Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game I've ever played
One word sums up this game: perfection! Yes, that's right, perfection. There is nothing bad about this game.
Although the game itself is very similar to the previous instalments in terms of looks and gameplay, it takes it much further. For example, there is almost nothing that you can't do in this game.
Steal vehicles, shoot people, run your own gang,...
Published on 6 Dec. 2005 by RM

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for teens
This is a fun game and for PC gamers is very much a straight port of the console gaming experience (nothing wrong with that, its just that PC users are use to being able to save in mission, etc)

To get the most enjoyment out of this game you need to be male and employ the mindset of a 14 yo, that is probably its strength and its weakness. Theres nothing like...
Published on 5 Mar. 2010 by irishjack


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The missions are awful but it doesn't matter, 30 Mar. 2007
By 
C. Roots (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have spent probably far too much of my time playing this game, and on one level really love it. The problem with it is that the missions themselves are unbelievably boring. Some revolve around achingly mundane things, such as getting your hair cut, a boring enough activity in the real world; the vast majority are based on how fast you can drive somewhere - which gets *incredibly* tedious and frustrating very quickly. I stopped even bothering after the first ten or so missions - and thankfully what makes this game so great is the open-endedness of it. You can totally forego all the missions, and just spend hours driving around the huge map, exploring and listening to your own music; you can find a bar and play some pool (in what is a surprisingly well-executed minigame). In this sense GTA SA is completely immersive, and great fun. Apply some cheats and you can while away huge amounts of time on it. I just wish the missions were more imaginative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the definitive version of the definitive gta game, 14 Jun. 2005
By 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Fans of Rockstar's previous grand theft auto releases will find that San Andreas manages to expand on every single element of Vice City's awesome gameplay while also retaining the almost-perfect fun levels of the previous gta games. If you've never played a gta game (ha!) you're in for the time of your life. I wholeheartedly recommend this game to everyone, regardless of age or political or religious inclination. You must own this game.
If Vice City was Scarface, then San Andreas is Boyz N the Hood. Set in 1990-ish, the game follows Carl CJ Johnson who just returned from Liberty City (gta3) to Los Santos (one of the three cities in SA, SA being a state), after finding out his mother was killed. Immediately after landing he's framed for the murder of a cop, by corrupt Officer Tenpenny. I won't go into any more detail about the plot, but suffice to say it twists and turns, and carries the game very well.
San Andreas follows the traditional GTA formula - you have to work through a series of missions in a large (very, very large) city, working your way from small time hoodlum to big cheese. The first thing you must do after setting down in grove street (your home), is to get your name back on the map. You do this by mostly attacking other gangs and things like that. The first third of the game is just a big gang war pretty much, it's not until you leave Los Santos that San Andreas starts to feel more like Vice City.
Like all previous GTA games, the missions are the central focus of the game - and San Andreas has some great ones. The first few missions teach you how to play the game, how to shoot, how to drive, how to spray paint, fight. Things like that. But in no time you're stealing crates of guns from an army base, burning a marijuana field before the authorities arrive or chasing a high-speed train down its tracks to kill some of its... less pleasant.. passengers. There's definitely much more variety here.
Where the last two previous gta games have taken place in a city each, San Andreas is an entire state here, with 3 large cities and lots of farmland and small villages in between. The much improved city size completely removes the I've-driven-down-this-road-fifty-thousand-times feeling of advanced deja vu from previous games, as well as making the world feel much more worldly, which helps the feel of the game a lot.
The music has always been a large element in the gta series, and every gta game so far has had great music. SA is mostly rap-centric, things like rap, hip-hop and soul. I really don't like this type of music, but we also have a nice alternative radio station, a decent rock station and a great talk radio station, so there is plenty of variety here. There are many nods to previous gta games, including an hilarious scene with the "exploder" star, and a nice cameo by lazlow.
A sort of pseudo-RPG skill system has been added, for everything from swimming to shooting, you have a skill rating that improves the more you do. You also have stats for personal attributes such as sex-appeal and muscle. These stats could easily have come to dominate the gameplay, but rockstar intelligently decided to make them a very subtle feature. You barely notice them, which is great. But they serve a useful purpose for balancing reasons.
Sit down and make a wish list of stuff you wanted in vice city. Guess what? It's all in San Andreas. One of the big ones (for me, anyway) is the ability to give fellow gang members dawg commands - er, dog commands (stay, follow, etc), Ahem - which gives way to some excellent gang wars which were sadly lacking in Vice City. Bicycles are also in the game at last, they are really cool! Oh, and you can finally, finally swim. The ability to own buildings like in VC is back and better, and you can actually break into people's houses now for night time burglaries
For those of you who managed to wait for the PC version - you've been richly rewarded, Rockstar develop their games using high resolution textures and then scales them down to meet the needs of the machine, the pc has all the high resolution textures in all their glory, along with an intimidating draw distance and none of those silly frame rate stutters a certain console gets. In short it looks much better and it runs much better. This is the definitive version of the game.
The SA mission arc is quite long and eats up a lot of time, but when the missions are over, the game is only just begun! There's so much in the world you can see and do, it could've been frustrating, confusing and intimidating. But again rockstar have implemented their ideas excellently. There's so much to slowly discover, but most of it is stuff you don't even need to concern yourself with if you don't want to. Suffice to say you could easily spend 300+ hours playing SA without seeing everything it has to offer.
The Grand Theft Auto games have all been amazing (except GTA London!!), from 1998 to 2005. And now in San Andreas we have what is not just the best GTA game yet (until the next one, anyway), we have a game which is so much better than most other games on the market that you can't even compare them. If you're looking for a game which features awesome gameplay, an intimidating lifespan, some fantastic music, great visuals and a game which is so much more than the sum of its (awesome) parts, look no further than Grand Theft Auto San Andreas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game of the Decade, 3 Jun. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
My title says it all really San Andreas is easily one of the best games i have ever played (alongside about 10 other games equally as good in other ways) Why well the most obvious thing is the hundreds of thing you can do in this game it took me 6 months to finish every mission odd job etc,

This game can be played again and again and again i play it regularly still even now and ive completed it the map is Huge so huge that you will find something that you haven't noticed before.

Ive been playing the game recently on a new graphics card and this game looks amazing (can't believe some people thought the graphics were bad,
my advice to you is if you don't own this game

Update ive recently downloaded a mod called crips 2011 and i have to say wow its a complete redo of the graphics, real vehicles new graphics it looks amazing and is worth getting just for this im off to play it again.

Buy it you won't regret it.

Jammie81
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably the finest gaming experience ever, 15 Jun. 2005
By 
M. Young "M. Young" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Fans of Vice City wont be disappointed. This game is absolutely huge. I've been playing it for a week or so and cant get enough of it. This takes elements from all sorts of games and puts them into one fantastic gaming experience - e.g. there are plenty of motorbike games out there that arent as good as the motorbiking element in this game. Equally, there are plenty of driving sims that arent anywhere near as good as the driving element in GTA:SA, and a driving game just stops there, whereas this goes so much further.
For the ultra obsessive (which will be anyone that plays this) there are loads of extra challenges, such as finding 100 grafitti spots in the city of Los Santos, finding 60 or so horseshoes dotted around Las Venturas, or taking photos of 60 specific sites in San Fierro. Enough to keep you entertained for hours and hours and hours...
I keep forgetting to eat and sleep(!)
Probably the best game ever. No joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GTA SA, 27 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
San Andreas eclipses every other game that has come before it simply because it is more than simply a bunch of code on a disc. San Andreas and the whole Grand Theft Auto series is truly a phenomenon that tests the boundaries of our society by gently pushing at the limits of our collective fabric. It puts forth ideas that we shy from and lets us explore them in a safe and controlled environment. Does San Andrea go too far sometimes? Yes and no. It gives us the freedom to do anything we choose. But these are our decisions. And for this reason it stands alone as an unprecedented achievement. Regardless of what platform you play it on, San Andreas must be experienced at all costs. It might not always be pretty, but it sure is fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA San Andreas, 13 May 2007
By 
JLarks (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I feel that this game is by the far the best GTA. I have a PS2 and a PC, and have owned GTA Vice City, San Andreas and Liberty City Stories for the PS2, and GTA San Andreas for the PC.

I can safely say that San Andreas is by far the best, and it will always be the best GTA until GTA:IV comes out later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not a game, it is an experience. Just Wonderful, 26 July 2005
By 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is an excellent addition to the GTA franchise. Massive game, huge area to explore with great humour thrown in. Sound and graphics are fine as you would expect from Rockstar.
At least as good as Vice City. I highly recommend this experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class, 30 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Once again GTA just keeps getting better. This game is huge, lots of fun, lots of recognisable voice talent, and did I mention fun?
Graphically I'd have to say it's just touched up on Vice City and polished it off. I find that on my pc there's still some glitches in the graphics that appeared in GTA3 and Vice City (eg. some transparency problems). But it's something that you soon forget about while absorbing the game.
Also I don't know what all the fuss is over the hidden sex scene and violence, it's already an adult rated game, why do adults need protection against those scenes? If kids play the game their parents are at fault, not the game developers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible scope and playability - but a little slow, 15 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Rockstar have truly excelled, the sheer scope and attention to detail of this game is incredible. In previous GTA games, you had the sense only of being in a city - San Andreas surrounds the 3 cities with countryside give the sense of being in an entire country, with large freeways interconnecting the main cities. These are a good place to note the sense of speed and momentum of the faster vehicles and indeed the vehicle physics in general appears greatly improved over Vice City, much more realistic.
The general game plays similar to Vice City - with the usual missions, plus missions related to the aquisitions of specific buildings. There is also the new opportunity to stake your claim to the land by acquiring different territories from rival gangs by arriving in an area, starting a gang war and then fighting it out until you (hopefully) gain the territory. With the new concept of "respect" you are able to obtain larger and larger gangs as the game progresses to make such escapades easier.
Overall, the game provides everything that the previous games provided, plus much, much more.
Having seen some of the other criticisms or review they say on here, many of the points are however valid so to clarify;
- I also have a problem in that the game can become sluggish with "lower" powered systems. I have Athlon AMD 2000+ processor, 768mb memory, GeForce 4 graphics card (don't know how much memory...). I had similar problems but to a much lesser extent on Vice City...
- Yes, there is a lot of swearing. I hasten to remind that this game is clearly labelled with an 18 certificate, and clearly labels on the box that it contains such language! Amazon also state the suitability for over 18's only. Not really that different from your a typical Hollywood film these days in that respect. I can't see that running around with machine guns commiting various crimes can apparently be acceptable, but swearing not??? I think most people know what they are getting out of this game and are not likely to find this a problem
- Vehicle (and foot) controls at first seem less good and sophisticated than any recent GTA games. The vehicle controls after playing for some time seem no better/worse/different than Vice City. However, this may be because I have gained more driving skill (another new feature) so my ability has genuinely improved the way the vehicles drive? In terms of foot controls, I still miss being able to "strafe" as is possible in most other games of this type. This I find though is more than made up by the ability to roll sideways from the crouching position
I haven't thus far had any problems with crashing etc. My only real complaint is the gym. Anyway old enough to remember the average sports game from the 80's on Spectrum/C64/Amstrad etc where the cycling games involved alternately pressing keys to build up speed. They were boring, not very good etc and the gym is reminiscent of that. I understand why it's been done the way it has, but it should have been better
Whilst I can see that there are a few down points (slowness in some cases), overall the plus points far, far outweigh the negative, I can't recommend this game highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still stunning!, 14 Nov. 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This violent game continues the Take-Two/Rockstar classic series of GTA. The breakthrough came with GTA III, when a separate, unpredictable, interactive street scene was embedded in the game, and continues in the later Vice City through to GTA 4. In San Andreas we are introduced to Watts District/Los Angeles afro-american ghetto life and culture. Once you accept the frequent 'F' word and ghetto mentality, the scenarios and sheer cleverless are fascinating. The constant, incredibly dark & subtle car radio dialogue, the amazing, adult, scene setting video clips and corrupt police background amuse and impress. Just how did they put it all together?
I am playing this big game through a second time, and it is just as enjoyable, and surprisingly quite different from my first attempt.
GTA 4 is more like an enlarged 'Max Payne' from the same studios, but San Andreas is more colourful like 'Vice City', and you start to admire the 'hero' Carl Johnson.
Just sit on the edge of your seat and enjoy it! Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews