Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What are these other reviewers givin' it?
Right, this game is excellent, true that the analogue stick is a bit twitchy, but that can be said for most racing games. It will take time for the games to use the analogue stick to it's full potential, you can't expect a game so close to release to use the control's perfect (remember the release games for PS2? They left a lot to be desired).
Now the graphics, the...
Published on 23 Oct 2005 by alyz

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near as good as you'd expect
I bought Colin McRae for the (excellent) PSP, expecting it to be as good as the PS2 version, which I really enjoy. I was sadly disappointed.
When you first start it, it seems as though it will be like the PS2 version, as the menus etc. are virtually the same. Then you get to the game itself......
Trying it in career mode, the first races you have are extremely...
Published on 4 Oct 2005 by lewisjadam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What are these other reviewers givin' it?, 23 Oct 2005
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP) (Video Game)
Right, this game is excellent, true that the analogue stick is a bit twitchy, but that can be said for most racing games. It will take time for the games to use the analogue stick to it's full potential, you can't expect a game so close to release to use the control's perfect (remember the release games for PS2? They left a lot to be desired).
Now the graphics, the graphics are near the best on the psp available at the moment (they are better than wipeout, ridge racers, and fired up), these other reviewers were obviously playing a different game (or more likely had their backlight turned off :/).
Next point, someone here complained that it was too difficult, that's because it is a PROPER racing game, if you crash, you've probably lost the stage (much like real rallying). It is very challenging, but since when is this a negative point? I love having to complete stages near to perfection just to come 1st by 3 or 4 seconds.
These other reviewers would probably be better playing Ridge or Wipeout, they don't punish you when you crash...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After a challenging rally game? Get this!, 7 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP) (Video Game)
CMR 2005+ is one of the best rally games I've played and I strongly recommend anyone who has a PSP to get it.
There are many gameplay modes to choose from - Challenges, Championship and Career - which is the meat of the game.
This is exactly like any of the other Colin McRae games and will of course be challenging but rewarding.
I never had any problems with the steering, but for some people, it's a matter of practice. As for the graphics, they are top notch and the gameplay is smooth and realistic. But stick with this game, and you will feel a great sense of achievement when you start winning races and unlocking the 30+ cars.
If you only had to get one racing game, this is it and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stick with it!, 28 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP) (Video Game)
I took the game, all excited and played career mode, but at first I found it really hard. But thats the same with every other game, you just have to get used to the controls and how the cars react to the input from the controller.
The graphics are excellent and the content of the game is interesting and challenging. You will not get bored. One day I played it for 6 hours, I had to charge my PSP twice. Its hard to begin with, but give it a chance.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mud, Rock And Fun, 28 Dec 2005
By 
adzman (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP) (Video Game)
This game was my first game on the PSP and it was a great introduction to the world of the PSP. The graphics are stunning and the realism of the drive is fantastic. Only thing wrong though is the scenery and people. They look great and fit in from a distance but as you approach them at 90mph you notice that the people look like faded cardboard cutouts and the scenery such as the trees are as thin as paper. It's a shame that they spend so much time advancing the graphics and realism of the cars, road, technical details etc but haven't made the things around the car of good quality and realism. For this simple mistake the game recieves 4 stars. But, don't let that put you off the game, it's amazing, a truly brilliant title to the PSP !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Important PLEASE read, 22 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP) (Video Game)
Firstly this game is great. Like the other reviewers, I too love Colin on the PS2, XBOX, PC etc.
Also like the other reviewers I thought this game was VERY hard to begin with. After a couple of hours though, I got to grips with it and started to get somewhere.
As one of the earlier PSP games there are going to be some minor niggles (hence 4 stars and not 5). The analogue handling is a little sensitive. The frame rate is not as good as Wipout or SSX - but it's not that bad either!!! As for the graphics (blocky?) - they are fantastic. The scenery is dense and well modelled and the cars are very very good.
The game is hard but it's meant to be. If you want an arcade racer go for Ridge Racers. This is a rally SIMULATOR - as are all the Colin Mcrae games on the bigger consoles. If you can't play them - you're either not suited to these games or you're just rubbish at games in general.
There are loads of options and a lot of depth to this game. The career mode will take a while and there are loads (30+) of cars to unlock.
This game bodes well for future PSP games. If you've got the time (and the ability?) to invest in this game you will be well rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old but good, 27 May 2010
By 
Dennis Confue (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP) (Video Game)
This game may be getting on now but this is the best rally game for psp and is still better than most new games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very realistic, maybe a little too much, 13 Sep 2005
By 
T. Bond - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP) (Video Game)
Having played CMR on the PC I was very impressed with how realistic it is. The PSP version also offers realistic handling but this might present a problem. It is difficult to get used to and the ability to just sit down and have a race/good drive around is just not there. I was frustrated at how difficult it is to just stay on the course. I guess I has hoped for a little more of the "Arcade" style rallying.
Personally I prefer Ridge Racer since you can just have a drive around and have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near as good as you'd expect, 4 Oct 2005
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP) (Video Game)
I bought Colin McRae for the (excellent) PSP, expecting it to be as good as the PS2 version, which I really enjoy. I was sadly disappointed.
When you first start it, it seems as though it will be like the PS2 version, as the menus etc. are virtually the same. Then you get to the game itself......
Trying it in career mode, the first races you have are extremely difficult. A couple of friends and myself have tried to get through it but can't get near the times of the leaders due to the fact that it appears as though, when you try and power round corners, it will allow you to EITHER power OR steer, but NOT both. I also found that the sttering was too sharp using the joystick, but not sharp enough using directional keys. all this combined meant that it doesn't allow you the controlled drifts round corners that you need.
The graphics aren't really to the standard of other games released either; they seem a little blocky and it definitely doesn't have the smoothest refresh.
I must admit that, after a fair few attempts at it, I'm also considering trading it in for another PSP game. A shame, as it could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Colin mcRea rally, 4 Jan 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP) (Video Game)
Wow what a game in every mod this game plays so well, each car is so different to control the car can be set up plus as you get better other cars are available, this game is a must if you like driving games brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP) (Video Game)
Arrived in very good condition and according to the estimation date given.
The game is not very easy for my 8 years old son but he liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP)
Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PSP) by Codemasters (Sony PSP)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews