Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vaudeville at its best
You must watch Duck Soup for some of the most classic comedy scenes set to film such as ;

1) The mirror sequence. The finest comic sequence ever committed to film. Sure, it's old-hat vaudeville, but it's professional, beautifully timed and spirals into wonderful absurdity.

2) The one-liners, puns and other jokes. Pick of the crop are the peanut stall...
Published on 2 July 2007 by Jay

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Laugh or Cry
As a boy and a young man i was a great fan of the Marx Brothers and so looked forward to enjoying this DVD. Unfortunately, I believe they have become so outdated that i found little to laugh at. i found the same reaction with Abbot and Costello. The world has moved on in every way since these people performed.
We are much more sophisticated and Vaudeville is an...
Published 11 days ago by william glen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 12 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
Duck Soup is an absolute masterpiece of comedy, not just then but now.
The plot is mainly about a Rufus T Firefly who gets appointed the leader of the fictional state, Freedonia. It then delves into utterly hilarious comedy in the problem of war with the neighbouring Slyvania. From then on the laughs get huge with gags from a fight between a peanut salesman and a lemonade salesman to the broken mirror.
its absolutely fantastic, no collection should be without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this movie after reading some of the reviews here. Thought I'd see what the hype was about. Duck Soup is brilliant. With so many of the scenes I found myself thinking, "ah, so this is where that came from..." This film puts more recent comic work into perspective for me. Groucho Marx is too cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immortal screwball comedy, 25 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
There is so much written about the Marx Brothers that I doubt I have anything original to say! However, this has been my favourite film since the age of 5 and the reason that this film survives the test of time is largely due to the blend of satire and screwball comedy (verging along the lines of slapstick). Duck Soup will remain with you forever through the spontaneous musical sequences, the insane situations that the lads get themselves into and the disturbingly credible exchanges between the leaders of two feuding countries. This film can be watched 100 times and never become predictable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Marx Brothers at their very Best, 24 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This is thought to be the Marx Brother's defining moment in their film history. Forget A night at the Opera, forget a day at the races, Duck Soup, in my opinion, tops them all. Classic moments from Chico and Harpo fightingover a bag of peanuts, Harpo painting on a vase (doesnt soudn funny eh, just watch it and find out why :) With such a low price from Amazon, you'd be a fool not to add this fantastic Marx Brothers film to your collection! Buy it, watch it, laugh, rewind, watch it again, laugh more, rewind, watch it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Marx, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
Their other works are very funny but this didn't just meet my expectations, it far exceeded them and is probably their best work of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Laugh or Cry, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
As a boy and a young man i was a great fan of the Marx Brothers and so looked forward to enjoying this DVD. Unfortunately, I believe they have become so outdated that i found little to laugh at. i found the same reaction with Abbot and Costello. The world has moved on in every way since these people performed.
We are much more sophisticated and Vaudeville is an art of the past that has been passed by
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 23 Feb. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
We often hear how the Goons are the fathers of modern comedy. If this is true the Marx brothers are the Godfathers!!!
At 75 years old, this film still cuts the mustard, and is unlikely to be surpassed. In an era without special effects or computer graphics, the mirror scene is amazing. Wacky? Zany? Madcap? All of these and more.
Simply the best!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Marx Brothers, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
If you have never seen this, please watch it...the marx brothers are brilliant, especially groucho...he was ahead of his time. Its just so funny, I think the later films weren't as funny, but you must see this film, it will cheer you up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marx joy!, 14 Aug. 2009
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
Easily the most anarchic and chaotic of the Marx's films, but there are some TRULY GREAT moments here.
This has perhaps my favourite Groucho/Dumont exchange routine (that opens with the card gag) and it's also a joy to see the great Edgar Kennedy make a cameo as well and his scenes with Harp and Chico are lots of fun.
Groucho's swipes at the Ambassador are also wonderful.

But a couple of the songs are unwelcome in the short running time (unless you like that sort of thing, I would say I hated all the romantic interlude songs in Marx Brothers films - but almost all fans do - but only really have time for half of the funny ones as well), the skeletal plot completely vanishes during the truly chaotic bunch of non-linear scenes during the finale and it's obvious that no way to really end this was ever truly thought out.
You can see why it became too much for 1930's audiences!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic gift for Christmas and got here in plenty of time., 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
Extremely funny. One of the best movies of all times. Superb service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD]
The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] by Leo McCarey (DVD - 2005)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews