scores you will arrive with possibly THE best of the trillogy.

The Good The Bad and the Ugly a brilliant movie it is goes off on too many unneccessary journeys to its finnally at Sad Hill.

For A Few Dollars has none of this which is why it remains the SPAGETTI western by which all are judged.

The only western in the Spagetti era that outperforms this masterpiece is Sergio Cobuccis classic "The Big Silence" but only just.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cowboys should be dirty, scarred and unshaven!, 7 April 2006
By 
D. A. Giambrone "Daniel Angelo" (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Dollars More (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
There are so many great aspects to this film, it is difficult to know where to begin. The direction, visuals, cast, and soundtrack all lead to the most atmospheric film that I have ever seen, along with the Godfather.
The plot is dual threaded, telling the tale of two rival bounty hunters. Both of which are tracking a group of viscious outlaws, led by the sadistic and brutal El Indio, played magnificantly by the late Gian Maria Volante. The two bounty hunters have different motives for the capture of Indio. Manco (Eastwood) is in it purely for the money, whereas Colonel Mortimer (Van Cleef) is seeking revenge for the death of his sister. The tale takes plenty of turns and you end up with a beautiful and poignant ending, one which is on a par with the great Casablanca. A special mention must go to Lee Van Cleefs performance, he was awesome and I find it hard to believe that this was his first 'proper' role.
Another special mention must go to the restoration team, they have done a wonderful job in giving this film the treatment it deserves, the picture is great.
Leone was a genius and showed the Americans how westerns should be done. My favourite film of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of my personal favourites., 13 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Dollars More (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
this is just as much a classic now as it was when i first saw it as a small boy over 20 years ago.

i would go so far as to say that "a few dollars more" is superior to "a fistful of dollars."

in this film, the plot is expanded to brilliant effect, there is more action, the setting is more widely spread than before and the music provided is the best i've ever heard in a western.

clint eastwood is his usual laid back self; lee van cleef is rather wooden as always. but the acting honours go to two people; klaus kinski as the gunslinger with the humped back is very good within the limited screen time that he has, but it is gian maria volonte as the crazed leader indio who really steals the film. a pity that there aren't more of his films available on d.v.d, as he is indeed a very good actor.

the special features included are good without being being marvellous. the best ones are the documentary about the film and the interview with clint eastwood.

there are many classic moments to be found here; the gunfight at the end, indio's escape from prison(or should that be a loony bin?), eastwood and van cleef trying to intimidate each other with their shooting skills and indio having a draw against some poor bloke who's got no chance.

sergio leone has really shown what a top director he is, judging by this film and the others that he has done.

i didn't know until recently that i had been watching a version that was slightly censored. these cuts have now been restored, as mentioned in one of the featurettes.

the budget was increased for the film, as the one for "a fistful of dollars" was considerably less. personally i don't notice any difference.

sit back and enjoy one of the best westerns ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy adition to any DVD collection., 23 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: For A Few Dollars More [DVD] (DVD)
Leone's second installment of the Dollars series has been lovingly restored here to DVD. A theatrical trailer, an excellent scene access menu, and even a scampering lizard on the menu screen are all provided here on Leone's second Dollars installment. Eastwood and Van Cleef provide a fantastic screen appearance that is full of chemistry and dark humour, and the classic script and storyline all add up to a western of historical proportions. Our two anti-heroes reluctantly team together in order to gain the bounty on a gang of bandits who are plotting to rob the bank of El Passo. The Plot thickens with the flash backs to the past of Van Cleef and his nemesis 'Angelico', who is the self destructive and evil gang leader. Eastwood is true to form, putting in one of his best western performances next to 'Unforgiven' and 'Fistfull of Dollars'. This time going by the name of 'Manco', Eastwood chews on his cheroot and guns down anyone who stands in his way. Eastwood's fast draw and Van Cleefs collection of some of the best small arms next to his 'Sabbatta' films, adds to the detail and excitement of this excellent western. Some of the best gunfights in movie history are present in this film, with Van Cleef and Angelico using the slowly faltering tunes of their pocket watch to signal the time to draw. "When the music stops..." This film would make a superb addition to any DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE MAN WITH NO NAME RETURNS..., 25 Jun 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: For A Few Dollars More (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
This is the second outing for the Man with No Man, and sterling performances are turned in by both Clint Eastwood and Lee Van Cleef.

Van Cleef plays Colnel Mortimer, a man with a troubled past and obvious motives for revenge, which are told through flashbacks.

Equally troubled and disturbed, is the vicious bandit Indio who somehow is involved with Mortimer's past.

It's a tale of retribution, revenge and of two men working together to achieve a common goal. While Clint is merely in it for the money, Mortimer has other reasons.

Gian Maria Volante also puts in a brilliant performance as the obviously unhinged Indio, and there are decent action scenes, most noteworthy Idio's escape from Prison, though he would obviously be better off in the nut house!

Lee Van Cleef also teaches Clint the finer points of rifle shooting, and the two test each other with their guns is a memorable scene as well.

Not forgetting of course, Ennino Morricone's brilliant score, which all adds to the tension and atmosphere of what easily betters its prequal, Fistful of Dollars.

Definitely worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and compelling, 15 Nov 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Dollars More (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
The 2nd film in the Dollars trilogy is a better film than the first. With the addition of Lee Van Cleef as Col Douglas Mortimer the film moves up another notch. Mortimer is another bounty hunter who is trying to capture the leader of a group bandits Indio (Gian Maria Volonte). Initially this sets up a marvellous confrontation between Eastwood's Monco and Mortimer during which Monco gets to display his skills with a Pistol and then Mortimer with a Rifle. Sergio Leone directs this scene (and the rest of the film) brilliantly, making the characters behaviour seem almost child-like.

This film also benefits from having a Klaus Kinski as 'Wild', who is a member of Indio's gang. The best scene in the film occurs when Col Mortimer strikes a match on Wild's stubble. Klaus Kinski's look of utter disbelief, not to mention irritation, has to be seen to be believed.

From beginning to end this movie is a masterpiece. However in case that isn't enough this new special edition DVD contains a commentary by Sir Christopher Fraying. He is THE expert on Sergio Leone and to a lesser extent Clint Eastwood. His commentary contains a mine of wonderful stories about the film, the director and the actors involved. If you find this commentry interesting then get his brilliant biography of Sergio Leone "Something to do with Death".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUBLIME, 17 Aug 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: For A Few Dollars More (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
The second movie of sergio leones spagetti western triology is again a masterclass in film making,style,action,great soundtrack and some really cool moments all the while maintaining the dirty savage western feel.

The films plot involves two bounty hunters,played by clint eastwood and lee van cleef who are hardly friends but have a united goal of collecting the scalps of manic outlaw el indio and his gang of manic men,but it wont be as easy as just putting a gun to their head as the gang is extremely dangerous and the two bounty hunters must find a way to get to the outlaws.

The film oozes class and contains many close up shots which were a trademark of leones movies which captured the tension and added to to the films authencity brilliantly.

This is nothing shy of a masterpiece and a dvd that was born to sit in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For A Few Dollars More  (Special Edition) [DVD]
7.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews