Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally,the release this film deserves.
I remember seeing this film on bbc as a young child.Ever since then,this film has always been one of my favourites.I vividly remember one sequance from the television showing.After returning from a lightning raid in to French lines,a group of German soldiers break open and share a bottle of cognac.Years later i bought this film on vhs.The sound was very muffled,the...
Published on 16 Feb 2012 by W. J. Marshall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An historical record of iimportance
To say that I loved it is not appropriate. It is an horrific account of an appalling war..
Well produced
Published 5 months ago by John S. Harper


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits Home., 29 Jan 2013
By 
E. Edgar-Dimmack "Lizzie Labtech" (Loughborough Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front [DVD] (DVD)
A stomach-churning voyage into the First World War - you would wonder how our great grandparents survived the physical and mental strain of it all Highly recommended as a reminder of the past - I cried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And suddenly, it went all quiet., 19 Jun 2012
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's fairly common for novel-movie adaptations to, quite literally, fail before a release has made it to the theatres, and the same can even be said for remakes (Colin Farell's casting in Total Recall made the entire planet groan). In the case of 'All Quiet on the Western Front - a subject encapsulated by warfare - the legibility can become even more crucial since Erich Remarque's translations of a lost generation where already harrowing in their textual form. So harrowing that it stands as one of the greatest pieces of anti-war literature ever conceived.

Fortunately, this 1930 movie is one of the rare adaptations that not only meets, but often exceeds the imagery found in the original book. Sure enough, if you're not used to watching movies from this era then it's perfectly acceptable to question the actors accents and, at times, very staged performances, but these are attributes born from the era that this film was made. Being one of the first 'talkies' to have any kind of success, it's fascinating to witness the often awkwardness of the older actors bellowing into the microphones (in order for the sound to be picked up), and the gentle naivety of guiding the audience vocally.

'All Quiet...' is shocking, thought provoking and genuinely cruel. Based upon the diary entries of a young German soldier, the experiences perfectly exemplify the propaganda, excitement, reality, frustration, acceptance and death that formed the livelihood of almost everyone involved. And for every generation lost, a new one was ready and waiting to serve.

You'd expect a film over 80-years old to not have the same degree of realism that we have come to expect today - particularly during action scenes - but in many cases, the scenes present in 'All Quiet...' are worryingly real. So real that it disposes any notion CGI could recreate this kind of drama whilst still retaining an emotional connection with the characters. The black and white photography only enhances the realism of this footage as it mirrors the similar style photography that we have come to expect from archive footage. Everything, from the explosive effects to the trenches, is completely genuine and not wrapped up in a self-indulgent mess.

As for the restoration of this film, I was pleased to read that Universal spent so much money (little under a quarter of a million) and time getting it up to shape for a new master, and the results on the whole are excellent. Detail is truly amazing - particularly if you've been used to watching an old DVD or VHS version of this film. Contrast is simply excellent, and the removal of judder from ageing film stock has really stabilised what used to be awfully shaky scenes.

Could Universal have done a better job themselves? Perhaps, but only if they invested even more time, and with the breadth of their release schedule at the moment that was obviously not possible. Their work is not always perfect - scratches appear only on certain elements - but it simply looks wonderful on the whole. If I only had one complaint, its the 'digitised' effect that the grain has on some scenes.

The audio however is flawless, which is rare coming from a mono track. The clarity and dynamic range is vastly improved (possibly beyond it's original state), and the really reveals little details that you may never have heard. One the very last scene of this movie, you actually hear the motor of the camera running in the background, and during the battle sequences, shell fire effects sound unbelievable better. Hiss is obviously a product of it's time (due to optical recording techniques), but one of this movies most powerful elements is it's lack of music, and the decision to grant silence as an emotive catalyst. It's insanely powerful.

Finally, we have the 'Digibook' itself - an addition that will mean a lot to some, little to others. Considering how cheap this product is, I think it's absolutely excellent that Universal have included such lovely packaging and a wonderful book inside to match, and the best part is that it forms part of a 'Collectors Series' that Universal have begun (with titles like Jaws, E.T and The Sting having the same format). You can read bios about the actors and much, much more. Sadly this doesn't make up for the lack of Bonus Features on the disc itself, and if it wasn't for the awesome quality of the rest of the product, then I would go down to 4 Stars. Such a groundbreaking and culturally significant film deserves at least ONE feature that critically reflects on the film, but Universal decided to include absolutely nothing apart from the silent version of the movie, and two very short features that reflect on the studios history.

Despite this annoyance, 'All Quiet...' on Blu-ray demonstrates just what can be achieved through restoring something over 80-years old, and this only serves to give the product far more impact than in its previous battered state. If you are unable to weep at the very last scene of this movie, then do yourself a favour and at least read the original diary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC STORY, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dated obviously,but nevertheless a very good story. Some of the acting was 1930s but that was then.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The great war, no such thing, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front [DVD] (DVD)
A hard look at the reality's of war. The great war, no such thing................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front [DVD] (DVD)
very good indeed. Hubby loved it, it was purchased for him.ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film. Well worth it, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film. Well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front [DVD] (DVD)
Filming rather dated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sep 2014
A masterpiece !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old film., 12 April 2014
By 
alley kat (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't realise when I ordered this film that it was made in 1930, the Blu-ray did not do much justice to the fact it is still an old black & white film made in the days of Laurel & Hardy, I prefer the newer version with Richard Thomas (ex Waltons) that was made in the 70s, & you do get this in colour.
Summing up the original 1930s film, its just OK, but not for me, & I've already sold it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Steer well clear of this seller, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD was in Japanese (not what was advertised) and was an illegal (and very poor) copy. And they refused to refund me because they said I took the cellophane wrapping off! Not sure how else I was to know that it was an illegal copy unless I tried to play it. Amazon should not allow these sorts of sellers on to its site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Quiet on the Western Front [DVD]
All Quiet on the Western Front [DVD] by Lewis Milestone (DVD - 2008)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews