Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
115
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2012
Should be compulsive viewing for anyone who thinks that war is glorious . The message is dark , stark and delivered

without fuss. It is simply stunningly brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Great film, especially when you consider it is 85 years old. Had this on DVD before and the Blu Ray is a definite improvement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
One of the great anti-war films of all time. Although it is a silent film I was enthralled throughout. Highly recommended.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 September 2001
The country is at war and Paul Bäumer (Lew Ayres) is in school. His instructor is proud that he is volunteering to protect his country. He and his classmates are off on an adventure. This adventure will challenge the way they look at life and in the process change our life outlook.

On the surface this looks like a pacifist or anti war movie. One may think this has something to do with an enemy's view of war. Also there is a tendency pick the film apart because it is not the book.

In reality this story is more of a, don't get over zealous movie. At least don't let some one mesmerize you. It even happened in a contemporary film "Private Benjamin" (1980). She was promised the army with the private condos. Again we see the zealous ones in "Starship Troopers" (1997) where the movie shows the romantic side of war.

As far as the rating it is ridicules to compare a movie that has to pass censors and only has 130 minutes with the book. Naturally the book is going to be more thorough and descriptive. What we can compare it to is the original movie "Westfront 1918" (1930) directed by George Wilhelm Pabst (1885-1967) and "All Quiet on the Western Front" (1979). Check them all out including the audiocassette of the book.

The points are made much clearer in "Westfront 1918" even though is shorter it is the 5 star movie. Especially when we return to the schoolroom to see the teacher inspiring the next generation of students to become soldiers. "All Quiet on the Western Front" (1930) however is easier to understand then "West Front". You can spend more time in the message and less on the translation from German. In either film the actual down time (between actions) drove me crazy as I remembered the time that we were not fighting or planning something in Viet Nam was when I got antsy. The 1979 movie is a boring TV type movie with "Johnboy" Richard Thomas, playing the part of Paul Baumer. The only good part is when he got shot.

The film was shot in black and white but is still pretty graphic. It deserves to be seen on a big screen. At one point they also sing "Watch on the Rein."

"Im Western Nichts Neues" By Remarque: "He fell in October 1918, on a day that was so quiet and still on the whole front, that the army
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Great film, but no extras, was hoping to hear something about this ground breaking and classic film...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
All Quiet On The Western Front [DVD] I watched this film many years ago at the cinema,when in my teens, thought it was a very good film then, it hase'nt lost any appeal for me over the years, no fancy graphics just plain acting very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
I bought this movie to show my eighth grade students since we're doing a unit on WWI. They haven't watched it yet but I am certain they will enjoy it. So rich with militarism and its trappings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
I have read this book many times and like the characters and the coverage of the war - the loss of them all gradually must have been so upsetting to those few who survived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Very thought provoking about the horror and futility of war. I last saw the film when a boy, about seventy years ago,and it hasn't lost its punch.C.Lowe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
One of the greatest movies ever, wonderful restauration, incredible quality, a master piece. Universal is doing it perfect for its 100th anniversary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)