Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Good.. No.... This is amazing.....
Back in 2002 I, on the cusp of a 2 week holiday in Cornwall, I was introduced to Brian Eno. A fan of ambient music up until this point, Eno was simply in a league of his own, as I soon discovered.
I played this album whilst walking around the coast and along the beach, and the sound was powerful. Not because of Eno's use of the instruments and production, but the...
Published on 15 Mar. 2005 by J. Bushell

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The one that missed the mark
I have always been interested in Brian Eno's work but, until recently, was never brave enough to buy anything. I bought this, Apoloo and Ambient 4: On Land. Whilst the other two are rather good, I full this to be extremely dull. It felt like something he had to give the record company, in order to fulfil an obligation. The pieces of music just didn't do anything for me...
Published on 10 Aug. 2011 by Cloudberry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Good.. No.... This is amazing....., 15 Mar. 2005
By 
J. Bushell "ambient_junky" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music For Films (Audio CD)
Back in 2002 I, on the cusp of a 2 week holiday in Cornwall, I was introduced to Brian Eno. A fan of ambient music up until this point, Eno was simply in a league of his own, as I soon discovered.
I played this album whilst walking around the coast and along the beach, and the sound was powerful. Not because of Eno's use of the instruments and production, but the space he leaves for you to fill in. And its that, that makes Eno the true Ambient master, and a genre which he has pretty much defined.
I could write pages on this album, and his other ambient work, but its an album for you to take, and make your own.
Simply: Its Beautiful, Its Therapeutic, And you can own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gentle music for gentle people, 11 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Music for Films (Audio CD)
If you have heard of 'ambient' music and are wondering about buying an album, look no further. relaxing, easily listenable and along with Music For Films II a great collection of pieces. Amateur or professional film directors look no further for some decent background music. To paraphrase a well known advert, 'it does what it says on the cover'. Turn on, tune in, drop out (for forty odd minutes anyway!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For The Film of Your Life, 29 Jun. 2007
By 
This review is from: Music For Films (Audio CD)
I was pretentious enough as a teenager to make this the soundtrack to my alienation. I listened to it on headphones on lunchbreaks.

Years later, it stands up as an album of incredible breadth and emotion, from the heartbreaking descents of Sparrowfall to the paranoid isolation of M386 and A Measured Room.

There is nothing on Music For Films that isn't fully formed and worthy of inclusion. Among Eno's masterpieces, this is perhaps the most neglected and best realised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very ambient laid back mood/soundscape music, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For Films (Audio CD)
I think when Eno made the bits n pieces for this album, he was thinking more of those empty parts of certain artistic films that show short shots of landscapes and settings - establishment shots that just put you in the picture - these are normally fleeting and without any kind of musical accompaniment, and he took up the notion of making "sounds" that might accompany such trifling necessities. Cedrtainly not music for the kind of films featuring explosions, alien invasions, incomprehensible body counts or automobile chases. Nice stuff if you just want to chill for a bit, and the beauty of the shortness of the tracks is that if there's a dull one you don't like, it's over in a flash. But these are all very similar, composed along the lines of almost all of his ambient work - you know, the stuff he thinks he invented, but really just continued what others had done before him since time began, really only giving it a name - Ambient, New Age - so as to draw attention to his own partricular skill set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interlude rather thanambience, 28 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Music For Films (Audio CD)
More interlude than full ambiance, The pieces are shorter and more instrument based but still with the hypnotic feel of the ambient series. Shorter more sketch like, some tracks you want to be longer but that's because they are great, interesting short ideas. A compilation more than an album. Good stuff. Track one is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Acoustic short stories, 26 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For Films (Audio CD)
I wouldn't recommend this as an introduction to Brian Eno's work. This is his sixth album I've purchased, which on reflection is probably about the right stage.

Music for films has the same feel as a book of short stories, with some more experimental than others. There's no particular flow to the album, you could shuffle most of it without changing your experience. Some of the tracks are very strong and have been a great addition to my own collection, I particularly appreciated Aragon and Final Sunset. Others felt a bit less relevant in parts, although I still enjoyed the chance to hear different ideas being tried out in such a public way. Or was the idea to play a trick on your mind, each track reminding you of a film you've never seen? That's what I like most of Brian Eno's work - you interpret it in your own way - and that way can change over time with you.

I'm glad I bought the album, just don't make it your first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's too easy to compute your future, 1 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Music For Films (Audio CD)
Ah, music for films. There was a time in the eighties when the music press - in the absence of anything intelligent to say about a piece of instrumental music - used to go "it's like a soundtrack for a film of the imagination". Eno perhaps unsurprisingly, beat them to it by over a decade, Music For Films having been originally released in the mid 70s.

But if you play this alongside tracks like (for instance) Die Nacht Der Himmel by Popol Vuh, it's easy to see which one is really a section of film score and which isn't. Or Gabriel Yared's faintly hilarious Humecter la Monture. That's not a criticism of Eno's tracks here as pieces of music, more a criticism of the idea that film has anything to do with it.

This 2009 reissue is a bit perfunctory, but it does the job, and has a great picture of a youngish Eno on the back cover looking like Martin Amis circa 1975 impersonating a Swiss philosopher.

Trackwise there are one or two real greats here:

From the same Hill - strong spaghetti western guitar over atmospherics that get more magical the further they recede from the ear. Imagine a cross between Another Green World and Durutti Column's For A Western.

Final Sunset - almost up there with Eno's ambient gear. Proper puts you in mid of the last two pages of Camus' L'Etranger. It doesn't get sunnier than that.

All in all, a good reissue.

Title of review from a song by Phil Collins, who played drums on Music For Films tracks 1,13,16... and starred in a few films himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting melodies create a soothing ambience., 12 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Music for Films (Audio CD)
These 18 brief tracks seem to merge seamlessly with one another, gradually creating an atmosphere that is at once melancholy and soothing. Each track develops a simple theme, creating layers of haunting ambience. This music has a mysterious quality, and impresses itself gently on the listener.Perhaps seeming a little vague on first hearing, this plangent music gradually takes a hold on one's imagination, which can then enjoy visualising fictitious scenes from 'films' for which Eno may have been writing. This is music which gently persuades, rather than rudely insists, that one listens. It seeps into the consciousness, rather like the scent of woodsmoke on a woodland walk in winter.Its seductive melodies and plaintive tones make this the ideal music for relaxing and allowing the cares of the day to drop away. On a separate note, and for any other Primary school teachers out there, this music makes great inspiration for Dance and Drama!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genuine Ambient Masterpiece, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For Films (Audio CD)
This is one of Eno's most evocative Ambient albums, I think music for Airports is my favourite, but this one probably runs it a close second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinema Verite indeed, 16 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. R. Liddle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For Films (Audio CD)
This CD re-release has slightly different otrack order to the original vinyl--but this has no effect on the whole. Eno does what the title says--these are atmospheric snippets that conjure up the scenes just as they are titled--every bit as effective as the long pieces. Taking one example: Events in Dense Fog is a 3.43 hop into a mystery. Some of the tracks have a sinister film noir feel; others have a sort of floating feel. This is the best of Eno's film series and as good and essential as the classic Eno era 1975 to 1983.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music For Films
Music For Films by Brian Eno (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews