Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very BestOf East 17 (CD)
I have been wanting a CD of this band's music for some time now.
It has more than lived up to my expectations.
East 17 are without doubt the best 'boy-band' of this type to have come out of Britain. It is a shame that they did not go on to produce more music together.
It is apparent that the publicity machine that 'grinds' all such great artists into pulp...
Published on 4 Jun. 2009 by Helen Shields

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable
East 17 were one of those bands that came and went, but left a trail of many underrated songs. This album is a reminder that they really did make some great music.
Published on 9 Jan. 2010 by Adil J. Hussain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very BestOf East 17 (CD), 4 Jun. 2009
This review is from: The Very Best Of East Seventeen (Audio CD)
I have been wanting a CD of this band's music for some time now.
It has more than lived up to my expectations.
East 17 are without doubt the best 'boy-band' of this type to have come out of Britain. It is a shame that they did not go on to produce more music together.
It is apparent that the publicity machine that 'grinds' all such great artists into pulp for the feeding frenzy regularly induced by the press/media, IS RUN BY THE GREATEST PACK OF HYPOCRITES IN THE WORLD.
The press in this country is therefore a joke.....on a 'world' scale.

This is my review. East 17 are now and always will be remembered as a great British band.......the journalists who 'trashed' them will be long forgotten.....which is as it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable, 9 Jan. 2010
By 
Adil J. Hussain (South Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of East Seventeen (Audio CD)
East 17 were one of those bands that came and went, but left a trail of many underrated songs. This album is a reminder that they really did make some great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars underrated, stylish songwriting!, 25 Jan. 2015
In my opinion, Tony Mortimer is one of the most underrated songwriters of the 90s and it's a shame the band weren't taken more seriously for their musical talents. Great production, snappy lyrics and catchy, memorable tunes make this album a great listen, with highlights being 'Its Alright ' with its heartfelt piano intro/ outro, contrasted with an earnest, upbeat verse; 'Steam' with its belting infectious intro, quality rapping and great harmonies and their atmospheric version of the Pet Shop Boys' 'West End Girls'. 'Thunder' is also a powerful, emotional track - and another piece of excellent songwriting from Mortimer. Admittedly a couple of the tracks are a bit mediocre and formulaic, but on the whole this stuff is definitely a cut above your average boy band material - the tunes are original and the lyrics clever, sometimes tongue in cheek, sometimes raunchy, often poignant, with great piano playing, tight production and catchy guitar riffs thrown in and Brian Harvey's glorious vocals give a real depth to the material. Give this a try before you dismiss the band as chavvy 90s naffness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of East Seventeen (Audio CD)
MEMORIES AAA+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of East 17, 21 Mar. 2009
By 
M. Whitaker "Maggie" (Herts ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of East Seventeen (Audio CD)
If you loved East 17, you will just love this cd, if you have never heard their music, buy this cd... This is a great cd, it has all their best hits on it. Stay Another Day, has to be the best song ever, which is on this cd too, aswell as Around the World, Let it Rain, Deep etc... a must for any East 17 fan, for sure... I wish they were still together, there music was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of East Seventeen (Audio CD)
Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me., 3 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of East Seventeen (Audio CD)
This was a Christmas present for someone, i have NO interest in the band. I do remember them and i hated them at the time, not just the music but also the lifestyles of the singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews