Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you dont have a top computer...
When I played Doom3 on PC last year I thought my computer was the cream of the crap. However Doom was quite a challenge. I don't even think the best computers nowadays can play it on the high end configuration. The graphics on this game is almost ahead of its time. Now this collectors edition has come for xbox, and I had to get an xbox just to try it. The graphics are of...
Published on 15 April 2005 by Snake

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PAL gamers get another kick in the teeth
To cut straight to the chase, the PAL version of Xbox "Doom 3" does NOT support PAL-60 (60Hz mode). Yep, we're looking at yet another PAL version of a top game that's limited to 50Hz because the developer simply couldn't be bothered - and that's especially annoying when your PAL Xbox is built to do 60Hz, and it's a doddle for developers to include support. This applies to...
Published on 10 April 2005 by Neal Vincent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My goodness better graphics than halo 2!!!!, 12 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Doom 3: Limited Collector's Edition (Xbox) (Video Game)
All I can say is that Doom3 now sets a standered for graphics on the Xbox and also brilliant use of sound to create an extremely tense and genuinly frightening atmosphere.
Best played with surround sound speakers or a nice comfortable pair of headphones, a game has never scared me this much atmosphere wise since the silent hill games.
The game is set before the other doom games occured so in theory this is a prequal not really a sequal so the title may confuse some.You are a marine sent in to replace other marines who have gone missing aboard a research facility on mars and it is not long before you slowly creep around the dark corridors finding the exit to each level and hoping you can escape the nightmare and fight off the hoards of evil demons that try and stop your ever aproaching end to the game.
The game has 40 levels some of which are short and some of which are reasonably lengthy and the later ones have such truely breathtaking graphics you will wonder wheather it was possible for the xbox to create them.
And the special edition box is a nice touch with an excellent online co-op mode and deathmatch mode please buy this game now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant again!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3: Limited Collector's Edition (Xbox) (Video Game)
The game came in great packaging and looked like new never mind very good everything was included and the tin was in great looking order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 25 Oct 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3: Limited Collector's Edition (Xbox) (Video Game)
the game is in perfect conditions and I have received it in the expected time. It was really a bargain to achieve such a wonderful game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doom 3, 4 Mar 2011
By 
Craig Savage - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3: Limited Collector's Edition (Xbox) (Video Game)
Alot scarier than the originals.But have been playing it constantly since it arrived.
Backgrounds are alot better than original but this is to be expected.Enormous fun,even better if you play in the dark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still scary, 17 July 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3: Limited Collector's Edition (Xbox) (Video Game)
I recently rediscovered this in the loft - it works on my 360! - awesome!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Title. Good childhood memories, 24 Nov 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3: Limited Collector's Edition (Xbox) (Video Game)
Didn't finish the game and couldn't sell it as the 18 cert was missing from the actual version I received. (i/e not like s/shot) so CEX wouldn't accept
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like running around in the dark battling satanic powers!!!, 19 Oct 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3: Limited Collector's Edition (Xbox) (Video Game)
Survival horror with action. Picture walking on a blood stained floor, three bullets in the handgun, you must leave the comfortable station room and get to the otherside and lock that wide open door, you leave getting closer to that gapping void beyond the door, then... groaning noises and a foot scrapping closer, you can see an outline, taking careful aim... then out with the lights and deafening laughter, the room is now lit soley in satanic fiery glowing symbols and centre stage a porthole with intruders from another demension! and great game to play in the dark! I just really liked this game so much. I can't say enough gud things about it, great great great!. The most terrifying version of hell I got to witness!!! Buy the board game aswell :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PAL gamers get another kick in the teeth, 10 April 2005
By 
Neal Vincent (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doom 3: Limited Collector's Edition (Xbox) (Video Game)
To cut straight to the chase, the PAL version of Xbox "Doom 3" does NOT support PAL-60 (60Hz mode). Yep, we're looking at yet another PAL version of a top game that's limited to 50Hz because the developer simply couldn't be bothered - and that's especially annoying when your PAL Xbox is built to do 60Hz, and it's a doddle for developers to include support. This applies to the main game as well as the pair of retro Doom games included on the same disc. The whole shebang is 50Hz.
I'm sure most people will say "So what? It's full screen innit?" - but that's not the point. This game undoubtedly pushes the Xbox hardware about as far as it can possibly go and the developer spent months optimising it to run as smoothly as possible on NTSC systems, so the last thing it needs is 17% extra work-load addressing the extra lines on a PAL display. Try side-stepping in a larger room and you'll see the screen update become erratic and choppy - something I bet our cousins across the pond don't have to endure.
On top of that, the fact that the PAL version is 50Hz means that you will NOT be able to play on Xbox LIVE against anyone outside of Europe due to the speed difference - so the other reviewer on this page who was looking forward to playing "Doom 3" against cousin Harry in the USA ... well, sadly, he can forget about it!
It's high time PAL gamers got the same deal as the Americans. While it's great that the PAL Xbox console supports 60Hz and makes this possible, this fact just makes it even more of an insult when developers can't be bothered to use it. In short, those of you who can run import games are advised to go USA with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome is an understatement, 10 Oct 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3: Limited Collector's Edition (Xbox) (Video Game)
i just Ordered the doom3 collectors edition Doom 3 looks amazing, and i have the three originals for pc and playstation and even though they are really old they are still my alltime favorites i just hope Doom three gives me the same tingling feeling i had back when i was ten when running around in the dar kiling imp, Cacodemons etc

Silent bob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doom Is The Ultimate FPS, 9 May 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3: Limited Collector's Edition (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is the Collectors Edition and this is a fab Game lets talk about what you get in this Package eh?

Well this Package comes with the Extras Section in the Extras is the Behind the Scenes talk on Doom 3 and more Scenes about Doom it also Includes Doom 1 & 2

Doom 1 & 2:

Sadly with these Games the Graphics weren't made to the Xbox Standards and they look exactly what they did back when they got there Release (So to many if you haven't already played Doom 1 & 2 you'd probably be unsatisfied with it as it looks old and compared to the New Games standard you wouldn't be Interested however take a deep Breath and remember it's what Doom looked like back in the Day it's what made Doom what it is today so put the thoughts that say ''It's too old why bother'' behind you and enjoy the 2 Games maybe ID could of Improved a bit on the Graphics like Capcom did with Resident Evil 1 on NGC but just screw those thoughts and enjoy it for what it is)

and the Story remains the same as well as the Music, Mobs, Weapons and Maps Levels

I hadn't played Doom 1 and 2 before and it's a bit like Blake Stone if anyone has played that before

in Doom 1 which is almost exactly the same as Doom 2 but there is some differences of course that being the levels are different and in Doom 1 you can pick any level you want

for example you dont have to play level 1 and all the way to the final level but in Doom 2 you dont have that kind of level feature sadly

and that's the Extras part the Game also Includes Doom 3 of course why else would it be called Doom 3 ''Collectors Edition''

Doom 3:

This Game is totally Awesome I love it the Graphics are really cool and the Music really goes with the Atmosphere the scary things are that sometimes you can hear Whispering and thing is there is nothing there

The Gore is quite good and well this Game is a total must BUY

You play as a Recruit that has just joined the Mars Team and without Warning you are trapped in a Ship with Creatures lurking around

The Story is that the Mars Scientists are Experimenting when they shouldn't be and thats when these Creatures come and attack

This Game is a bit like ''Half-Life and Halo'' but better if you ask me

It's a total MUST BUY trust me I loved it enough to Buy the Normal Non-Collectors Edition and this 1 but I bought the Normal one first :D

(Sorry about my lack of Punctuation my English is Appauling Hope you do Buy This Game if you dont already have it and Enjoy it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doom 3: Limited Collector's Edition (Xbox)
39.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews