Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rachmaninov goes to Hollywood
What a furore this recording has caused; reviews range from the adulatory to brutally critical. Michael F has made some telling points, and perhaps I may add my judgement.
The very slow opening of the concerto is a precursor of what is to come, a very romanticised view of the work. Lang Lang evidently has strong views on the emotional content of the music, and...
Published on 6 Nov. 2009 by Mr. John Manning

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Clinical performance, problematic recording
I really wanted to respect this recording. On paper there seems to be so much to admire, but its execution - both performance and recording - make it certain this disc is destined to be an also run.

Technically the recording is so biased in favour of the piano that the concerto, in places, seems to become wholly a work for solo piano. Further - and a major...
Published on 13 April 2011 by S. D. Nunn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasric, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
This was actually a present and I have had nothing but good comments. Personally the packaging was up to the usaual standard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NOSTALGIA, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
I listen to this frequently as it has a very calming influence on a busy day.
I was thrilled with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
What can you say. Lang Lang at his very best. A great recording by a very great virtuoso. A must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was a present and my friend loved it, 3 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
I haven't listened to it as it is not my kind of music. My friend loved it as her Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
Excellent bought it for my mother she plays it all the time Lang Lang is phenomenal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfection, 20 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just played this album and it is upto the standard I would expect from Lang Lang. As usual EVERY note he plays is audible whether loud or soft and the feeling he
plays with is fantastic. As with his Tchaikovski concerto he is near perfection. Please Deutsche Grammophon release a Lang Lang playing of Grieg`s Piano Concerto-- I can`t wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
Excellent, wonderful piano and orchesrtation. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
Excellent pianist - sit back and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial Pianism, 28 May 2011
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
This pianist is technically phenomenal, and desperate commercialism of classical music industry presents him as a great master, but he needs to learn he is far from it yet and there's more to the art of piano playing than just banging on right notes and playing it loud or less loud if he wants his name remembered in the next century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good product, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
Bought this as a present for my son-in-law. He was very pleased with it and says the sound is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews