Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When pop sounds even better than pop
It was many years ago that I first heard these albums. As someone who prefers to listen to classical music, I 'put my toe in the water' by deciding to try out these classical arrangements of classic pop tunes. I was delighted! Sadly, my tapes (remember them?) eventually stretched so much that the recordings were impossible to listen to. So, when I discovered that the...
Published on 8 Feb 2012 by Patrick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not bad. Heard better on earlier LP
Published 2 months ago by Chris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When pop sounds even better than pop, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Essential Classic Rock (Audio CD)
It was many years ago that I first heard these albums. As someone who prefers to listen to classical music, I 'put my toe in the water' by deciding to try out these classical arrangements of classic pop tunes. I was delighted! Sadly, my tapes (remember them?) eventually stretched so much that the recordings were impossible to listen to. So, when I discovered that the albums were on CD and at a very reasonable price, I could not resist the temptation to purchase them. I'm glad I did! My daughters are now enjoying music that both displays the prowess of classical orchestras as well as hearing classic pop tunes for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good on CD, 17 Aug 2010
By 
ph2009 (South East UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential Classic Rock (Audio CD)
If you were one of those who saw the original TV advertisments and bought the first Classic Rock album and then became hooked on this type musical interpretation of classic songs then you will like this. It is a faithful reporduction of the original 4 albums. Okay so they are not vinyl and don't open out in book form as with the first two and the Second Movement is not a blue vinyl but for ease of playing and not having to get up from you seat to turn the record over when the side has finished then these are great. I enjoyed these renditions again and can now listen in may car without the annoying "click" that I had grown to ignore on Pinball Wizard.

So it depends on your choice of music; you either like this sort of musis or you don't. At this price, though it is a cheap way to find out.

Give it a go. I really liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Classic Rock, 7 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Classic Rock (Audio CD)
5 out of 5 - i am thankful that i got the chance to buy it via amazon.uk, cause in Austria and Germany some ****** sellin similar boxsets for 100+ Euro. Although i missed GLORIA, it is a really great deal. And i loved the LSO Classic Rock project since i was a child - or better to say "i am not often proud to be a human, but when i am listening to such a breathtaking and wonderful music, then i am".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast From The Past, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Classic Rock (Audio CD)
I still have the original "Classic Rock" K-Tel LP released 1978, but sadly the years have been unkind to it, and it no longer plays.
I was very pleased to find these CD's. Disc one is that original album in full, despite the fact that the box and jewel-case inlay print omits to mention the 10th track "Sailing" which IS on the disc, so a very pleasant surprise.
The memories came flooding back. The quality of the recordings is excellent, well worth a listen. If you like Classical music, you'll love what the LSO have done with some of the most iconic tunes of the last 40 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great arrangements of classic hits, 22 Oct 2012
By 
David Barber (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Classic Rock (Audio CD)
All of these arrangements are good and some are outstanding. The volume needs to be set high to hear all the nuances of the music. Just sit back and let the melodies cascade over you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, 23 Sep 2012
This review is from: Essential Classic Rock (Audio CD)
This is a great collection of songs which I really love listening to again and again. If you like classic rock you can also save up to 33% on 'classic rock' magazine [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old School., 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Classic Rock (Audio CD)
To many years ago I had the classic rock series in Vinyl.
Needless to say that over the years they disappeared somewhere.
House moving a few times tends to do that.
I was really pleased to see these on Amazon and could not resist buying them.
It was really good listening again to some old favourites played orchestral.
An excellent buy and very fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 29 Aug 2014
This review is from: Essential Classic Rock (Audio CD)
Not bad. Heard better on earlier LP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good reproduction., 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Classic Rock (Audio CD)
Fantstic, very good reproduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 28 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Essential Classic Rock (Audio CD)
i bought this set some time ago and decided to review it, do not buy, i personally thought it a load of rubbish, hope this helps, p.s. i gave it one star, only because you cannot leave a review with no stars, it is very lucky to recieve one star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Classic Rock
Essential Classic Rock by London Symphony Orchestra (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews