Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it before it's banned
This is a truly excellent game, I have been wound up too many times recently by games that try to be something that they simply aren't, designers that are full of themselves and try to make their game a piece of art, or include X number of new features. The Punisher is a comic book inspired combat game, and it works, end of statement.
The game its self is Max Payne...
Published on 27 May 2005 by Redfield

versus
0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the punsher
i thought that this game could have been better and that the game play was very pure yhe story line is a bit played out and it reminded me of the game max pain 1 and 2
Published on 11 April 2005 by cathal


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it before it's banned, 27 May 2005
This review is from: The Punisher (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is a truly excellent game, I have been wound up too many times recently by games that try to be something that they simply aren't, designers that are full of themselves and try to make their game a piece of art, or include X number of new features. The Punisher is a comic book inspired combat game, and it works, end of statement.
The game its self is Max Payne style in game play, but a lot more smooth and refined, the shooting is complimented by a vast array of close combat moves, where if you get close enough to the enemy you can tap a button and have the Punisher end their life, with plenty of gore. You can also grab hold of anyone, anytime (apart from bosses) and use them as a human shield or throw them in any direction, if you feel like it you can interrogate people as well, which often reveals information to make the level you're on easier, or triggers flashbacks into the Punisher's past as the person screams out something that digs up some memories, such as "I'm just a soldier!". These flashbacks don't break the action (nothing really ever does), they simply flash up on screen as the interrogation's victim's voice echoes out, then you can view them later from the menus. The Punisher also has a "limit break" style system, where when you build up enough of a meter the punisher goes berserk, pulls out two large knives, moves at incredible speed and becomes impervious to damage.
The game also has a small RPG element, you can enter a level with any of the guns you posses (you can carry one rifle and two pistols at a time) which introduces some variation. The main RPG element however is that you can upgrade the Punisher's skills and equipment with points you earn on levels, making him a sharper shooter, piling on more body armour or attaching silencers and scopes to weapons. The fully upgraded punisher is a beautiful thing.
Finally the game is a must buy for fans of Marvel comic books, many Marvel characters make appearances (either in super-form, or in their secret identities) and even more are mentioned by the NPCs, from the Fantastic Four to Ironman.
A combat game true and pure, and one with plenty of depth, life and comic book class, well done THQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works on 360, 18 Oct 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Punisher (Xbox) (Video Game)
bought this when it came out as I love the punisher, still play it often, and am going to have to get it for PC so I can play it on my new laptop its everything I enjoy for a shooter, Arcade style scoring, little unlocks and upgrades for weapons and its the punisher! works on 360 btw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It'll grow on you, 30 April 2005
By 
Simon Daultrey "g3fan" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Punisher (Xbox) (Video Game)
After my first hour-or-two of playing The Punisher I wasn't very impressed. It seemed kind of cheap and gimmicky. There definitely is a noticeable feeling of Max Payne about it, but without the quirky, classy originality. And whereas Max Payne's gimmick was never-before-seen bullet-time, in The Punisher it is interrogation.
Basically, Marvel Comic's character, The Punisher, is a renegade cop (Frank Castle), out to seek justice against crime after the murder of his family. Okay so that storyline has been done to death.
In his search for inner-peace and harmony (yeah right) you take the punisher through various levels of a solidly-structured game, interrogating bad guys on your way. For each succesful interrogation, as well as kils, you are awarded points. To make the interrogation process harder, you have to use the controls to ballance the level of stress you are putting on your suspect, otherwise you'll kill them before they spill.
And with the points that you collect at the end of each level, you are not only awarded medals, but you also use them to unlock "upgrades", be it a silencer, a scope, a hi-capacity magazine.....whatever takes your fancy.
Despite my initial negative comments, don't be put off. The medals and awards system makes up for the naff narrative and predictable story, and after you complete the game, you will find yourself going back to your favourite levels to try and get more points, and turn your bronze medal into a gold.
The soundtrack isn't too bad, the weapon sounds are good and the use of 3-D audio is much better than some games. Visually, in-game it is well below the high standard of it's market-leading competitors (Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory, Ghost Recon 2) but the use of 3D detail is respectable. The interface is excellent - instantly understandable - and nicely designed, and overall, the game is actually well put-together.
Controls are logical, consistent and accurate - you very quickly get used to accurately aiming your weapon-sight for a headshot!
Overall, The Punisher does a good job of filing in the space for a relatively easy, mindless-fun type arcade shooter, but also has a point to it, and the awards system will draw you back to re-play levels a number of times.
I usually can't get on with comic-book stuff, like Spiderman etc. but I rate The Punisher, and give him a decent 4 stars.
Just a tip: The more people you can interrogate/kill in a row without getting at all injured, the more points you will score!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!!!!!!!!, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Punisher (Xbox) (Video Game)
Great game, great punishment, great guns, great gameplay, great skills great everything! I especially love the violence when you can do special kills and special interrogations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Game = Blood & Gore = AWESOME!, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Punisher (Xbox) (Video Game)
When I bought this game I did'nt expect much but it was so bloody & violent & gory it made up for the late of good quality graphics nowadays & if you like the character this is a much buy. Has to be one of my fav games ever...especially torturing scenes & killing mercilessness...how The punisher should be. Cameos from Iron Man also :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Punisher (Xbox) (Video Game)
If you like murder and a nice story about the punisher you`re in for a treat graphic arn`t great but thats old gen for ya
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Punisher (Xbox) (Video Game)
Brilliant.
Nothing was damaged,
Got to me quick.
Really happy with everything.
No complaints or problems.
Thanks very much.
One happy customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars seconhand, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Punisher (Xbox) (Video Game)
the dvd is of good standard for a second hand one and i am so glad that i did not purchess the dvd new as it was good but not as good as it states
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The torture would have been better un sensored for gore fans!!, 18 May 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Punisher (Xbox) (Video Game)
I find this game very unique but a little redeem of max payne was thrown in though this game is quite a bit more fun than max payne.

Shame the gore were blurred out though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the punisher, 16 April 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Punisher (Xbox) (Video Game)
The punisher is a brilliant game and it is hard to pick holes in it, the gameplay is solid, the graphics are good for a xbox game, and the game is riddled with gore(the best bit :D).
The best part of the game has to be the executions which are executed very well and some are inginuative, be it the electric eels or the Rhino, the only problem with these is the black and white sensoring colour of the screen which allowed it to be release but if your a gore fan like me then a little disapointing.
The bad part about this game is that it's repetative gamplay go here shoot a tons of bad guys on the way, it mixes up the objectives but thats as much as it changes gameplay wise.
Overall it is a great game, with a variety of executioins and gore (if it's your thing) and you enjoyed the movie which it doesn't realy follow storywise. But if you prefre a game with more perpose and a deeper story then I would give this a miss or a rent maybe but other wise 8/10 from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Punisher (Xbox)
The Punisher (Xbox) by THQ (Xbox)
14.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews