Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game I've ever played
One word sums up this game: perfection! Yes, that's right, perfection. There is nothing bad about this game.
Although the game itself is very similar to the previous instalments in terms of looks and gameplay, it takes it much further. For example, there is almost nothing that you can't do in this game.
Steal vehicles, shoot people, run your own gang,...
Published on 6 Dec 2005 by RM

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for teens
This is a fun game and for PC gamers is very much a straight port of the console gaming experience (nothing wrong with that, its just that PC users are use to being able to save in mission, etc)

To get the most enjoyment out of this game you need to be male and employ the mindset of a 14 yo, that is probably its strength and its weakness. Theres nothing like...
Published on 5 Mar 2010 by irishjack


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good game, but not a good PC game, 19 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Rockstar seem to have cracked manufacturing PS2 and XBox games, but I'm afraid they've made two quite serious errors in this game, one of which makes it near-unplayable for me.
The first is that they've ported the control system from the PS2 direct; meaning that some of the controls are inconsistent and don't make sense. I also don't like the in-vehicle cameras, preferring the chase-mode camera from older games. Driving, particularly under pressure, can be a near-impossible task.
The second glaring error is that the game is still too linear; I cranked up the game expecting to fly into Las Venturas and have fun. I couldn't; you are STILL locked out of most areas until completing the story missions. For a massive game with endless side-tasks, etc. this is a ridiculous move, and one which means you can't really explore properly.
Now, the storyline, soundtrack and graphics are all fine, and most people are going to enjoy this game, but Rockstar really do need to think carefully how they port games to the PC. I won't be purchasing any further GTA titles until they do. With hindsight, I dislike having paid £30 for a game that niggles at me like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GTA falls on its face, 11 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
If you are reading this, chances are you are looking forward to this game.
I know. I was in the same position until today.
Now, i feel £30 could have gotton me so much more.
Let me give you my specs
2.1 Ghz Processor, 128Mb RAM, Geforce 4 graphics- Pretty mid level
What I had to set SA to to lose jerkiness;
Draw Distence: Low
Resolution: 725x520x32
Anti-analising: off
With all that talk of better graphics and draw distence since October, this has left me angry.
Sound is worst.
I can't get my character to talk other than in Induction cut-scenes, and the radio stations consist of rap, rap, and more bloody rap.
Even if they would talk, dialogue consists of F- you, F-that, and shut your effing mouth. Hope eldery relatives aren't staying over.
Gameplay is best left forgotton. After a frustrating hard level, very early on, a person you are meant to protect, leaps out the car, and starts punching the bonnet, while the occupants are shooting her.
Restart.
After that appalling mess, it's a low-rider competion, something less fun then a parents funeral. It never explains what your meant to do, and a zero point score. That pile of rubbish caused me to die a little inside.
It's been 9 months since GTA was released on PlayStation 2, and it's difficult to see what's been improved other than a nicer instruction manuel.
If you have a high-spec machine with a joypad, get this.
If not, go for the smaller, but easily superior, Vice City
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars is bigger better?, 13 Mar 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
GTA has always been a favourite, but it's getting a bit long in the tooth. I've never really liked the graphics, if it were more comic-book, like the illustrations it would be great, but up til GTA3 the graphics leave a lot to be desired. Maybe I shouldn't compare it to something like Timeshift or Assasin's Creed, but although these are two games that are bad for game-play they excel in the graphics department, GTA3 looks like it was designed by school-kids on a saturday afternoon, with it's shadows that are so fake, and sound that comes and goes. Also it's about time the 'hero' had an iPod so he can continue to listen to music while out and about killing, it's so annoying when he steps out of the car and the music just gets chopped off - not even fading with distance.
Also, although there is more geography, don't confuse 'bigger' with 'better', now, unless you 'rocketman' it takes ages to drive to your girlfriend's hideout in the country, and she'll probably with angry with you when you arrive. Which is another gripe, what self-respecting hoodlum has to roam around looking for flowers? What with the buying property and obtaining 'assets' our 'hero' has become a hen-pecked landlord. The only fun missions are the secret agent infiltrations, and that seems to be a different game. And the language is un-necessarily foul as well, I'm a great believer in using coulorful language, but this is just more than you need.
I raced through the missions in a few days, then shot the annoying girlfriend in the country, and got bored looking for oysters - oysters?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 13 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Not as good as I thought it would be, If you like getting your hair cut and going to the gym and bashing your keyboard to bits and having to stand at a counter to eat you may like this.but I think it just adds to the frustration. strangest bit, I have 2 PC's number 1 XP1800, 512mb ram 128mb video card this game runs fine. number 2 XP3000 1gb ram 128mb video card runs terribly the people all seem to dissapear as you approach them, tried every setting , made no difference. Bigger yes, better I don't think so. way over the top swearing. If I was a black person I would be mad as hell at this game, it makes all black guys out to be gun toting,, swearing idiots that can't talk properly.
I am sorry if I sound rascist, I don't mean to.
Without some serious patching this game is flawed, now I wish I had thrown the money down the drain, after 2 days it now sits on the shelf unused. ironicaly it will appeal to more under 18's because of the language, I kid you not every other word is F
Buyer beware!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gta sanandreas rocks, 15 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
lol how can anyone rip this off (i guess thats what happens if you buy a cheap pc from pc world, plus anyone who thinks a geforce 4 is a mid level graphics card is mistaken its based on direct x 7, cards like the geforce fx and the newer cards are based on direct x 9 "which not suprisingly is what the game uses") my system specs arnt the best but i can still run the game very well indeed.
im running an amd athlon xp 2000+ with 1gig of pc3200 with a 128mb geforce fx 5900 the resolution i play the game at is 1280 by 1024 pixels in 32 bit colour
this game just takes your breath away if youve seen the ps2 version youll thank your self for having a good spec pc (mine only cost £400 to build "yep it dont cost that much for a decent pc) beleave the hype this is gta's finest hour.
more missions motors planes "even a jet pack" this realy has been worth the wait.
i would say more but i realy want to get back to trying to get through the missions, this should last months even after i complete it ill start fresh all over again to see how fast i can complete it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 127 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst game ever known to mankind, 6 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is a big pile of bullpies, now some of you might disaggree, but the constituion of the United Kingdom permitts free speech. So here we go.
First of all, the controls are utterly pathetic and the angles are dodgey.
Second, where on earth is the moral in this game, or in any gta game for that matter?
third the graphical imaging is utterly awful.
fourth, FOR GOODNESS SAKE, ANIMATED PORNOGRAPHY, WHERE ARE WE??? JAPAN??????
please do not waste your money on this game, atleast not the pc version, console version you have better control. Yet however, spend your money carefully, buy Empire Earth 2, it is a lot better, or even battlefield 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Limited Edition (PC DVD)
£6.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews