Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars27
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2016
PLOT...
Set in the future of 2017 successful businessman Sam Treadwell finds that his android wife, Cherry model 2000 has blown a fuse, he hires sexy renegade tracker E. Johnson to find her exact duplicate. But as their journey to replace his perfect mate leads them into the treacherous and lawless region of The Zone, Treadwell learns the hard way that the perfect woman is made not of computer chips but of real flesh and blood!

This is a rather bizarre movie, only in the 80's would you get a movie like Cherry 2000, its a mish mash of an adventure action sci-fi comedy with a crazy love story about a man who would do anything to get his robot lover back! The movie is extremely predictable from the start but its so much fun, plenty of great action that's well paced out throughout, the cast is very good, Melanie Griffith in particular is a gorgeous red haired warrior of the wasteland, there are many small cameo roles to look out for like Laurence Fishburne (The Matrix) Brion James (Blade Runner) Robert Z'Dar (Maniac cop) the movie has a pretty decent budget for the time and has a good soundtrack too, if you love old cult classic 80's movies then be sure to check this out. The new Blu-ray version looks better than ever!

Blu-ray (signal one entertainment) has a great HD picture transfer.
Features include a commentary, interviews, original vintage making of, poster art, trailer.
Region B only, 98-mins, 1987.
English only HOH subtitles.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
In the future (as seen through the bottom of a tequila bottle in 1987) a guy's sex-robot wife breaks down. So naturally he has to head out into the wastelands to get another one. But it's dangerous out there. So he brings Melanie Griffith.

There's something so loveably wonky-brained about this picture that it seems to defy anything as limiting as a "review". Here's a few of the people in it: Tim Thomerson and Brion James (a marriage later consummated in Albert Pyun-land); Ben Johnson and Harry Carey Jr (by special permission of John Ford); Robert Z'Dar (Maniac Cop 1-3! Frogtown 2!)

The whole thing sort of reminds me of a laid-back version of Judge Dredd's episodic trek across the Cursed Earth, meeting weirdoes all the way. Terrific score by Basil Poledouris too.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2007
I am pleased that they have finally decided to release Cherry 2000. I watched this movie in the '80s and have was never able to find it on tape, the DVD. This movie is a love story set in the future. Where even holding hands takes a contract, so imagine a relationship. Our leading man has it all, the perfect job, home life and wife...But one day she short circuits and current technology has fallen on hard times, and no one can fix her. But he saves her memory. So the search begins in the wastelands of what was once the western USA, with a female tracker he hires. They find the precise robotic girlfriend... the love interests are there, but this is not just a chic flick. It is a chic flick for guys as well. The action scenes and futuristic backgrounds, along with the relationship between the two main characters make this an excellent movie. I highly recommend it. You will always remember Cherry 2000.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 January 2011
I didn't know what to expect from this movie but Melanie Griffith is normally good so I went for it.

In a world where the natural resources are running out bounty hunter (Melanie Griffith) is hired to help Sam (David Andrews) find an identical love robot (a Cherry 2000 model) as his last one blew a fuse while making love in the bath. Yeh you get the idea!

This movie has a pretty good support cast which includes Ben Johnson at his best, the action is good and the script is not too silly.

So yes a good 3 star effort.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2003
Action Si-Fi set in a future where humans are second rate, yet desire still survives. The desire for the perfect woman, even if artificial, can drive a man to an obsessive distraction. Any distraction that can distract a man from the highly desirable sex appeal of Cherry (Melanie Griffith) is indeed an obsession, however her charm and beauty cannot go unnoticed forever. Lots of action (of the Mad Max genre) and the Tom Boy sex appeal, not to be missed by sentimental Si-Fi (or Melanie Griffith) fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
When successful businessman Sam Treadwell finds that his android wife, Cherry model 2000 has blown a fuse, he hires renegade tracker E. Johnson to find her exact duplicate.

As their journey to replace his perfect mate leads them into the treacherous and lawless region of zone seven, Treadwell learns the hard way that the perfect woman is made not of computer chips and diodes, but of real flesh and blood......

It's a really hard film to describe. It's not exactly an action movie, but a sort of apocalyptic Sci-fi campa-thon.

Its Waterworld on dry land, Mad Maxine, and Tim Burton meets Joel Schumacher, in the desert.

It's as bonkers as it sounds, and despite its a load of old cobblers, its quite fun to watch while it lasts. Griffith proves she's as versatile as a wet cloth, but its not about her or the dad from Terminator 3, with these apocalyptic movies, its the wealth of bizarre support that the ill has to offer.

From Brion James, right up to a film stealing Tim Thomerson, its a film that's not going to break any genre boundaries, but if you a fan of those cheap films made in the eighties like Spacehunter, Land of Doom, or World Gone Wild, this is definitely for you....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Cherry 2000 [DVD]
A classic sci-fi film. loved it when it came out, had it on vhs, took me ages to find it on dvd.
Storyline, futuristic as with all sci-fi. It's just one of those amiable films that become classics in their own right.
For myself, I love it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2010
Cherry 2000 is a mechanical doll just like a woman and capable of providing absolutely ... human. One day the android goes down and its owner (Ben Johnson) goes on a rampage, also because 'the replacement part is needed in a place ravaged by nuclear war. With the help of a beautiful and very human guide (Melanie Griffith) the man will leave 'in search of the deposit, but will discover' that a real woman is better, much better than a machine.
B-movie of a certain taste, inventiveness, and thus eye, even more expensive than average of its pari. Affascinante, energetic and at ease, after the success of Working Girl,M.Griffith demonstrates the versatility and spirit of the game a bit 'parody of this Mad Max feminine. The cast, the old "hard" Dana Andrews, and two icons of John Ford: Harry Carey jr. and Ben Johnson. An homage that is bestowed to two famous movie robots of the past: carcases of mechanical beings in the cemetery you can see through Robby the Robot (Forbidden Planet) and Gort (The Day the Earth stood still). Unavailable for a long time, Cherry 2000 has recently been reissued in DVD format.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ok so I admit I saw this film in 1989 and I had the hots for Melanie Griffith.
It has got better than I remembered it.

Yes it is a dated Mad Max/2000AD post-apocalyptical style of film where men have robot women for their needs because of the contractual, health and safety, control of substances hazardous to health obligations necessary to have a night out with a real woman gets in the way of dating. A bit like present day dating 'obligations'.

The only problem with the robot women ( sort of stepford wife ) is that they are not waterproof something you would have thought the designer would have anticipated.

Still, I am glad I watched it again, I still love it, and Melanie was as hot as I remembered!!!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
Not being a fan of Melanie Griffiths, I almost passed on this movie, but luckily I listened to the other reviews and bought this surprisingly fun 'Mad Max 2' meets 'Adventures in the forbidden zone' B Movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.