Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality - great show!
Morrissey's well-deserved comeback last year was a joy to behold in a pop world full of mediocrity and this live concert captures him in all his glory.
For those that bemoan there are not enough Smiths songs (this is a solo Morrissey concert after all) the "Live At Earls Court" album should satisfy you as it includes some Smiths classics.
But this concert is a...
Published on 23 Sep 2005 by Freddie Valentine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, but what is going on with the sound?
Don't get me wrong, this is great DVD as far as the track listing and picture is concerned. There are many memorable Morrissey performances. If you are watching this though your TV speakers, and don't use a surround sound system the DVD sounds great with the standard Dolby stereo soundtrack. However if you have a 5.1 configuration with your speakers, the mix sounds a...
Published on 28 April 2012 by R. A. Arthur


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality - great show!, 23 Sep 2005
This review is from: Morrissey: Who Put The 'm' In Manchester? [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Morrissey's well-deserved comeback last year was a joy to behold in a pop world full of mediocrity and this live concert captures him in all his glory.
For those that bemoan there are not enough Smiths songs (this is a solo Morrissey concert after all) the "Live At Earls Court" album should satisfy you as it includes some Smiths classics.
But this concert is a trawl through Moz's back catalogue and features "A Rush and A Push" which has never been performed live before.
The quality, video and audio, is excellent here and much better than the previous "Live In Dallas" release, and is a pleasure to watch.
If you are a fan of the great man and do not own this DVD, do yourself a favour and order a copy at this bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Did Moz!, 28 Jun 2006
This review is from: Morrissey: Who Put The 'm' In Manchester? [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
A must for fans. Morrissey is the ultimate, consummate live performer, as great as Bowie in his prime. He sings a cracking version of the old Raymonde number, No One Can Hold A Candle To You, worth the price of this DVD alone. He chats to the crowd and his ad libs are fab. A true artist who doesn't take the trappings of celebrity too seriously, unlike some prannets I could name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last of the famous international DVDs, 5 Dec 2012
This review is from: Morrissey: Who Put The 'm' In Manchester? [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Fans of Morrissey will love this DVD. A fantastic concert that heralded Morrissey's 'comeback' although he was never really gone, just taking time out in LA while effortlessly playing sold out concerts around the world. This concert from the Manchester Arena is his best to date, featuring an excellent set list and tight and muscular renditions by his band of merry gunslingers. The highlight for me was the superlative version of Jack The Ripper which makes lovely use of black and white for part of the song. Headmaster Ritual comes a close second, but in truth there is not a dud track on this. The extras include some songs from the Move festival.
I really wish Moz would release more concert DVDs of this quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Performance, 20 Jun 2014
By 
G. S. Heard (Bexley,Kent.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrissey: Who Put The 'm' In Manchester? [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is typical Morrissey,so anyone that is a fan will enjoy this DVD.The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I would say I am probably more of a fan of the Smiths than the Morrissey solo artist but don't let that put you off,he still performs to his usual high standard live so it is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great dvd, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrissey: Who Put The 'm' In Manchester? [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
this is Morrissey at his very best, I saw this concert live and it captures the atmosphere of the night, it was Morrisseys birthday when he performed it, which added to the electric night. Will love Morrissey for ever, voice better than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mozza never fails, 6 Mar 2013
This review is from: Morrissey: Who Put The 'm' In Manchester? [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a DVD that never fails to entertain. Whether an age old fan or new to Morrissey, this DVD will provide hours and hours of smiles, chuckles, sing alongs and annoyance to friends and loved ones.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great, but what is going on with the sound?, 28 April 2012
By 
R. A. Arthur - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morrissey: Who Put The 'm' In Manchester? [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Don't get me wrong, this is great DVD as far as the track listing and picture is concerned. There are many memorable Morrissey performances. If you are watching this though your TV speakers, and don't use a surround sound system the DVD sounds great with the standard Dolby stereo soundtrack. However if you have a 5.1 configuration with your speakers, the mix sounds a mess. The bass is far too high, even if you have the option to turn your subwoofer down. It is difficult to hear the strum of a guitar or any of the other 'lighter' instruments. Worst of all, the volume level seems to change on some of the songs, very irritating overall. It doesn't make much of a difference whether you go for the DTS soundtrack or the Dolby 5.1, it's all a mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Morrissey you'll like this, 7 May 2009
By 
I. H. C. Mellor "mihcm" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrissey: Who Put The 'm' In Manchester? [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This looks as though it was a really good concert, it would have been great to be there. Loads of Morrissey favourites, a great band and Morrissey in fine voice, he was obviously enjoying himself. Interesting comments from various fans attending the concert, which sets it off very well. The filming is very good, so no complaints, well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a return!!, 15 Feb 2005
By 
Mr. S. B. L'estrange "L'Estrange" (Foulridge , england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morrissey: Who Put The 'm' In Manchester? [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
morrissey came back in 2004, with a new record deal and a great collection of songs. And with the knowledge that this was one of his best records, he performed live better than ever - his previous live DVD -"live in Dallas" was not very good compared with this. His voice , his stage postering and his chat between songs (i'd often found him to be quite dismissive in earlier performances). I saw him at the MEN, bridlington, preston and Blackpool, and never have i seen him more comfortable with his songs and his performance.
Judging from the videos for the single on the you are the quarry album, i think this DVD will have a decent production, not like the previous live in dallas dvd which i think was shot by the guy that did my wedding video. Heres' hoping - "Mor - ris- sey, Mor- ris- sey, mor- ris- sey !!!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The master returns!, 5 Mar 2005
This review is from: Morrissey: Who Put The 'm' In Manchester? [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
To all you fellow Moz fans out there, if you didnt manage to see your idol in 2004 buy this DVD. I managed to see him in Manchester (Move), Blackpool and London. His performances were no less than fantastic. At each venue Morrissey chatted easily with the audience, making jokes and commenting on topical issues. If you are a Moz fan this DVD will be a must. Not knowing how many more opportunities we will have to see him live in the near future I will definately be buying a copy.Thanks Moz, you helped make 2004 a great year for me
sixteen clumsy and shy.....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morrissey: Who Put The 'm' In Manchester? [DVD] [2005]
15.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews