Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vaudeville at its best
You must watch Duck Soup for some of the most classic comedy scenes set to film such as ;

1) The mirror sequence. The finest comic sequence ever committed to film. Sure, it's old-hat vaudeville, but it's professional, beautifully timed and spirals into wonderful absurdity.

2) The one-liners, puns and other jokes. Pick of the crop are the peanut stall...
Published on 2 July 2007 by Jay

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marx joy!
Easily the most anarchic and chaotic of the Marx's films, but there are some TRULY GREAT moments here.
This has perhaps my favourite Groucho/Dumont exchange routine (that opens with the card gag) and it's also a joy to see the great Edgar Kennedy make a cameo as well and his scenes with Harp and Chico are lots of fun.
Groucho's swipes at the Ambassador are also...
Published on 14 Aug 2009 by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vaudeville at its best, 2 July 2007
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
You must watch Duck Soup for some of the most classic comedy scenes set to film such as ;

1) The mirror sequence. The finest comic sequence ever committed to film. Sure, it's old-hat vaudeville, but it's professional, beautifully timed and spirals into wonderful absurdity.

2) The one-liners, puns and other jokes. Pick of the crop are the peanut stall interchange, the telephone sequence, the riddles ('what has four pairs of pants, lives in Philadelphia, and it never rains but it pours?') and the final battle (especially the stock footage of monkeys and elephants running to save the army under siege - the kind of thing the Zucker Bros pinched for their comedies). Oh, yes, and the motorcycle routines.

3) The satire on politics and warmongering. The Brothers simply deflate the pomposity of the whole deal.

4) The fact that Zeppo is actually given something to do.

Anybody who thinks the Farrelly and Wayans brothers are the last word in comedy should be strapped to a chair and shown Marx Bros films over and over again, until they concede.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film, and I'm sure I'm not the only one!, 23 Oct 2006
By 
Rachel Jones (Gravesend, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
The film "Duck soup," is a classic example of the humour of the Marx Brothers, taking a satirical and anarchic look at war and world power. This was their last film made for Paramount Pictures, and the last film to feature the fourth brother, Zeppo.

When Groucho Marx's character, Rufus T. Firefly, is appointed leader of fictional country Freedonia, he immediately becomes the subject of plot when Trentino, leader of neighbouring fictional country Sylvania, hires two spies, played by Chico and Harpo Marx, to bring disgrace to Firefly. However, nothing goes according to plan when Chico is appointed secretary of war, Harpo becomes Firefly's chauffeur, and the two countries declare war on each other simply because of Firefly's constant insults to Trentino.

The wacky and far-fetched storyline is just what you would expect from a Marx Brothers film. There's Groucho doing what he always did best; his fast-talking wisecracks, his abilty to insult everyone and anyone, and to eventually get away with it. The title "Duck soup" means something that is easy to do, perhaps implying how Firefly governs the country with a happy-go-lucky manner, and how everything he does in his favour could be purely down to luck.

In my personal opinion, Chico and Harpo perform their best double act in this film, and you only have to look at such scenes as the one with the lemonade seller as proof. The film is full of gags, puns, routines, and of course, improvisation. These all contribute to attack democracy, war itself, leadership, and legal systems.

As for the Marxes characters themselves, sure they're selfish, sure they're destructive, but somehow, that's what makes them lovable and somewhat admirable; their anarchic nature in this film, often poking fun at those higher in authority, is something that many people I'm sure would love to do.

"Duck soup" is my favourite film of all time, and it never ceases to put me in a good mood. If you want to see a film that is intelligent as well as hilarious, or if you simply want to find out what is so good about the Marx Brothers, I suggest you see this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail, Hail the Marx Brothers! The Marxist view on war, 1 Nov 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
My favorite Marx Brothers movie is "A Night at the Opera," but this political satire, which was banned in Italy by Mussolini, is a very close second. It is definitely the best (and last) Marx Brothers movie with Zeppo, for what that is worth. As Groucho later pointed out, Zeppo's roles as the group's straight man were thankless. It was not that Zeppo lacked talent, but rather that he had three older brothers.
"In Duck Soup," the mythical nation of Freedonia is in trouble and Mrs. Teasdale (Margaret Dumont) insists that the reigns of power be turned over to Rufus T. Firefly (Groucho). Ambassador Trentino (Louis Calhern) of the neighboring country of Sylvania employs a couple of spies, Chicolini (Chico) and Pinky (Harpo), to shadow Firefly. Oh, and Firefly has a secretary, Bob Rolland (Zeppo). Many of the most famous sequences by the Brothers Marx are found in this film: (1) The mirror sequence between Groucho and Harpo (if it had been Groucho and Chico instead Groucho would have asked "Are you my reflection" and Chico would have answered "Sure"); (2) Harpo's encounter with street vendor Edgar Kennedy, master of the slow-burn (" "); (3) The "We're Going to War" take off on 1930s musicals ("They've got guns, we've got guns, all God's chil'en got guns"); (4) Groucho offering Chico the position of Secretary of War ("Sold!"); (5) Harpo offering Grouch a ride in the sidecar of his motorcyle ("This is the third trip I've taken today and I still haven't gone anywhere"); (6) Zeppo introducing the new leader of Freedonia, Rufus T. Fireflay ("Whatever it is, I'm against it."); and much, much more, including the lovely Rachel Torres as the lovely Vera Marcal!
"Duck Soup" was helped by several factors. With director Leo McCarey the Marx Brothers finally had a first rate director who understood how to stage and shoot the action. The Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby screenplay does one of the better jobs of integrating the various comic routines into the overall story. After an absence of two films Margaret Dumont was back where she belonged, trying to stay above the insanity with no success whatsoever. Louis Calhern is arguably the ideal villain for the Marx Brothers because in scene after scene he plays it absolutely straight, without losing his dignity or becoming laughable (similar to the marvelous job by Kitty Carlisle in "A Night at the Opera").
Final tidbit: When the town of Fredonia, New York complained about its name being used in the film (the extra "e" did not matter for some reason," Groucho shot back: "Change the name of your town, it's hurting our picture." And, as always, please remember that the correct pronunciation of Leonard's stage name is "Chick-o" not "Cheek-o." The man liked the ladies and was not a young Hispanic male.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious movie!, 25 Sep 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
To gain financial support from Mrs. Teasdale (Margaret Dumont), the tiny bankrupt country of Freedonia agrees to take Rufus T. Firefly (Groucho Marx) as their new president (the poor saps). Mayhem springs from Firefly's cynical and sarcastic leadership, culminating in war with the neighboring country of Sylvania. Throughout, Pinky (Harpo Marx) and Chicolini (Chico Marx) are scheming among the great and powerful, taking money from Trentino (Louis Calhern) of Sylvania, and directing Firefly's war effort. [Black & white, created in 1933, with a running time of 70 minutes.]
This movie contains some of Groucho's funniest witticisms, his badinage with Margaret Dumont producing some of the funniest lines in theatrical history. The story takes something of a backseat to the Marx brother's comedy, but this movie is first and foremost a satire of politics in general, and war and patriotism in particular. Back to the comedy, this movie is fantastically funny, containing the famous mirror scene, where Chico is dressed as Groucho, who must figure out if he is seeing his reflection or something else!
This is a great movie. The comedy is funny and clean, and can be watched by viewers of any age. I highly recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Marx Brothers' best: which is saying something!, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Plom de Nume "Rob" (Wolverhampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
This film is sheer, surrealist joy, the Marx Bros at their wildest and most creative. Which equals the funniest stuff you're ever going to experience this side of Aristophanes (to whom there is an unbroken line, via Shakespeare and Swift, from the Brothers - and probably to Spike Milligan and Python in the other direction).

Duck Soup is sublime: it should not be subjected to ridiculous misinterpretation of the sadly mistaken kind when it's already so gleefully, consciously, seriously intellectually subversive of its own accord. So I'm going to address one joke idiotically singled out elsewhere.

The "darkies" shtick debated below has nothing whatsoever to do with race. It's typical, joyous verbal dexterity from Groucho, offering a non-sequitur (here a familiar song refrain) as a logical conclusion to preceding clauses.

Unlike any hilarity to be gained from irrelevant and prolix reviews, the Marx joke is intentional - structural, grammatical; as in so many other examples, like "What is it that lives in Philadelphia and it never rains but it pours?" or "You no-a fool me, there is no Sanity Clause!" and so, gloriously, timelessly, exquisitely, on.

Can't you see what I'm trying to tell you? I love you!
Your Excellency!
You're not so bad yourself!

If you're determined to find musical/racial jokes to get your French Knickers in a twist, here's what to look for. It may help with the convoluted (sadly unintentionally funny) logic of future doctoral faeces (sorry, theses). Compare and contrast with Groucho's darkies Mel Brooks comparing and contrasting some black slaves' cool a cappella delivery of WASP Cole Porter's "I Get a Kick Out of You" with a risible choric riposte from their white-trash, red-neck, futile cowboy "betters" by, first and briefly, a decidedly unspiritual "Swing Low, Sweet Chariot", then, at more hilarious length, "De Camptown Ladies"! complete with dang-it bow-legged strutting. Genius!

Now that's what I call a genuine, deliberately offensive, riotously funny racial/musical dig (co-authored, of course, by a black comic of impeccable comic credentials, RIP, Richard Pryor).

Offence is so much more often taken than given, don't you find? So put that in your cheese and smell it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "After One Taste Of Duck Soup, You'll Duck Soup Forever!",, 4 Mar 2005
"Duck Soup" is as absurd, nonsensical and hilarious as a film can be and still make sense! A satire of dictatorships, war and politics, Groucho, Harpo and Zeppo are at their artfully outlandish best here. Running 68 minutes, the movie is a short one, but chock-full of laughs and lampoons. Released in 1933, during the crisis period of the Depression, the movie was to provide comic relief for the weary American public. It was a flop. Audiences were taken aback by such political disrespect. This is high praise, indeed in the 21st century.
Rufus T. Firefly, played by Groucho, becomes dictator of the mythical kingdom of Freedonia, a tiny country badly in need of additional finances to alleviate their bankrupt status. In other words, the place is a disaster - or why else would they select the man who would "never belong to a club that would have someone like him as a member?" The citizens agree to make Firefly their leader hoping, in return, to gain the financial patronage of the wealthy Mrs. Teasdale, (Margaret Dumont), whose deceased husband was their former president. Firefly is touted for "possessing the statesmanship of Gladstone, the humility of Lincoln, and the wisdom of Pericles." Ha! His primary idea for improving the country involves bilking Mrs Teasdale of her fortune for his own use, forget about Freedonia! He rejoices in making arbitrary decrees, and his appointments are blatantly nepotistic. The other Marx brothers play the dictator's spies and henchmen.
Firefly declares war on its neighboring country, Sylvania, when its Ambassador Trentino, (Louis Calhern), competes with him for Mrs. Teasdale's affections. Trentino's ultimate goal is to annex Freedonia to Sylvania. Poor Mrs. Teasdale.
The film's denouement involves a battle scene which represents the madness of war and the capriciousness of the men who decide to wage them. Groucho's famous line, "And remember while you're out there risking life and limb through shot and shell, we'll be in here thinking what a sucker you are," drew lots of flack. Benito Mussolini banned "Duck Soup" because he believed it to be a direct attack.Ya gotta love it! That's comic power! This anarchic satire, which was a critical and commercial failure at the time - it almost sank Paramount Studios - was fortunately revived in the 1960s.
The Marx Brothers' usual non-stop freneticism, as well as some of their best gags, slapstick, and one-liners, including the lemonade seller confrontation and the mirror pantomime, make this movie such a classic. There are also some terrific musical numbers, like the Freedonia Hymn, "Just Wait 'Til I Get Through With It " and the staged production number, The Country's Goin' to War."
Finally, what does "Duck Soup: mean? It was a familiar American phrase that means anything simple or easy, or alternately, a gullible sucker or pushover. Under the opening credits, four quacking ducks (the four Marx Brothers) are seen swimming and cooking in a kettle over a fire. Groucho suposedly provided the following recipe to explain the title: "Take two turkeys, one goose, four cabbages, but no duck, and mix them together. After one taste, you'll duck soup for the rest of your life."
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest of all The Marx Brothers Comedies., 5 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Arguably, Duck Soup is the finest and most well known of all the Marx Brothers movies. The reason for the film's success, I feel has been its use of virtuoso Groucho one-liners, the strong dou-partnership between Chico and Harpo and the strong supporting cast, including the magnificent Margaret Dumont and Louis calhern as Trentino and Mrs Teesdale. This movie more than any other is memorable because it gives us so many of the finest movie quotes of all time. ' I could dance with you till the cows come home, on second thoughts, I'd rather dance with the cows till you came home' is but one example of the sheer brilliance which has been copied and imitated by admirers and fans but never bettered. The essence of all their films is mayhem and the political satire of Freedonia's problems is one which can be related to in many countries who look for Leadership. As Groucho sings as Rufus T Firefly, 'The Last Guy nearly ruined this place , he didn't know what to do with it, if you think the country's bad off now just wait till I get through with it'. My only criticism is the lack of Harp and Piano playing which enlivens so many of the other films. However, this film is must for those who like their comedy zany, manic and above all intelligently worked out and written. There is no crudeness to the Marx brothers, only wit, so enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duck Soup, 1 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
"I'll see you at the opera tonight. I'll hold your seat till you get there. After you get there you're on your own." and "I hear they're going to tear you down and put up an office building where you're standing." It's these quick fire line that Groucho Marx effortlessly reels off which makes this the funniest comedy film ever.

It's incredible that this was made in 1933, at the beginning of the film you would think it just to be another well spoken well mannered Black & White film with the typical love interest, but the way Groucho just walks in and begins this constant stream of put down one-liners is just hilarious, I can only liken it to the thought of a comedian from today going back to 1933, walking straight on to a film set and starts taking the rise out of the entire production. So ahead of it's time it's untrue! You won't stop laughing, A MUST HAVE DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest comedies ever made, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This is the immortal Marx brothers at there absolute finest, a side splittingly hilarious gem of a film. Top moments include Harpo and Chico fighting with a rival peanut seller, and Harpo (dressed as Groucho) and the real Groucho performing a breathtaking mirror routine. There is also a fair share of immortal run liners in the groucho tradition, the best of which are 'go, and never darken my towels again' and 'I've a good mind to join a club and beat you over the head wiht it'. See this film immdeiatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 April 2010
By 
K. Duong (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this movie after reading some of the reviews here. Thought I'd see what the hype was about. Duck Soup is brilliant. With so many of the scenes I found myself thinking, "ah, so this is where that came from..." This film puts more recent comic work into perspective for me. Groucho Marx is too cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD]
The Marx Brothers: Duck Soup [DVD] by Leo McCarey (DVD - 2005)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews