Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true feat of cinematography which has set the standards
One of the BEST horror films EVER! If not, 'THE' best.
The film portrays TRUE events that happened in a real town called Amityville, Long Island NY in 1975.
"In a middle class, sleepy little town, a boy named Ronald Defeo, 'out of the blue', shoots to death all 6 members of his entire family in their sleep. The house is only a couple of meters away from...
Published on 21 May 2000

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but avoid this cut edition
Five stars for the film. It is a genuinely unnerving experience, especially in its portrayal of the family massacre carried out by the eldest son. The special fx are brilliant 80's prosthetics and animatronics/puppets, none of your CGI nonsense here! For me this is my favourite sequel for the sheer terror of the film, although I do enjoy the original and admit to...
Published 18 months ago by Man of the Third Eye


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true feat of cinematography which has set the standards, 21 May 2000
By A Customer
One of the BEST horror films EVER! If not, 'THE' best.
The film portrays TRUE events that happened in a real town called Amityville, Long Island NY in 1975.
"In a middle class, sleepy little town, a boy named Ronald Defeo, 'out of the blue', shoots to death all 6 members of his entire family in their sleep. The house is only a couple of meters away from the houses next door, and yet no shots were heard. The gun used was a high-powered rifle! The boy is arrested and sentenced to life. End of story.
Until, 1 year later the Lutz family moves into the house (the man uncannily looks very much like the murderer), only to move out 28 days later claiming that the house is (demonically) haunted.
The Lutz's story became worldwide news, and completely overshadowed the DeFeo story. The Lutz's wrote a book called 'The Amityville Horror' about their ordeal, then a film was made, based on the book, also called 'The Amityville Horror'."
This is a sequel to the Lutz's 'The Amityville Horror', but actually tells the story the Defeo's.
The movie offers a different perspective from the conventional facts. In the movie, shortly after the family moves in, subtle supernatural things start to happen. This, though, leads the father to turn violent, and domestic troubly start. A priest is asked to bless the house, but when he comes he soon wishes that he hadn't. One dark night the eldest boy, when in The house all alone, is violently possessed by something very evil. Over a period of time the boys attitude and appearance start to change for the worse, he then has incest with his sister, and finally he murders his entire family.
The cinematography in this film is in a class of it's own. A true feat that has set the standards, which no other horror film has managed; (with the exception of the original, 'The Amityville Horror', and 'The Exorcist'). The movie is well made in every respect and the acting in outstanding.
The house itself, that the movie was filmed in, is enough to give you creeps. It's the second most spookiest house I've seen; the original house is The spookiest.
The achievement is the atmosphere and vibe that this movie manages to produce- something uncannily REAL...
Nuff said. Watch it!
p.s Don't listen to any bad reviews you might hear about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly creepy and spooky, 28 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I know that many horror fans hold this movie in low regard, but I found it gritty, disturbing, and genuinely scary. It’s not perfect, but I think it deserves five stars. For me, the whole fact or fiction debate is unimportant; I am judging this movie solely on its own merits. The makers of the film may have had a limited budget, but they doggedly pulled out all of the stops; maybe they went overboard once or twice, but that is quite OK with me, given what they did achieve. Naturally, the house itself with its baleful eye-like windows, does much to set the table for a feast of fright, but the makers were not content to depend on the house alone. The point-of-view shots from the viewpoint of the evil essence work wonderfully; the use of unusual, oddly-angled perspectives was highly effective; and the supernatural manifestations were never allowed to overshadow the real story of the family’s tragedy. The acting was not particularly accomplished in general, with the mother in particular guilty of overacting, but Jack Magner as Sonny and Diane Franklin as Patricia give outstanding performances in very different roles. Sonny’s evolution from wholesome yet troubled young man to demonic mass murderer is a little rushed and was necessarily trying both physically and mentally on the young actor, but Magner keeps this movie from becoming wholly unbelievable and laughable. Franklin also deserves much credit for her portrayal of the wholesome yet haunted younger sister of Sonny; she alone invites sympathy from the viewer and makes the events of the fateful night of horror truly disturbing.
Apparently, the makeup artists for this picture were told to just go crazy. For the most part, the special effects are very good, although the extent of physical transformations we witness in Sonny are probably somewhat excessive. This only becomes problematic toward the exorcism scenes at the end. The music is also an important and effective part of this movie experience, although at times it reminded me of Star Trek music.
Much has been made of the incest storyline, but I feel it is important to note that there is no graphic exploitation of this controversial theme. In fact, that aspect of the movie makes the tragedy all the more dramatic and compelling. The key to this movie’s winning me over was the concentration on family issues; to call this family dysfunctional is perhaps an understatement. The gore is there at times, but it is not the focus of the storyline—if anything, it takes away from rather than adds to the impact of the film on the viewer. It is also unfortunate but perfectly understandable that this film is compared so closely to The Exorcist. Certainly, the latter parts of the movie are weaker than the first half, and it is pretty obvious that the whole exorcism storyline reflected an attempt by the filmmakers to somewhat selfishly usurp the notoriety of The Exorcist. There are, however, many differences between this film and The Exorcist, and taken on its own merits I found the relevant scenes powerful and effective. I agree that the movie goes downhill somewhat after the pivotal murders actually take place, but I can honestly say that the first hour of this movie represents some of the most creepiest, spine-tingling moments in the annals of cinematic horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but avoid this cut edition, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Five stars for the film. It is a genuinely unnerving experience, especially in its portrayal of the family massacre carried out by the eldest son. The special fx are brilliant 80's prosthetics and animatronics/puppets, none of your CGI nonsense here! For me this is my favourite sequel for the sheer terror of the film, although I do enjoy the original and admit to having a soft spot for part 3 and Amityville Dollshouse.

Now to the reason I give two stars: Picture clarity and sound are ace, no complaints there, but the film itself is a cut version which withholds some of the impact the film was meant to have and works better with. I saw the unedited version on TV a year or so back and fully enjoyed the terror. So as you can imagine I was ecstatic when this Region 2 DVD was released, as I was loathed to pay the 40 asking for a new copy of the Collector's Edition. However I will come back to that point later.

The edited scenes, as far as I can recall, are the female nudity scenes which have been watered down in this version and the court scenes are also missing. It may not sound like much, but the run time of this DVD is 94 minutes whereas the run time of the Collector's Edition is 100 minutes - both are Region 2, thus no tracking speed difference.

My advice would be to shop about for the Collector's Edition or Region 1 edition as cheaply as possible in order to fully appreciate the film and the story, as without the additional 6 minutes this version falls flat compared to the full cut of the film. Plus the Collector's Edition has an array of bonus features, a documentary about the real life tragedy, collectors booklet and lobby cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychological Damage, 27 Feb 2013
This movie has received quite a few of negative reviews - lame acting by Rutanya Alda, inaccurate script, blatant copycat elements from The Exorcist, overblown special effects, questionable violence, lousy 2nd half of the movie ... this is mostly true, although somewhat exaggerated in places, but what this movie achieves in terms of pure psychological terror far outweighs these flaws. Agreed the movie is by no means perfect and does suffer from some the aforementioned faults to a certain extent but by Jesus it's just disturbing as hell ! I am a seriously hardened horror fan and this is THE ONLY movie to this day that I struggle to watch alone. The POV scenes are expertly executed, genuinely disturbing and work phenomenally well with Schifrins truly spine chilling score, the scene where the Demon is following the Son around the house and is represented in 1st person context by the movements of the camera is horrifically hair raising an unnerving, I defy anyone to watch this scene alone then to walk slowly up the stairs in complete darkness WITHOUT looking over their shoulder ! I borrowed this movie off a school friend when I was about 12 years old and I can remember not being able to sleep for weeks afterwards, many years on it still retains it's unique power to shock the mind. This movie is easily more powerful and disturbing than any silly slasher flick - watching someone getting hacked to bits by an axe is NOT scary - this is a superb claustrophobic 'mess your head up' cinematic gem that will stay with you for a long time. Highly recommended but you have been warned. NOTE: UK DVD is slightly cut - buy the US R1 DVD for the complete horrifying experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder and Possession at 112 Ocean Avenue., 5 Oct 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Amityville II: The Possession is directed by Damiano Damiani and co-adapted to screenplay by Tommy Lee Wallace and Dardano Sacchetti from the Hans Holzer novel, Murder in Amityville. It stars James Olson, Burt Young, Rutanya Alda, Jack Magner and Diane Franklin. Music is scored by Lalo Schifrin and cinematography by Franco Di Giacomo.

Film is essentially a prequel to The Amityville Horror that was released in 1979. This is loosely based on the real life DeFeo family who were murdered at 112 Ocean Avenue by Ronald DeFeo Jr. On November 13th 1974.

In spite of mixed critical and horror fan reaction, Amityville II was a success at the box office and does in fact have a fan base that believes it is easily the best film of the franchise. Now that may not be saying much since the first film, which is often considered the best of the bunch, isn't exactly great horror anyway, but Amityville 2, in spite of its obvious flaws, does contain good ideas and moments of genuine spooky unease. The main problem with the film, apart from Alda's woeful acting that is, is that it cribs its last quarter from the most revered of horror films, The Exorcist. Even to someone like me, who isn't particularly struck with The Exorcist's popularity, can acknowledge that any sort of imitation of that films central conflict is going to pale in comparison. However, for those who like their horror to be about creepy houses and a haunting of some kind, then there is much to enjoy in this prequel.

From the off the tone is set as we hear the creepy strains of cherubic warbles, the house, with its distinctive Dutch Colonial face, homes into view and then it's the introduction of the Montelli family, a family soon to be terrorised by one of their own after a demon is released and takes possession of the eldest son. Build up is standard stuff as a series of strange occurrences begin to unsettle the already unstable Montelli family (father is a brutish oaf, mother is overtly religious), particularly a weird animal drawing that presents itself on the young children's bedroom wall. Then once the demon identifies its target and begins its stalking process, film shifts from creepy haunting into violent terror, with the added kickers of an incestuous relationship and the introduction of a stoic bastion of religion courtesy of Olson's Father Adamsky. The effects and make up work seem tame by today's standards, but they are very effective regardless, and Schifrin has a good ear for tonal horror shifts.

It's hardly a masterpiece for sure, and some of it creaks for the wrong reasons, but it hits the right notes for the sub-genre of horror it sits in. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CREEPY AND ATMOSPHERIC, EVEN AFTER ALL THIS TIME, 25 July 2009
I first watched this film many moons ago when kiddies under 18 could hire the video out without any questions asked and I have to say it scared the bejaysus out of me, even to this day, I still can't watch it on my own and I'm a hardened horror fan.

I've always been fascinated with the "Amityville Horror", got all the books and all the associated videos, even been out to the house itself in New York. Obviously this film was a work of Hollywood and doesn't quite reflect exactly what happened to that poor family back in 1974, nonetheless questions to this day, still remain as to exactly what happened.

As for the film itself, the house (obviously not the actual house) is the most creepiest I've ever seen. The ultimate "haunted house" as it were. The camera angles, the suspense, atmosphere the works, not to mention those infamous windows which I have to say, have long gone from the original house, still gives me the chills.

As a hardened horror fan, I've seen scores of films but this is one that stands out, maybe it's because it was made in 1982, long before the old special effects etc. I just find it so disturbing. The footsteps on the stairs, Sonny on his own, being terrorised by the unseen force. Nothing is more frightening that what you don't see, rather than what you do.

For me personally, this will always be one of my favourite films. If you've not seen it, I recommend that you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly a very good sequel, 17 Mar 2014
Amityville II's success is that it never drags nor gets bogged down by expectation of the original movie. Not only is it a harsher and darker movie than the original, but whisper it- it's better. You always feel that the original had no meat to the story, but this has plenty. We have incest, guilty sex and of course possession, ala Exorcist. It's surprisiing that lead star James Olson only went on to do one more movie after this. Diane Franklin steals the show as the older sister and watch out for Burt Young who is good but underused.

A very good solid piece of horror- don't watch with the lights switched off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 Oct 2013
This is a great horror film and the best in the Amityville series of films.A truly creepy and disturbing film with a a music score to match.The Amityville films were actually influenced by a true case of family murder,so this film although fictional horror ,keeps to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amityville 2: The Possesion, 20 Oct 2013
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Montelli family move into the infamous 112 Ocean Avenue house unknown to them that the house is cursed by a terrible demon. The families eldest son Sonny starts to feel the effects of the house straight away and eventually he is possessed and starts a horrible transformation which eventually leads to the brutal killings of his entire family.

This is set one year before the incidents in the first movie although there is quite a few inconsistencies between the two films but that didn't really bother me as I saw this as a completely different film.

Italian producer Dino De Laurentiis hired quite a few Italians for production elements of the film such as director Damiano Damiani, cinematographer Franco Di Giacomo and co-writer Dardano Sacchetti. Damiano Damiani's directing has vertually always been of a high standard (prohaps with the exception of the awful Spaghetti Western 'A Genius, Two Partners and a Dupe') and here he doesn't let us down with his creepy approach that creates a uncomfortable atmosphere. The camera pans all around the house as if we are the demonic spirit, with swift fluid movements.

Burt Young, yes Paulie from the Rocky movies plays Anthony Montelli a strict and brutal father who doesn't hesitate to hit his wife and use his belt on his young children. Jack Magner plays Sonny, a normal teenage boy who has a unusually close relationship with his sister Patricia and eventually once he is possessed the first thing he does is seduce her. James Olsen plays father Adamsky a priest who knows about the curse on the house and tries to save the soul of Sonny. All of the acting is pretty poor and over the top but Burt Young does pull off a good performance.

The possession elements of the film seem to inspired by The Exorcist but I still wouldn't call it blatant copying. The special effects used to show how Sonny changes is impressive, lumps appear and disappear on his body, his face transforms and then at the films climax, his face breaks away revealing another face underneath.

Lalo Schifrin composes a creep score that sounds like something Ennio Morricone would make with his child like lullaby in the opening theme tune.

Overall a decent film that isn't as good as the first movie but its still well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scariest film you'll see!, 18 Jun 2011
honestly this film is got to be the one of the scariest i seen!. based on the true story of butch defeo who killed his family. try to watch this one first before you watch the first one. dont know why they did it this way but this one is meant to be the first one. (the murders took place before the lutz family moved in!). scary film and even the music scares the pants off me. one to have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amityville II: The Possession [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
1.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews