Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This light has never gone out.....
Even if live records are the refuge of the artistically redundant. In the days when everyone can - with a bit of careful tweaking - download pretty much any concert ever recorded, the idea of going to a shop and buying a show seems positively ancient.

Retro, even.

Still, Morrissey has always been, even from the day he was born, a determindedly...
Published on 29 Jun 2007 by Mr. M. A. Reed

versus
9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Competent but soulless live album
Recorded at the end of the tour in support of his successful comeback album You Are The Quarry, the only real comparison with Morrissey's 2nd official live album is with 1992's Beethoven Was Deaf. On paper Live At Earls Court should be the definitive live album, as while Beethoven Was Deaf was drawn heavily from Morrissey's then current album Your Arsenal and had no...
Published on 27 July 2005 by Jane Aland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This light has never gone out....., 29 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at Earls Court (Audio CD)
Even if live records are the refuge of the artistically redundant. In the days when everyone can - with a bit of careful tweaking - download pretty much any concert ever recorded, the idea of going to a shop and buying a show seems positively ancient.

Retro, even.

Still, Morrissey has always been, even from the day he was born, a determindedly old-fashioned soul. Not just for the fact that his music is a modern reframing of classic themes, from the wonderfully modern-yet-timeless rock backing of his band to the central themes within his work (the street urchin tough as idolised by the once-shy boy, the potent blend of Vegas crooner and intellectual exile), Moz is someone who is both timeless and out of time, as if he were a Pop Statue carved in an alternate universe where time itself ceased to be a frame of reference.

Not that you'd know it from this : Moz has always been contrary, and for his first live abum in twelve years (and recorded at his biggest ever British headline show), it's a determindedly perverse mix of old songs by his former band, b-sides from his (then) newly-reissued-with-extra-bsides-album, a couple of obscure 70's covers, and a handful of his solo hits.

Moz always likes you to know how many people were present when his live albums were recorded. Dallas 12,000. Paris 6,200. Earls Court. 17,183. So you know.

Taken purely on it's merits, mind you, stripped of all social context, the prosaic "Live At Earls Court" is a fabulous listen : an unending suckerpunch of brilliant songs (aside from a drab "You Know I Couldn't Last") that constantly cut through the fug of modern life and straight to the core of what it's like to be human. To hope, to want the one you can't have, and to grimly see the worth in even the most mundane of moments.

Life is made of moments : and the moment in "Irish Blood, English Heart" where it all suddenly explodes is a moment that betters many an other artists entire career. The songs and the quality of the performance are undoubted : the shoddy and suspect rationale behind the release of Yet Another Morrissey Live Album (the second in 18 years of solo work!) is less robust.

Ultimately "Live At Earls Court" is both essential to the fan, and utterly redundant to the casual buyer. It allows Moz to contextualise his favourite songs from his own career, celebrate his newly reacquired fame, and shift some CD's. As far as live albums go, whilst it undoubtedly sounds fabulous - and far better than it did on the night in the cavernous Earls Court Arena - one must ask why this document exists.

As a handy best-of, it fails. As a reflection of the vast riches of Moz's work, it merely scratches the surface. As a perverse reminder of Moz's singular vision though, it excels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snapshot of a triumphant comeback, 21 Feb 2010
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live at Earls Court (Audio CD)
It still seems strange that an artist of Morrissey's stature should have languished in the wilderness for seven years without a record label, but his triumphant return in 2004 with the album You Are The Quarry and a whole slew of songs on singles, live DVDs and TV appearances galore put him right back into our black shrivelled hearts. The comeback culminated in a week-long victory tour of the United Kingdom just before Christmas 2004, of which this seventy-five minute set is the live souvenir.

A note in the booklet reads, "Everything on this CD was recorded live. Nothing was added or replaced in the studio". It was recorded on 18 December 2004 at Earls Court in London (although the rest of the tour was recorded and some of the banter with the audience is said to have come from other dates, and it has been claimed that some of the vocals were "repaired" with vocals dropped in from the other concerts), in front of a typically appreciative 17,183 people. Unfortunately, the picture of Morrissey on the cover was taken not at Earls Court but in Las Vegas the previous April. The album was produced by Peter Asher, continuing Morrissey's interest in sixties culture as Peter Asher was one half of Peter and Gordon and brother of Jane Asher, both having Beatle connections.

Although seven of the songs came from You Are The Quarry, Morrissey was clearly keen to reclaim his past and peppered the set with Smiths-era hits, opening challengingly with a muscular performance of How Soon Is Now?, originally a B-side, and including Bigmouth Strikes Again, There Is A Light That Never Goes Out, Shoplifters Of The World Unite and a climactic Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me). He also featured a couple of his pre-wilderness solo singles (November Spawned A Monster, The More You Ignore Me The Closer I Get) and dropped in an unrecorded cover of Patti Smith's seventies poem/song Redondo Beach. To round out the set were some more new songs that had appeared during the year on singles, the paternal Don't Make Fun Of Daddy's Voice, Munich Air Disaster 1958 (which began with the same verse from a New York Dolls oldie that he had been using to launch Every Day Is Like Sunday earlier on the tour) and the sombre Friday Mourning. Two of the songs from the album were extracted as a double-A side single (Redondo Beach/There Is A Light That Never Goes Out).

Morrissey's voice had changed from Smiths days but was in fine fettle nonetheless and of course he wasn't onstage alone. Benefiting from a year spent touring, the band featured the mighty Boz Boorer, Jesse Tobias, Mikey V Farrell (actually adding a dramatic trumpet to a couple of tunes), Gary Day and Deano Butterworth. There is no lack of confidence or panache in the playing and there is a lot of atmosphere in this snapshot of where Morrissey was in 2004, though the studio versions of these songs probably remain definitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just fantastic, 12 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Live at Earls Court (Audio CD)
This is a joyous live album. I was at the gig in question last Christmas and it was awe inspiring. This is a true icon on better form than he has been in years singing songs that define a generation. It sounds great. Buy it and cherish it. The smiths songs are just incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Mr. Morrissey, 26 July 2005
By 
G. Sephton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at Earls Court (Audio CD)
2 Stars is an insult to the man and his music. I have seen him twice this year and his live performances are fantastic. This album captures Morrissey in fine voice and is a great addition to any collection. Great Album, B-Sides and all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 May 2013
This review is from: Live at Earls Court (Audio CD)
I'm quite surprised that some reviewers didn't like this CD. I really love it, always nice to hear live performances, with a bit of crowd noise and the subtle variations to how the songs are played, but occasionally this is compromised by the recording quality being low- not a problem here, great sound quality.
I liked the way the instruments were played! It does sound a little different, but it works, or at least I think it does- and it gives quite a direct and assured sound, instead of the slightly muffled chaos of a bit too much going on.
Particular highlights for me here are "November spawned a monster", "Subway train/Munich" "I have forgiven Jesus", and "Bigmouth strikes again". Morrissey's voice is as good as I have ever heard it recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morrissey On Top Form, 25 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at Earls Court (Audio CD)
I have just bought this Morrissey live album,the reason being that i was put off by some reviews on Mozzers live output.I was very surprised how good this album is,in my opinion it is quite brilliant.I have played it constantly over the last week.Morrissey is in fine form,the singing is excellent and he jokes a lot through out the gig,he really sounds like he enjoyed the gig.Please buy this CD as i think you may be pleasently surprised how great it really is....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrissey Marvel, 23 Feb 2006
This review is from: Live at Earls Court (Audio CD)
This fantastic live album highlights that Mr Morrissey is still the Godfather of indie! Standout tracks are all The Smiths tracks as well as the amazing 'Don't Make Fun of Daddy's Voice'. I am not sure where that track came from. There is also a truly amazing version of 'I Have Fogiven Jesus' which would spellbind any audience! He may be getting on a bit (aren't we all) but Morrissey has proven all his critics wrong and is back in a big way, sell out tour and a new album which is said to be his best yet!! Can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for this Live CD, 2 Oct 2014
This review is from: Live at Earls Court (Audio CD)
Fantastic Live Concert, superb quality. Buy it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Competent but soulless live album, 27 July 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live at Earls Court (Audio CD)
Recorded at the end of the tour in support of his successful comeback album You Are The Quarry, the only real comparison with Morrissey's 2nd official live album is with 1992's Beethoven Was Deaf. On paper Live At Earls Court should be the definitive live album, as while Beethoven Was Deaf was drawn heavily from Morrissey's then current album Your Arsenal and had no Smiths tracks, Live At Earls Court is much more varied, as alongside the highlights from You Are The Quarry are such delights as obscure B-Sides, a previously unissued cover version, and a whopping 5 Smiths classics. In reality however where Beethoven Was Deaf showcased Morrissey revelling in the opportunity to once again perform as the member of a band with a messy but energetic performance, Live At Earls Court feels like a competent but soulless run-through. The problem isn't Morrissey himself, as his voice sounds as strong as ever, but with the rather limp mix and the mediocre backing band that Morrissey finds himself with. Having lost long-time lead guitarist Alain Whyte due to a mysterious 'illness' partway through the tour the band have to make do with 2nd fill-in guitarist Jesse Tobias, and it's painfully apparent that even with two guitarists the band struggle to match the live performances Johnny Marr was giving alone back when the Smiths played live. A nice memento of the tour, but with the mix stripping the sound of any live atmospherics this is a rather unessential live album, and deprived of studio overdubs it becomes clear just how mediocre the musicians in Morrissey's band are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 Jun 2005
This review is from: Live at Earls Court (Audio CD)
As a fan of Morrissey, you'd think I'd love this, but I don't. I loved You Are The Quarry but this is unsatisfying.
A cover of Patti Smith's Redondo Beach is a highlight, although I still prefer the original.
The set list puzzles me - for one thing there are too many B-sides. Songs that really sound like B-sides. Don't Make Fun Of Daddy's Voice, for example. A great title, awful song.
I can't fault the sound quality or Morrissey's singing, but somehow it just doesn't work for me. The Quarry tracks are good, but why not just listen to them on THAT cd?
Buy You Are The Quarry, don't buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live at Earls Court
Live at Earls Court by Morrissey (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews