Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Tribute to Morse's Final Season
Sadly, the eighth season of Morse proved to be the final season for one of the most popular detectives of all time in the history of Broadcasting.

There are five episodes in this series, and they are all very good indeed.

The Way Through The Woods is one of my favourites. Morse becomes involved in a case against the wishes of his Superintendent...
Published on 29 Mar. 2008 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
1 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says ........
on the tin. U love him or u hate him. He's the daddy. Let's hear it 4 Morse .... shake in your boots all newcomers!
Published on 13 Feb. 2009 by K. Jefferies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Tribute to Morse's Final Season, 29 Mar. 2008
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Series 8 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Sadly, the eighth season of Morse proved to be the final season for one of the most popular detectives of all time in the history of Broadcasting.

There are five episodes in this series, and they are all very good indeed.

The Way Through The Woods is one of my favourites. Morse becomes involved in a case against the wishes of his Superintendent Strange (James Grout, I could never understand why Morse allowed Grout to constantly address him as "Matey") A prisoner is killed by another prisoner, but before dying he admits to 4 murders, but not the 5th. This sets Morse and Lewis off onto a trail of twists and turns which eventually strains their relationship on more than one occasion when Lewis fails to agree with Morse about a missing girl whose body may lie in some nearby woods. A body is then discovered in the woods, but is proved to be a male. This makes the case even more bizarre ending in a shocking twist which almost costs Lewis his life. A great episode.

In The Daughters of Cain, both Morse and Lewis investigate the murder of a retired University member who has been stabbed to death. The case becomes rather complex as the academic world closes its ranks causing Morse too many headaches until the case is finally solved. A bit ponderous at times, but theres enough good material to keep Morse fans happy.

Death Is My Neighbour is also a good episode. Morse's love interest is played by the delightful actress Judy Loe who becomes rather attached to the grumpy old detective. Has Morse found his match at last? Well, see the episode and find out. Morse and Lewis investigate the death of a young physiotherapist Rachel James who has been shot dead. Another murder takes place 24 hours later and it becomes apparant that Rachel James had been shot by mistake. This sounds like a rather complex case, but do bear with it, it does have a rather good ending. Look out for the veteran actor Richard Briers who plays Sir Clixby Bream, a rather nasty piece of work who is eventually driven out of Oxford by non other than Morse himself and told never to come back.

Morse is ill in bed recovering from an operation, so he spends his time reading about a case which took place during Victorian Times. The Wench Is Dead is a brilliant yarn about a married woman whose body is recovered from the Oxford Canal in 1859. As Morse reads more and more, he becomes more convinced that the wrong man was sent to the gallows and he sets out to prove it. Something quite different here which will please lovers of good crime stories.

And now for the Finale: The Remorseful Day. A fine episode indeed, it stands out as one of the finest ever made. Some viewers may not agree of course, but I think it is. Morse has recovered from his operation and is back at work and discovers that Lewis is heading an investigation into the murder of Yvonne Harrison which had happened almost a year previously. It turns out that Morse did know a lot more about Yvonne Harrison than he cared to admit, much to the consternation of both Lewis and Superintendent Strange. The case is solved when tragedy strikes. The ending is profoundly moving, and music lovers will recognise the haunting music from Faure's Requiem, and Wagner's Good Friday Music from his opera Parsifal.

The box set ends with a fine tribute lead by James Grout as he looks back over the years of dealing with Morse on his numerous cases. A most moving end to a wonderful series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Remorse in Purchasing, 8 Jun. 2009
By 
T. L. Price (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Series 8 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Quality. Quality. Quality. These were the last 5 episodes of the marvellous Inspector Morse series. I knew that the acting, drama and production would be high because they always have been, but these last episodes were outstanding and captured a real sense of the underlying relationship between, not just Morse and Lewis, but the Superintendant as well. Throughout these last episodes, we were given intriguing snippets about Morse's background and I found myself wanting to know more about the young Morse and what had made him as he was, a deeply solitary man who couldn't quite connect with life (in my humble opinion). The Remorseful Day is the last episode and the one in which Morse dies; it was devastatingly poignant and left me with a real sense of loss. I'm afraid the last scene in which Lewis bids the deceased Morse farewell is a tissue job. This purchase was worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morse of Course, 11 April 2013
By 
John Edwards "Englishman in Wisconsin" (New Richmond, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Series 8 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I had a box set of thirty episodes and discovered that there were thirty three. It finally ended the mystery of how Morse ended. Great show, great finish, true too life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm the new generation - but I loved it. It went deeper., 11 Jun. 2011
By 
E. K. Gonzalez "Liz" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Series 8 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I love Lewis and don't really like Morse. I was given Morse DVD's simply because someone heard I liked murder programmes. As I said I'm the new generation. I do like 'Inspector Morse' but the series' were done before before my time. That didn't matter for this series though because the relationship between Morse and Lewis got stronger and deeper. Lewis had a chance to be a D.I. finally. We could see new sides to Morse. Morse's death was very sad but it was a great end to a great series, after all it had been running for quite some years. As many people have said, it was worth every penny! All you 'Morse' or 'Lewis' lovers or murder film lovers buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Series 8 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
As always I love the Morse series , can't beat this . RIP J. Thaw / Morse. Lewis has taken over and doing a grand job with his sidekick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Morse episode with a difference, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
K. A. Newton (North West England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this episode. It is the one about the canal murders near Oxford in 18000000's

I have the whole Morse series on DVD but bought this Amazon Instant Video item to have this episode immediately to hand when on-line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery, have played all discs, no problems ..., 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Series 8 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Quick delivery, have played all discs, no problems. This is not the first time I have used zoverstocks , so chose them when looking for Used DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Morse = series 8, 22 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Series 8 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Well priced, it was packaged as would expect at that price, and the content was fine. Pleased with purchase and service. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Morse, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Series 8 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
At the price paid it was great to buy the series so I could watch them in order! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up to standard, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Series 8 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Great series. DVDs were great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inspector Morse: Series 8 (Box Set) [DVD]
£17.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews