Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime at its best
If you enjoy a good Tv crime thriller wire in the blood is the one for you. Robson Green plays Tony Hill who is a criminal Psychiatrist who gets into the minds of people who kill and explains his theories why killers kill or abduct and how they would go about this and what their next move would be. He works alonside a female detective and between the two of them crack...
Published on 9 Sept. 2008 by Caroline Holland

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the subtitles?
Unbelieveable that in this day an age, boxsets still come out without subtitles. And with Robson Green the 'star', they're not just for the hard of hearing.
Published on 1 Jun. 2011 by P. Bannon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime at its best, 9 Sept. 2008
By 
Caroline Holland (bradford, west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
If you enjoy a good Tv crime thriller wire in the blood is the one for you. Robson Green plays Tony Hill who is a criminal Psychiatrist who gets into the minds of people who kill and explains his theories why killers kill or abduct and how they would go about this and what their next move would be. He works alonside a female detective and between the two of them crack cases and bring criminals to justice. Very gripping and sometimes scary Scense and leaves you wanting more and more. Story lines are both intersting and gripping and the part Dr tony hill plays (Robson Greene) is very well scripted and enjoyable. Crime at its best as both actors gell together very well and make this gripping entertaining Tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the subtitles?, 1 Jun. 2011
By 
P. Bannon (Saudi Arabia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Unbelieveable that in this day an age, boxsets still come out without subtitles. And with Robson Green the 'star', they're not just for the hard of hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wire in the Blood, 12 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I feel this is a must for any fan of any TV crime series. Robson Green's portrayal of a criminal psychiatrist is captivating and, at times, disturbing at the same time. The on screen chemistry between Green and co-star Hermione Norris is perfectly balanced. With a brilliant plot every time, each episode will leave you gagging for more! Not one for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Dec. 2007
By 
M. Shirlaw (Stirling, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit that I'm not a big fan crime dramas or British TV at all.. Give me sci-fi and I'm happy! So with that in mind you must know that I love Wire In The Blood!

I first discovered it with the most recent TV broadcast and felt the need to go out and buy all the previous series. Having know Robson Greene from programmes I deem unmatchable and awful music I was initially a bit apprehensive about anything he appeared in. In this however he excels as the socially inadequate criminal psychologist that you sometimes can't help feeling a bit sorry for.

All in all every episode of Wire In The Blood from the 1st series up to present is thoroughly enjoyable with brilliant plots and great acting.. so much so that the other half and I sat and watched series 1 & 2 in a single day.. unable to stop ourselves!

Buy this and I'm sure you will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series 1 and 2, 29 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The first and second series in this long running TV saga of good v evil is very entertaining and worth watching. If you, like me didn't see this on TV you will undoubtedly enjoy it.
Its all about a professor who is drawn into becoming a profiler for the police. Robson Green and Hermione Norris make a dynamic duo.
This is rated 15 which surprised me a little as I thought it could be disturbing to some viewers. Not surprising then is that series 2 and 3 are rated 18. Buying this you get a 5 disc set giving you 10.5 hours of viewing time and at the price I paid was very good value for my hard earned cash. Each chapter is a stand alone episode so you don't after remember what happend in the previous chapter.
I like films where I have to work out the twist and turns of the plot and each chapter certaintly has lots of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Yor Into Crime This Is For You, 19 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of these rare moments when you find a truely amazingly portrayed book to tv.

If you havent read any of Val McDermid's books i cnt see why you wouldnt enjoy Robson's character Tony and Hermione's charatcer Carol.
But being a fan of the books its lovely to see talented actors portray the characters in a way in which im sure Val is proud of.

Every episode has the same build up and climax at the end which you would expect, and love about thriller/crime genres.
However most of the plots deal with gruesome scence (which doesnt bother me) but might bother others. I feel the gruesome parts only illistrate real life.

I would recommend this 10 fold over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent television, 7 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
A friend recently lent us this boxed set - and we watched the first four episodes at the first sitting! We would have continued, but we were already late for dinner with friends.
Both Robson Green and Hermione Norris are superb - and although the series is now quite old, it certainly stands the test of time.
We are already planning to buy all subsequent series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not too keen on Green before this . . . . . . i am now!, 21 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I was a little wary when i was recommend to watch an episode of Wire in the Blood due to the fact it had Green in it. I have to say, i have completely changed my opinion on him after watching this series.
Green plays a police psychologist, helping in solving crimes by attempting to get inside the mind of the criminal and try to know what they are going to do next before they do it. The thing which makes this crime series different from any other is how raw and unpredictable it can be. Its not your average CSI, bad guy does bad things then gets caught the end, its more realistic than that. Some episodes end without the criminal being caught, others the police get wrong and the criminal wins, you can never tell what will happen and thats what kept me hooked!
Green plays his role brilliantly, the slightly cooky, alternative personality seemed to suit him and i was impressed by how well he can actually act.
Bottom line is, this series is great, so if you're thinking about watching any of the Wire in the Blood series then this is definitely where to start. Good stuff, recommend to anyone who like a good old crime series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Subtitles, 22 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Can not believe that there are no subtitles - Not worth watching without subtitles, since you don't want to miss single sentence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would have given 5 stars but for..., 6 July 2008
By 
Suresh Anantha "filmbuff" (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Thought it was going to be just another crime/serial killer series. Pleasantly surprised at the quality of the writing. Well crafted, with the right dose of humour, suspense, and thrills. Would have given this a 5 star rating, but sadly subtitles are lacking. The character of Dr Hill mumbles every now and then, and its not always easy to grasp his words. Quite sad really, cos my last purchases all had subtitles...Cracker, Cadfael, Quatermass collection. I think subtitles are essential, and I cant understand why these were omitted in this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD]
£14.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews