Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rachmaninov goes to Hollywood
What a furore this recording has caused; reviews range from the adulatory to brutally critical. Michael F has made some telling points, and perhaps I may add my judgement.
The very slow opening of the concerto is a precursor of what is to come, a very romanticised view of the work. Lang Lang evidently has strong views on the emotional content of the music, and...
Published on 6 Nov. 2009 by Mr. John Manning

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Clinical performance, problematic recording
I really wanted to respect this recording. On paper there seems to be so much to admire, but its execution - both performance and recording - make it certain this disc is destined to be an also run.

Technically the recording is so biased in favour of the piano that the concerto, in places, seems to become wholly a work for solo piano. Further - and a major...
Published on 13 April 2011 by S. D. Nunn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rachmaninov goes to Hollywood, 6 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. John Manning (Penarth, Vale of Glam Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
What a furore this recording has caused; reviews range from the adulatory to brutally critical. Michael F has made some telling points, and perhaps I may add my judgement.
The very slow opening of the concerto is a precursor of what is to come, a very romanticised view of the work. Lang Lang evidently has strong views on the emotional content of the music, and attempts to wring every last ounce from it. Gergiev backs him all the way. In doing so, much of the fire and bite in this work is lost. There are moments of great beauty, and flashes of brilliance in some faster, louder sections, but large sections sound subdued and torpid. There is no gainsaying Lang's technique and one can admire much in that department (including in the opening chords, which he doesn't arpeggiate, as some find it necessary to do). But what of the composer? To misquote Star Trek's Scottie, 'It's Rachmaninov, Jim, but not as we know it'.
The Rhapsody sits more comfortably with me - after all, Lang Lang's style so far could have been described as rhapsodic with some justification. As in the concerto, he doesn't manage the 'cut and thrust' with the orchestra as well as some, but that may be exacerbated by the recording.
I would not criticise the piano sound greatly but it is certainly balanced to the fore and more closely miked than the orchestra. Whether the Mariinsky strings have decided to follow Rachmaninov to America and adopt the US style, or the recording has been given the Hollywood treatment, the overall effect is very plush, smooth and glossy. There is some beautiful playing, but all is wrapped up in a cloying veil behind the piano. Nevertheless, balance in the orchestra, frequency and dynamic range, and ambience, are all more than acceptable. The rear channels only draw attention to themselves in louder passages, where they add to the impression of hall ambience.
I could live with the Rhapsody as long as I could also sample other recordings, but I'm not fully convinced by the concerto. Its okay for a Brief Encounter, a smoochy one-night stand, but not one to love, forsaking all others, for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Clinical performance, problematic recording, 13 April 2011
By 
S. D. Nunn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
I really wanted to respect this recording. On paper there seems to be so much to admire, but its execution - both performance and recording - make it certain this disc is destined to be an also run.

Technically the recording is so biased in favour of the piano that the concerto, in places, seems to become wholly a work for solo piano. Further - and a major problem - it seems the piano is either over-miked or that the producers have opted for forceful compression of the signals, making for significant distortion in the upper registers. This alone would be enough to discard this recording. But worse is to come ...

It makes no sense to approach this concerto with a level of interpretative revisionism such that the psychodrama that underscores the work is all but removed. But this is exactly what appears to take place in this performance. Lang Lang appears to wish to erase the inherent internal tensions, the essentially human struggle at the centre of Rachmaninov's masterpiece, and to replace it with a notionally clinical excellence. Frankly I would rather have the odd bum note and gain the humanity, than endure the sterilisation of perfection. Anyway, of course perfection, as such, doesn't exist in this context. It's always going to come down to interpretation, so even with its inevitable technical limitations, I would opt for Van Cliburn's histoical recording which is infinitely superior to Lang Lang's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some obvious production blunders, 16 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
I just can't believe DG has released this record with such obvious problems.
First, the piano is overstated - mics are probably way too close and as a result the piano sound is poor in terms of clarity throughtout the recording (except perhaps in the pp and ppp passages); in fact, it just doesn't sound like a concert Steinway, rather like a prep school babygrand.
Second, the orchestra sounds distant; it doesn't blend well with the piano.
Last but not least, Lang Lang's interpretation, whilst technically correct, is just disappointing: phrasing and articulation is not in the great masters style that we all know - it almost seems he lacks inspiration - it is rather a show off of his dexterity. This is unfortunate because I have seen Lang Lang live at the RAH, and he did a superb interpretation that day (plus his favorit Liszt encores !)
Any positives? ... let me just say that the orchestra sounds very fine (although distant) and is brilliantly conducted.
All in all, I just can't believe DG has released such a crippled record - Lang Lang should record it again it (with a decent producer), and this one should be recalled away from the market (and buyers like myself refunded). All these problems are exacerbated if you listen in two channels - multichannel helps by providing greater clarity to the piano - all in all 1 star in stereo; 2 in multichanel.
I guess I will keep this record as a case study of what can go wrong in top budget classical music recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truely great modern Artist, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
I first bought Lang Lang on Amazon,since when i have purchased several more of his recordings.
i really think he is a great Artist and enjoy listening to his performances-espescially His Rachmaninov piano No2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful in every way, 13 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
The dream team of Valery Gergiev, Lang Lang and the orchestra of the Mariinsky theatre is pure enchantment and the sound quality is astounding.
I have never heard these pieces performed so beautifully before. They touch every nerve with their intoxicating mix of emotions - so brutally honest in the delivery - forcing you to feel the fear, doubt, grief, sadness and joy that Rachmaninov himself must have felt in order to write them. I don't know anything about classical music technically - but I know it should move you - and this does... It moves you to the very core!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Music, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
Have always loved this. It's melodious, romantic, sad and dramatic. Reckon it would change the minds of classical music haters..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
I. R. Scott (Hove England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
For some reason Lang Lang seems to generate extremes in reviews. I must say that I find his playing exciting, crystal clear and incredibly moving. The clarity of his playing is amazing. I would recommend this recording to anyone. I already have Vladimir Ashkenazy, Benno Moisevitch and Cecile Ousset playing the same work (Concerto No 2) and Lang Lang's performance ranks with the very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lang Lang at his best, 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
Lang Lang takes you to special places with this beautiful cd, pure delight, with such lightness of touch in the quiet moments. He is in a league of his own, a truly wonderful pianist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars We all make mistakes, 24 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
Should have stuck to playing my other two versions of this. I did not read any reviews before purchasing this so my opinions are a natural reaction to my first hearing. Rachmaninov 2 appeared very distant and dull. Maybe the engineers had too much say in this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rachmaninov Piano Concerto no. 2, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2; Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Audio CD)
Probably No.1 of my favourite pieces of Music, Rachmaninov 2nd. Piano Concerto played well by Lang Lang I first heard it as the theme music in the film 'Brief Encounter' when my instincts for classical music were just starting and I just had to find out more about it. My knowledge of Classical music has now grown, but I still go back to this one regularly. In fact this is my second CD of it, as my first one got worn out.
The Rhapsody on Paganini I have grown to like especially the Adagio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews