Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This really is a good book, easy to understand with excellent diagrams. The tricks inside really do work and really do impress, some of them are very easy to master and others are not, meaning that you can enjoy the book for quite a while as you gradually improve your skills. It is not however the final word in coin magic I have found that some of the sleights mention...
Published on 29 Aug 2001

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An encyclopedia of coin tricks!
There are many, many coin tricks in this book and if you
learnt them all you'd never be short of material. The only
criticism of this book that I have is that there is no indication
given of HOW to practice the tricks in order to improve ...
Published on 13 Mar 2008 by gjb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This really is a good book, easy to understand with excellent diagrams. The tricks inside really do work and really do impress, some of them are very easy to master and others are not, meaning that you can enjoy the book for quite a while as you gradually improve your skills. It is not however the final word in coin magic I have found that some of the sleights mention can be better executed in other ways, but this is just down to personal preference and others may disagree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners and professionals alike, 11 Jan 2000
By 
M. Hatter "Mark Hatter" (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are new to magic this a great way to start. With great illustrations and descriptions, this makes learning sleights and other techniques easy. For advanced magicians, this book is an essential reference guide. Good work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must Buy, for serious magicians., 17 Dec 2002
By 
Dave (Morecambe, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Beware; serious coin manipulation with real coins requires practice and skill. This book covers just about every move and trick you can perform with coins including the use of trick coins and full performance routines. "Some" tricks can be done immediately. I have amazed many people with the coin through a hanky routine. A stunning trick that can be learnt in minutes. The book is worth the cost for this one trick alone. The book is a small paperback, with hand drawn illustrations. No big glossy pictures - just facts. Absolutely loads of stuff and a lifetime of reading (and practicing). Recommended to me by a magician, who astounded me into rushing out and buying it. You'll never learn everything in it, but from a clumsy novice - to a dextrous expert, everyone will learn from this valuable resource. - The bible. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended for complete beginners, 2 April 2003
By A Customer
Unlike some of the reviewers here, I question this being a good book for novices. Many of the sleights are quite complex, and someone starting out in magic, or younger magicians, might become dispirited and frustrated with the difficulty of some of the moves. This is a book for adults who can already demonstrate a little skill in doing a few basic tricks, and are willing to offer the time and committment necessary to take their interest to the level that this book is aimed at. For them, this will prove an excellent and invaluable guide, with clear instructions and diagrams. The book only occasionally feels slightly dated when some of the coin vanishes, for instance, assume that all men are still wearing suits with breast pockets and trouser leg cuffs etc - so jeans and a T-shirt may not be much use to you! So if you're already very keen and have a little experience of magic - certainly buy it. If you're simply curious, and are entirely new to coin tricks, start with something simpler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An encyclopedia of coin tricks!, 13 Mar 2008
By 
There are many, many coin tricks in this book and if you
learnt them all you'd never be short of material. The only
criticism of this book that I have is that there is no indication
given of HOW to practice the tricks in order to improve ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bible for all Coin Magicians, 11 Aug 1999
By A Customer
For any standard of Coin Magic; be it beginner or professional, Bobo's book is one of the all time classic bibles on the subject of Coin Magic. Well illustrated and written, it documents hundreds of tricks and adds important notes after years of observation in his field. Well recognised in the field as one of the classics, it will be money well spent by anyone wishing to learn and add to their coin magic. The copy I bought a while ago has survived years of thumbing, and still gets opened regularly as a vital reference. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS BOOK NOW OR YOU WILL NOT BE GOOD WITH COINS!!!!!, 28 Nov 1999
By A Customer
everything you ever wanted to know about coins in the world, your library is not complete without this book. I WOULD GIVE IT SIX CROWNS IF THAT WERE POSSIBLE. I especially enjoyed the sleeving section. COIN MAGIC USING NORMAL COINS, GIMMICKED COINS AND COIN RELATED PROPS ie the okito box....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another must-have, 25 Jun 2009
By 
Peter "I'm here because I need something to d... (Hassocks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are only a few books considered 'must-haves' in magic. And just as Hugard & Braue's Royal Road to card Magic is seen as indespensible for those with a growing passion for the pasteboards, so Bobo's opus is the singular indespensible tome for those looking for instruction in coin magic.

The book may be old, but the techniques inside are timeless, and studying it thoroughly will give you the ability to hit the ground running with almost any of the newer, more advanced techniques that you encounter on your travels.

This is gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Book Available on Coin Magic, 1 Dec 1998
By A Customer
The legendary J.B. Bobo's book is considered to be the"bible" of coin magic. This book is an absolute requirement for any magic library. Included are many sleight of hand techniques with coins as well as instructions on the proper handling of coin effect equipment like the Okito box. If you are just learning coin tricks, this is the book to have. And if you are a seasoned magician, there is no better reference for "brushing up".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty damn good, 30 Aug 2009
By 
I've not had a chance to fully read this book yet, but i have flicked through and taken some time over the earlier stuff, i won't just repeat what the others say about its prestige, but I will state that i sometimes get a bit confused over what something is exactly meant to look like, so maybe a dvd might be a wise decision, or I may just try and find a video online for the bits i get stuck on, other than that....a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modern Coin Magic.
Modern Coin Magic. by BOBO. J.B. (Hardcover - 1966)
Used & New from: £39.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews