Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less than the sum of its parts
Shark Tale ought to be a sure-fire smash hit. All the important elements seem to be present: a great cast to provide the voices, fantastic animation (sometimes the similarity of the animated characters to the human providing the voice are spooky) a decent story set in a genre rich with opportunities for parody and pastiche.
My son (4) loved it and I enjoyed it but...
Published on 15 Mar 2005 by John E. Davidson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shark tale
Quite funny but lacked the appeal shrek 1 + 2 had for a wider audience. Animation was great though and I thought the story line was cute.
Published on 1 Mar 2005


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less than the sum of its parts, 15 Mar 2005
This review is from: Shark Tale [DVD] (DVD)
Shark Tale ought to be a sure-fire smash hit. All the important elements seem to be present: a great cast to provide the voices, fantastic animation (sometimes the similarity of the animated characters to the human providing the voice are spooky) a decent story set in a genre rich with opportunities for parody and pastiche.
My son (4) loved it and I enjoyed it but sadly, there is something missing. Yes, it is an enjoyable romp but it lacks the soul of the very best animated work: Shrek, Finding Nemo, The Incredibles (in fact all of the Pixar films). They seem to have been so impressed with the A-list cast and the animation trickery that they forgot that it is the strength of the story that creates an enduring classic. A further problem is that the jokes (aimed at adults) seem to have been tacked on rather than being integrated into the story - sometimes it feels like there a two films here rather than one film working on multiple levels (as the best films do).
This film dazzles but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a second bite, 9 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Shark Tale [DVD] (DVD)
When I took my children then 7 and 10 to see this neither they nor I were particularly impressed and it had considerably less impact than many other films of similar genre probably due to the rather thin plot line

However on revisiting the DVD it was infinitely better and the characters'nuances/one liners could be appreciated far more eg the Rastafarian jellyfish. I suspect that given the success of similar films,immediate expectations are always high and disappointment is often inevitable. This film is definitely worth revisiting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good laugh, 19 Feb 2005
This review is from: Shark Tale [DVD] (DVD)
I like all different kinds of films ranging from monster to lord of the rings to nightmare on elm street but it was really nice to just put a film like shark tale on and laugh along without having to think to much about it, the 2 rasta jellyfish were my favorite characters but the veggie shark [lenny] and the main man Oscar were also amusing to watch. this isn't groundbreaking stuff but i really enjoyed watching it.
a good film for adults and children alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous !, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Shark Tale [DVD] (DVD)
I just love it.
Got This one about four years ago.
I must say I can't bear my kids watch it without me.
The Story is so funny, even for adults.
I don't mean that they lewd or anything like that, but children might not get the humour of references to "the Titanic" or "The Godfather" - those are for us - the story is so rich in detail, as is the picture that every age and gender will be entertained.
The characters are well developed.
Animation is state of the art as of 2004.
Sound is fabulous. Top voices and soundtrack.
You'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 3 Nov 2009
By 
Bianca B (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shark Tale [DVD] (DVD)
My son loves this movie, my niece lives in the flat down stairs and has it and my son had it on practical perminant loan, every time my neices wanted to watch it she had to come and beg for her own DVD. since I hve brought him his own copy, we have watched it at least 20 times, he's carried it with him for weekends away with his grandparents and has the soft toys to go with it. perfect!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I had a whale of a time!, 21 Oct 2007
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shark Tale [DVD] (DVD)
I was worried this might be aimed more at the very young than some recent animation films but I can say this has something for everyone, no matter their age! With an all star voice cast that includes Will Smith, Robert De Niro, Angelina Jolie amongst many other well known actors, there is plenty of talent to be heard. It's very good how they manage to include characteristics of the actors in their animated characters. Oscar is clearly Will Smith just by looking at the face!The animation is great, with strong bright colours and plenty of detail. The sound track is very strong to with Chrisitina Aguilera's Car Wash the main theme song.
For the youngsters there are plenty of funny scenes, and characters. For the older generation their are some great in jokes as De Niro's Great White Shark has a Godfather like role! If you liked Finding Nemo, Flushed Away, Toy Story you will have a Whale of a time here to! The disc also has plenty of little extras and features to keep you busy as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shark Tale, 8 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. A. K. Chauhan "Hawaii89" (Solihull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shark Tale [DVD] (DVD)
Although this is a cartoon movie, it suggests it is for children, however, it is most definatly for all ages. I really enjoyed the humour of this film. Will Smith & Robert De Niro as the main characters was an excellent choice for voice overs for their respective characters. Great Film, Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shark tale, 1 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Shark Tale [DVD] (DVD)
Quite funny but lacked the appeal shrek 1 + 2 had for a wider audience. Animation was great though and I thought the story line was cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sinks without a trace..., 14 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shark Tale [DVD] (DVD)
Filling a movie with flashy visuals, pop culture references and enough celebrities to fill Oscar night, does not a good film make, as Shark Tale so admirably proves.
Vocal talents from the excellent cast include Will Smith, Angelina Jolie and Robert DeNiro, but they aren't given the characters to match their talent.
It's matched to a pathetic storyline that on the whole, doesn't really work. A small fish (voiced by Smith) accidentally defeats a shark, and then becomes the legendary Sharkslayer. Big cheese shark (vocied by DeNiro) then wants to get payback on Sharkslayer for killing his son. Yawn.
Still, it's not exactly dull - as the story fairly zips by, and apart from some well-meaning but film stopping musical numbers which are groan inducing, the film has quite a bit of energy behind it.
I think the underwater gangster style of the film will go over most children's heads, and its not filled with slapstick humour either, so small kids won't really laugh. The bright, flashy visuals might keep them entertained. For adults, there's even less to enjoy as we are bombarded by film references and pop culture jokes. So many of them that it just gets tiresome, and unfunny.
This pales in comparison to the other underwater animated lark, Finding Nemo, and just fails to live up to Dreamwork's other monster hit, Shrek. I, personally, wanted this film to be good, but it was ultimately disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark Tale [DVD] (DVD)
Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shark Tale [DVD]
Shark Tale [DVD] by Will Smith (DVD - 2005)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews