Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£8.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2005
Morrissey's well-deserved comeback last year was a joy to behold in a pop world full of mediocrity and this live concert captures him in all his glory.
For those that bemoan there are not enough Smiths songs (this is a solo Morrissey concert after all) the "Live At Earls Court" album should satisfy you as it includes some Smiths classics.
But this concert is a trawl through Moz's back catalogue and features "A Rush and A Push" which has never been performed live before.
The quality, video and audio, is excellent here and much better than the previous "Live In Dallas" release, and is a pleasure to watch.
If you are a fan of the great man and do not own this DVD, do yourself a favour and order a copy at this bargain price.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Fans of Morrissey will love this DVD. A fantastic concert that heralded Morrissey's 'comeback' although he was never really gone, just taking time out in LA while effortlessly playing sold out concerts around the world. This concert from the Manchester Arena is his best to date, featuring an excellent set list and tight and muscular renditions by his band of merry gunslingers. The highlight for me was the superlative version of Jack The Ripper which makes lovely use of black and white for part of the song. Headmaster Ritual comes a close second, but in truth there is not a dud track on this. The extras include some songs from the Move festival.
I really wish Moz would release more concert DVDs of this quality.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
Don't get me wrong, this is great DVD as far as the track listing and picture is concerned. There are many memorable Morrissey performances. If you are watching this though your TV speakers, and don't use a surround sound system the DVD sounds great with the standard Dolby stereo soundtrack. However if you have a 5.1 configuration with your speakers, the mix sounds a mess. The bass is far too high, even if you have the option to turn your subwoofer down. It is difficult to hear the strum of a guitar or any of the other 'lighter' instruments. Worst of all, the volume level seems to change on some of the songs, very irritating overall. It doesn't make much of a difference whether you go for the DTS soundtrack or the Dolby 5.1, it's all a mess.
44 comments1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This looks as though it was a really good concert, it would have been great to be there. Loads of Morrissey favourites, a great band and Morrissey in fine voice, he was obviously enjoying himself. Interesting comments from various fans attending the concert, which sets it off very well. The filming is very good, so no complaints, well worth watching.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
This is typical Morrissey,so anyone that is a fan will enjoy this DVD.The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I would say I am probably more of a fan of the Smiths than the Morrissey solo artist but don't let that put you off,he still performs to his usual high standard live so it is recommended.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
this is Morrissey at his very best, I saw this concert live and it captures the atmosphere of the night, it was Morrisseys birthday when he performed it, which added to the electric night. Will love Morrissey for ever, voice better than ever.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
I am very happy with this DVD the sound is very good quality and the recording was very good. Morrissey is a great singer. I am a Big fan of him now and wen he was in the Smiths. Wall worth the money and the service was very good.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2006
A must for fans. Morrissey is the ultimate, consummate live performer, as great as Bowie in his prime. He sings a cracking version of the old Raymonde number, No One Can Hold A Candle To You, worth the price of this DVD alone. He chats to the crowd and his ad libs are fab. A true artist who doesn't take the trappings of celebrity too seriously, unlike some prannets I could name.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
I have seen this a thousand times since I bought it, and it's just magic! Great songs performed live in Manchester - yes, I had to go to his show in Mancester Arena some years ago, and it definitely was worth every second...enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
This is a DVD that never fails to entertain. Whether an age old fan or new to Morrissey, this DVD will provide hours and hours of smiles, chuckles, sing alongs and annoyance to friends and loved ones.
Enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.