Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of the Boardgame
My son got this game for Christmas and it's as if it was custom made for our family because we're nuts about LOTR. It follows the well-known Trivial Pursuit format where you have to move around the board answering LOTR questions and trying to collect six coloured wedges to win the game. The non-wedge questions are on cards, but the wedge questions are on the...
Published on 6 Feb. 2006 by Tealady2000

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor implementation of DVD question pool
There are only 100 question cards, unlike the board game with 300 cards. But this should be easily offest by the 2 DVDs which offer supposedly 20 different games of additional DVD questions, selectable by choosing place names on the storyline of the trilogy. However, it appears to make zero difference what game location one selects on disc 1, the questions are always the...
Published on 30 May 2007 by Passionate Eclectic_Collector


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of the Boardgame, 6 Feb. 2006
By 
Tealady2000 (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings Trivial Pursuit - DVD Game (Toy)
My son got this game for Christmas and it's as if it was custom made for our family because we're nuts about LOTR. It follows the well-known Trivial Pursuit format where you have to move around the board answering LOTR questions and trying to collect six coloured wedges to win the game. The non-wedge questions are on cards, but the wedge questions are on the DVD, and feature clips from the Peter Jackson films.
Each time you play the game you move to a different location in the LOTR adventure, so you start in The Shire and go on to Bree, then Weathertop etc. As you progress through the locations, the DVD questions get a little bit harder, making it more challenging. Also the questions really are about absolutely everything including the making of the movies, so get out your LOTR DVDs and watch all the Extras features!
I was surprised to see that the game is recommended for ages 14 and up - both my sons are younger than that. If you are happy for your kids to watch the movies then there's nothing in this game that's unsuitable.
The only drawback is that there is only one box of question cards and I'm sure they aren't going to last - we've played 6 games and some of the cards have already come round again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor implementation of DVD question pool, 30 May 2007
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings Trivial Pursuit - DVD Game (Toy)
There are only 100 question cards, unlike the board game with 300 cards. But this should be easily offest by the 2 DVDs which offer supposedly 20 different games of additional DVD questions, selectable by choosing place names on the storyline of the trilogy. However, it appears to make zero difference what game location one selects on disc 1, the questions are always the same and in the same order. There really is a limit in one evening to the number of times one wishes to see the same clip of Aragorn on Weathertop, or Denethor being beaten by Gandalf's staff, before getting to a question one hasn't already seen on the DVD. It's a pity one cannot skip a DVD question if one has seen it before. Also, there is insufficient time in the DVD question to fully appreciate the question before the answer pops up. Yes, if one want to play blitz LOTR, its OK, but for us wanting to see the nuances and feel the mood, the DVD is poorly implemented. DVD nul points. Cards deux points. Overall, forget it. A real afficianado would want it to work better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 30 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well put together. Good game for LotR fans :) Like the way that the discs mirror the journey of the ring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family game, 13 Nov. 2006
By 
E. Weightman (Keswick, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of the Rings Trivial Pursuit - DVD Game (Toy)
My two children aged 12 & 13 know every detail of the film, but this hasn't stopped us enjoying playing the game with them. There are questions even the most hardened LOTR geek can't get (i.e "how long did it take to do the make-up on.....") which gives us Mums a chance. It's really exiting when you get to the Cheese question as there is a good opportunity to steal a cheese and it's a great way to spend an evening.

It costs a lot of money, but it's the first to come off the toy shelf when we are looking for something to play - so worth the money in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great family, 30 July 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Wade - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings Trivial Pursuit - DVD Game (Toy)
An absolute must for any Lord of the Rings fan! Great family fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased., 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings Trivial Pursuit - DVD Game (Toy)
Quick delivery, and well wrapped. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Precious!, 30 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings Trivial Pursuit - DVD Game (Toy)
loved it. thought I knew everything about LOTR, but this taught me more than watching the films or reading the books. there are 20 games, each one a location in the story, with the real Gollum from the film guiding you through the game!
Buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
This review is from: Lord of the Rings Trivial Pursuit - DVD Game (Toy)
Fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 9 Aug. 2005
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings Trivial Pursuit - DVD Game (Toy)
This game is great! LOTR is the best film ever and this is the best LOTR game ever! thought i knew everything about lotr!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews