Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One-Of-A-Kind Post-Apoca-Western
In the future (as seen through the bottom of a tequila bottle in 1987) a guy's sex-robot wife breaks down. So naturally he has to head out into the wastelands to get another one. But it's dangerous out there. So he brings Melanie Griffith.

There's something so loveably wonky-brained about this picture that it seems to defy anything as limiting as a "review"...
Published on 9 Aug 2009 by Quackser

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Westworld meets Mad Max
I didn't know what to expect from this movie but Melanie Griffith is normally good so I went for it.

In a world where the natural resources are running out bounty hunter (Melanie Griffith) is hired to help Sam (David Andrews) find an identical love robot (a Cherry 2000 model) as his last one blew a fuse while making love in the bath. Yeh you get the idea...
Published on 28 Jan 2011 by J. N. Bullock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One-Of-A-Kind Post-Apoca-Western, 9 Aug 2009
This review is from: Cherry 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
In the future (as seen through the bottom of a tequila bottle in 1987) a guy's sex-robot wife breaks down. So naturally he has to head out into the wastelands to get another one. But it's dangerous out there. So he brings Melanie Griffith.

There's something so loveably wonky-brained about this picture that it seems to defy anything as limiting as a "review". Here's a few of the people in it: Tim Thomerson and Brion James (a marriage later consummated in Albert Pyun-land); Ben Johnson and Harry Carey Jr (by special permission of John Ford); Robert Z'Dar (Maniac Cop 1-3! Frogtown 2!)

The whole thing sort of reminds me of a laid-back version of Judge Dredd's episodic trek across the Cursed Earth, meeting weirdoes all the way. Terrific score by Basil Poledouris too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love the dated looks, 5 May 2010
By 
Helpless "Helpless" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
Ok so I admit I saw this film in 1989 and I had the hots for Melanie Griffith.
It has got better than I remembered it.

Yes it is a dated Mad Max/2000AD post-apocalyptical style of film where men have robot women for their needs because of the contractual, health and safety, control of substances hazardous to health obligations necessary to have a night out with a real woman gets in the way of dating. A bit like present day dating 'obligations'.

The only problem with the robot women ( sort of stepford wife ) is that they are not waterproof something you would have thought the designer would have anticipated.

Still, I am glad I watched it again, I still love it, and Melanie was as hot as I remembered!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A working girl a little bit 'Mad Max, 18 Feb 2010
By 
Massimo Santilli "kinowelt" (La Spezia - Liguria Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cherry 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
Cherry 2000 is a mechanical doll just like a woman and capable of providing absolutely ... human. One day the android goes down and its owner (Ben Johnson) goes on a rampage, also because 'the replacement part is needed in a place ravaged by nuclear war. With the help of a beautiful and very human guide (Melanie Griffith) the man will leave 'in search of the deposit, but will discover' that a real woman is better, much better than a machine.
B-movie of a certain taste, inventiveness, and thus eye, even more expensive than average of its pari. Affascinante, energetic and at ease, after the success of Working Girl,M.Griffith demonstrates the versatility and spirit of the game a bit 'parody of this Mad Max feminine. The cast, the old "hard" Dana Andrews, and two icons of John Ford: Harry Carey jr. and Ben Johnson. An homage that is bestowed to two famous movie robots of the past: carcases of mechanical beings in the cemetery you can see through Robby the Robot (Forbidden Planet) and Gort (The Day the Earth stood still). Unavailable for a long time, Cherry 2000 has recently been reissued in DVD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Westworld meets Mad Max, 28 Jan 2011
By 
J. N. Bullock "JNB" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cherry 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't know what to expect from this movie but Melanie Griffith is normally good so I went for it.

In a world where the natural resources are running out bounty hunter (Melanie Griffith) is hired to help Sam (David Andrews) find an identical love robot (a Cherry 2000 model) as his last one blew a fuse while making love in the bath. Yeh you get the idea!

This movie has a pretty good support cast which includes Ben Johnson at his best, the action is good and the script is not too silly.

So yes a good 3 star effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Si-Fi with sex appeal, 22 Dec 2003
By 
Action Si-Fi set in a future where humans are second rate, yet desire still survives. The desire for the perfect woman, even if artificial, can drive a man to an obsessive distraction. Any distraction that can distract a man from the highly desirable sex appeal of Cherry (Melanie Griffith) is indeed an obsession, however her charm and beauty cannot go unnoticed forever. Lots of action (of the Mad Max genre) and the Tom Boy sex appeal, not to be missed by sentimental Si-Fi (or Melanie Griffith) fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cherry 2000, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
another of my favourte films which my youngest son has added to his collection may be i should order double in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMG !, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
OMG ! I love this film takes me back to my youth never thought i would get this film on dvd had it years ago on tape a great price excellent service thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Have a drink, and a donut..., 17 Nov 2013
This review is from: Cherry 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
When successful businessman Sam Treadwell finds that his android wife, Cherry model 2000 has blown a fuse, he hires renegade tracker E. Johnson to find her exact duplicate.

As their journey to replace his perfect mate leads them into the treacherous and lawless region of zone seven, Treadwell learns the hard way that the perfect woman is made not of computer chips and diodes, but of real flesh and blood......

It's a really hard film to describe. It's not exactly an action movie, but a sort of apocalyptic Sci-fi campa-thon.

Its Waterworld on dry land, Mad Maxine, and Tim Burton meets Joel Schumacher, in the desert.

It's as bonkers as it sounds, and despite its a load of old cobblers, its quite fun to watch while it lasts. Griffith proves she's as versatile as a wet cloth, but its not about her or the dad from Terminator 3, with these apocalyptic movies, its the wealth of bizarre support that the ill has to offer.

From Brion James, right up to a film stealing Tim Thomerson, its a film that's not going to break any genre boundaries, but if you a fan of those cheap films made in the eighties like Spacehunter, Land of Doom, or World Gone Wild, this is definitely for you....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cherry 2000 [DVD], 11 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
Cherry 2000 [DVD]
A classic sci-fi film. loved it when it came out, had it on vhs, took me ages to find it on dvd.
Storyline, futuristic as with all sci-fi. It's just one of those amiable films that become classics in their own right.
For myself, I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely B Movie romp., 22 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
Not being a fan of Melanie Griffiths, I almost passed on this movie, but luckily I listened to the other reviews and bought this surprisingly fun 'Mad Max 2' meets 'Adventures in the forbidden zone' B Movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9df9378)

This product

Cherry 2000 [DVD]
Cherry 2000 [DVD] by Steve de Jarnatt (DVD - 2005)
7.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews