Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars splashy
my two year old adores this toy. it may be described as a bath toy, but this penguin went everywhere with him on christmas day - in the basket of his scooter, on the dinner table, and in his cot at the end of the day. the song splashy sings is infuriatingly catchy, and the gargled version of the song he sings when tipped face down has just the right touch for adult sick...
Published on 29 Jan 2007 by sunburst

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing as a bath toy!
I think the previous reviews are right - very disappointing as a bath toy, once splashy is in the water you can barely hear him and his swimming action is so poor he goes nowhere. The other problem I found is that my 1 year old does not have the dexterity or the strength to push the button that starts the tune, by herself. As a toy - not in the bath -highly successful,...
Published on 23 Oct 2007 by Wheatles


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing as a bath toy!, 23 Oct 2007
By 
Wheatles (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tomy Splashy the Penguin Bath Toy (Baby Product)
I think the previous reviews are right - very disappointing as a bath toy, once splashy is in the water you can barely hear him and his swimming action is so poor he goes nowhere. The other problem I found is that my 1 year old does not have the dexterity or the strength to push the button that starts the tune, by herself. As a toy - not in the bath -highly successful, the gargling version of the song is very amusing and makes me smile every time I hear it. My little girl carries it round the house and he often has afternoon tea with her!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adorable but flawed, 24 Jun 2010
By 
Bebopa Lula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tomy Splashy the Penguin Bath Toy (Baby Product)
My daughter was given Splashy The Penguin as a present when she was around 9 months old. Over 2 years on and Splashy has been used during most bath times. He is very durable and shows no visible signs of wear and tear.

The penguin has a pink wind-up on his back. When the wind-up is wound up and released the penguins flippers spin around and make him appear as though he is swimming. My daughter loves winding him up and watching his flippers spin around when he's out of water - it always makes her giggle. It took my daughter a while to grasp how to wind the penguin up and isn't the easiest task for tiny fingers to perform (under 2's may struggle). His spinning flippers are supposed to allow him to swim around the bath but sadly this isn't the case. His flippers don't seem strong enough in the water and he doesn't actually move very far at all. I would call it bobbing around rather than swimming. As the flippers do not require batteries it means they will never run out or need replacing.

The penguin also sings (for me this is the highlight of the toy!). The penguins pink 'mohawk' doubles up as a button - when you press it forward he starts humming the tune to 'row row row your boat'. The choice of song is great as it is a nursery rhyme that my daughter knows very well and is a nursery rhyme that most young children know and can sing along to. When the penguin is tipped onto his back or front he gargles the song as if he is underwater! I love the fact that he can change from humming to gargling midway through the song too, I'm still baffled by this! Needless to say my daughter loves tipping him over in the bath and hearing him sing underwater. The only downside is that he is quite quiet when he sings underwater and can be hard to hear if there is a lot of noise going on in and around the bath. The button/mohawk is also very hard for tiny fingers to push and will almost always need an adult to work it - major downfall.

The penguin requires 3 x LR44 batteries (the silly little round ones which nobody keeps in the house) which are included - ours run out after around 18 months.

Splashy has flat feet which means he is easily balanced on flat surfaces, such as on the side of the bath. He also floats very well and doesn't appear to sink.

Overall this is a good but not a great bath toy (get it sorted Tomy!). He certainly is cute and may brighten up a lot of childrens bath times, but don't expect too much of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars splashy, 29 Jan 2007
This review is from: Tomy Splashy the Penguin Bath Toy (Baby Product)
my two year old adores this toy. it may be described as a bath toy, but this penguin went everywhere with him on christmas day - in the basket of his scooter, on the dinner table, and in his cot at the end of the day. the song splashy sings is infuriatingly catchy, and the gargled version of the song he sings when tipped face down has just the right touch for adult sick minds out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Quite - He isn't really Swimming anywhere, 15 Jan 2008
This review is from: Tomy Splashy the Penguin Bath Toy (Baby Product)
Completely agree with the other reviewers who have pointed out although splashy has a lovely catchy tune you can't hear him once he goes in the water and his little flippers are not strong enough to make him swim anywhere, huge disappointment daughter ended up playing with splashy only outside the bath... if ever. Not so great for a BATH toy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son's favourite bath toy, 13 Sep 2009
By 
V. Lawley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomy Splashy the Penguin Bath Toy (Baby Product)
I was given this toy second hand from a friend who's son had outgrown it and it has turned out to be my 9 month old son's favourite bath toy. He's not really interested in any of his other toys (ducks, boats etc), but as soon as he hears this one singing his whole face lights up, a huge grin comes on his face and he squeals in delight.

Unlike the other reviewers I have not had any problems with the singing being too quiet, and can still hear him fine even under water. I agree that the 'arm's aren't really strong enough for him to be able to swim as such but that doesn't bother my son as he loves to watch his arms spin around in the air and he tries to catch them. He even tries to sing along with his catchy tune (and yes, it does get stuck in your head!)

We've had this toy for about 5 months now and it's beem a hit at every bath time, it even stops him crying when he's getting dried off!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cute little toy, 26 Aug 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this toy for my little niece. She absolutely loves to be in the water and loves taking baths, so that was a good toy to get. It is much fun for her as it swims and gurgles and sings in the water.
It was great fun for her and she wanted to play with it again and again and never got bored of it.
The only problem is, that if you're an adult unfortunately once you've heard the song more than twice it will drive you absolutely crazy!
But great fun for kids. It does however not have any educational value, it's just purely for fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Feb 2007
This review is from: Tomy Splashy the Penguin Bath Toy (Baby Product)
We bought this in the hope that it would entertain our 1 year old at bathtime, but were very disappointed. Granted it is cute and although it's singing is quite entertaining (if a bit quiet), sadly it only entertains us, not our daughter. When you wind it up and let it go, it goes nowhere fast as the paddling action is not strong enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor penguin!, 21 April 2012
This review is from: Tomy Splashy the Penguin Bath Toy (Baby Product)
This wind up bath toy has two features - he sings a little song when you press his head, and you can wind up his arms for him to swim around the bath. However, although you can hear his little song when he is out of the water, the volume is too low to be able to hear him well enough when he's in the water. Worse still, although the arms seem to rotate well when out of the water, when Penguin is in the water, the little motor just doesn't seem to be strong enough to propel him along. Most of the time the arms just stop twirling altogether until you take him out again. We found this a very disappointing product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Nov 2011
By 
G. Davies "gilsad" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomy Splashy the Penguin Bath Toy (Baby Product)
Great bath toy, hums a great wee tune, turn it face down in the water and it gurgles the tune instead of humming. Works well. Seems durable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Penguin, 24 Jun 2011
This review is from: Tomy Splashy the Penguin Bath Toy (Baby Product)
Baby loves this - if I could give it ten stars I would.
A great toy for bath time and well and truly water proof - certainly not a toy thats going to break easily. Penguin will be a toy that lasts for years.
Highly Reccomended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb156424c)

This product

Tomy Splashy the Penguin Bath Toy
7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews