Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply enchanting! A gem of an album!
Celtic music has roots deep in the oral and musical traditions of the British Isles, Ireland most significantly. For centuries, it has thrived at gatherings, celebrations, and in pubs, preserving local legend and history through lyrical story-telling. This music has strong traditions in short, lyrical songs, accompanied by fiddle, tin whistle, guitar, Ulieann pipes, and...
Published on 2 Oct 2005 by Jana L. Perskie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 2004 not 2007
The release date is mentioned as Feb 2007, leading me to believe that I am ordering the Slane Castle DVD, which was the original intent of my purchase. To my disappointment, it is their first album from 2004. Very good and worth the money, but I was after the performance of Hayley Westenra in the first place
One can argue that the DVD cover pointed in the right...
Published 22 months ago by Florin Radu


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply enchanting! A gem of an album!, 2 Oct 2005
This review is from: Celtic Woman (Audio CD)
Celtic music has roots deep in the oral and musical traditions of the British Isles, Ireland most significantly. For centuries, it has thrived at gatherings, celebrations, and in pubs, preserving local legend and history through lyrical story-telling. This music has strong traditions in short, lyrical songs, accompanied by fiddle, tin whistle, guitar, Ulieann pipes, and the Celtic drum, the bodhran.
Vocalists ChloŽ Agnew, Lisa Kelly, Méav Ni Mhatolchatha, and Órla Fallon, (vocals, harp), along with violinist Máiréad Nesbitt, are the Celtic women of this extraordinary album's title. Each of them have recorded individually. They give enchanting, romantic, old Irish ballads and airs a mystical New Age spin, with influences from the classical, and come up with a unique sound, performing solo and together in ensemble pieces. "Celtic Woman" clearly portrays the individual delivery and style of each performer. Their pure, clear voices also meld hauntingly, evoking another time and place, now gone forever except in their songs.
I love the entire CD, great music selections - but some of my favorite cuts are the classic "Danny Boy," "Harry's Game," (Orla sings this - extraordinary), made famous by the Clannad, and "Last Rose of Summer/Walking in the Air," performed by Chloe, which is simply ethereal - gorgeous. If you don't get up to dance with "Si Do Mhaimeo," (The Wealthy Widow) a spirited, playful tune, then you surely will when the fiddler plays "The Butterfly." You'll want your feet to fly.
Accompanying the Celtic Women are musicians Desi Moore (guitar), Martin Johnston (cello), David Downes (whistle, harpsichord, keyboards), John O`Brien (Uilleann pipe), Eoghan O`Neill (bass guitar), Robbie Casserly (percussion).
"Celtic Woman" was created by Sharon Browne, Dave Kavanaugh (founders of Ireland's successful Celtic Collections label), and music producer/composer/conductor David Downes. The successful launching of the group is the realization of their collective dream. Downes, who was heavily involved with the American production of "Riverdance, wanted to bring these five extremely talented women to the public's notice. This hour long compilation of modern and classic Irish songs is the group's first album and one that showcases the glorious Irish musical heritage. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of great music and excellent singing!, 27 Sep 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Celtic Woman (Audio CD)
What Lord of the Dance was to Irish dancing, Celtic Woman is to Irish singing! A wonderful show to see live, this CD brings the rich and vibrant music into your car, and will keep you enthralled. The show brings together the talent of five very talented Irish women - four vocalists and one violinist. The music ranges from what I would call traditional, such as Danny Boy and Ave Maria, through ethnic Irish songs, and on to modern pop music. For me, the best track is Isle of Inisfree, sung hauntingly by Órla Fallon - it carries with it the longing for home that has always been a theme of the Irish American, and is enough to bring tears to your eyes!
Yes, this is a great album, with lots of great music and excellent singing. My hat's off to the many talented people who made this show and this album possible. If you are a fan of Irish music, or just a fan of good music, then you will love this album. I give it my highest recommendations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic Woman, 1 Sep 2009
By 
VMC "VMC" (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Celtic Woman (MP3 Download)
This is an absolutely brilliant album! Anyone with the slightest interest in Irish music will love it. The compilation is a good balance, the music is wonderful, very atmospheric, and the artists are fantastic! I love it, and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful clear singing, 31 Mar 2009
By 
John Hourigan (Safety Beach, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celtic Women [DVD] (DVD Audio)
This is the first of the Celtic Woman DVDs and I am absolutely delighted that I purchased it. Firstly, I didn't want to be branded an idiot but more importantly, the four singers who are classically trained sang with great clarity. Maire Nesbitt on the fiddle was a pleasure to watch because she just enjoyed performing to the audience. My favourite artist is Lisa Kelly - she is the one who attracted me to Celtic Woman with her clear and pure voice. I have two other of their DVDs - Slane Castle and the Christmas one. I am continually checking Amazon for the availability of their next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Someday, 10 April 2005
By 
Erica Anderson (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celtic Woman (Audio CD)
Celtic Woman is a group of five Irish women who each is a well known solo artist in their native homeland of Ireland. Mairead, Lisa, Meav, Chloe, and Orla were brought together by composer/producer David Downes. Mairead is the only woman who does not sing and instead plays an instrument (the fiddle) but her contributions to the music is equally as wonderful as the singers.
I first discovered Celtic Woman via a televised performance on my local public broadcasting station. I was quite taken by their beautiful voices and enchanting melodies. The music was a mix of celtic and classical. Imagine Sarah Brightman singing celtic music or Enya going more into classical/pop instead of new age. What really stood out with me about this group of Irish lasses were the clarity of their voices. Their singing was not bogged down by vocal gymnastics (ala Celine Dion and Mariah Carey). They did not try to over enunciate each note to a point where your ears feels like bleeding. You can actually understand what the women are singing. There were times when I felt like I was listening to Enya namely when they were singing her songs "Orinoco Flow" and "May It Be" (which isn't a bad thing by all means). Lisa and Meav clearly have the standout voices in the group but that does not mean that Chloe and Orla are not as talented. On the contrary they do a marvelous job on songs such as "Someday" (from Disney's "The Hunchback of Notre Dame") and "Harry's Game". While I enjoyed Josh Groban's version of "You Raise Me Up", I found Celtic Woman's interpretation much more moving. It is not loud and bombastic as Josh Groban's version is.
Celtic Woman is easily one of my favorite releases from 2005 so far. I look forward to hearing more from them in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic Woman Pure Magic, 29 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic Woman (Audio CD)
The music is so beautiful! If you have a special interest in Irish music then you'll love this CD!
It's sung by women with the most beautiful voices and it's deffinetly a must have CD if you like calm and serene music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Celtic Woman, 27 Aug 2010
By 
Anthony J Berry (Hastings, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic Woman (Audio CD)
If you know the previous album then you'll enjoy this. If you like Celtic music then this has to be on your list. Lovely and money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 117 Minutes Of Heaven, 16 Feb 2010
117 minutes of heaven, 23 songs to satisfy most clasical taste buds plus live interviews. I listened to these ladies on YouTube and took the chance that my DVD would play region 1 when I ordered. Now knowing how good this DVD is I would have happily bought a new muli-region DVD player. It is worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic Woman (Audio CD)
cant wait for the concert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic Woman, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic Woman (Audio CD)
I think the group is fantastic and have purchased a number of their CD's and this is another great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celtic Woman
Celtic Woman by Celtic Woman (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews