Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indescribable Beauty!
I first came across Morten Lauridsen years ago by downloading a copy of O Magnum Mysterium by mistake. It took a while for me to find out who it was by, but once I did I bought a cd of his music by an American Chorus. The music, whilst nice, didn't really inspire me much because the performance was lifeless and suffered as a result of the size of the choir.
I...
Published on 21 Feb 2006 by C. Arthur

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enigma
I was fascinated by the extremes of opinion about this CD, and I can see why. The quality of the singing is superb, and if any one of the works were heard as a one-off it would undoubtedly impress. However it is almost too perfect, too formulaic and lacking in individuality. The acoustics are coloured by the church settings, with the monastic "feel" that they impart...
Published on 24 Nov 2009 by Mr. N. G. Timmins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lauridsen - Lux aeterna (Audio CD)
The most beautiful music beautifully sung, it has a transcendent quality. Morten Lauridson's music is something very special, it takes you to another plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern, but not cacophonous!!, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. J. F. Dewey (KENT, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lauridsen - Lux aeterna (Audio CD)
Traditional texts set in a modern way, with some discords, although not overdone. Deserves to be performed more often and suitable for amateur choirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Religious Work, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lauridsen - Lux aeterna (Audio CD)
An unusually melodic modern piece of religious music and very interesting very well performed . A good Christmas present fo next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lauridsen-Lux Aeterna, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lauridsen - Lux aeterna (Audio CD)
The most beautiful, haunting music I have ever heard. I've listened to virtually nothing else since last April and it's now January !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breathtakingly beautiful, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lauridsen - Lux aeterna (Audio CD)
I fall asleep to this fantastic music every night, It's absolutely enchanting. I never tire of it and I never have a sleepless night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lauridsen Lux aeternal, 23 Mar 2014
By 
P (Guildford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lauridsen - Lux aeterna (Audio CD)
The recording justified the good reviews. The cd arrived promptly and well packed. It is well worth a place in my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for selfish chilling!, 22 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Angela Hatt (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lauridsen - Lux aeterna (Audio CD)
As good as I thought it was going to be. I am a newcomer to auridsen's work but it is so beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lauridsen - Lux aeterna
Lauridsen - Lux aeterna by Polyphony (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews