Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Doris Day's version of Que Sera, Sera
Pink Martini's album was released in 1998, but I just received it as a gift, and haven't stopped playing it since! The two main vocalists on the album are fantastic, and in particular, their version of Que Sera, Sera will finally erase all your memories of Doris Day's saccharine performance. The rhythm is great, the selection of songs eclectic (covering French,...
Published on 22 Aug 2002

versus
24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
This one left me a little cold, which was a surprise as I was expecting to love it. The music is relatively well executed. The title track is a great song, but like most of the tracks on this album, litening to the vocalist struggle with a language which is clearly not her own, distracted from my enjoyment. Amando Mio is one of the few tracks where this wasn't a problem...
Published on 18 Feb 2005 by Nasher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Doris Day's version of Que Sera, Sera, 22 Aug 2002
By A Customer
Pink Martini's album was released in 1998, but I just received it as a gift, and haven't stopped playing it since! The two main vocalists on the album are fantastic, and in particular, their version of Que Sera, Sera will finally erase all your memories of Doris Day's saccharine performance. The rhythm is great, the selection of songs eclectic (covering French, Brazilian, Spanish and American), and the orchestration terrific. I defy anyone to dislike it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, 6 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sympathique (Audio CD)
While the cocktail lounge fad has seen more than a few musicians climb aboard as a career move, the members of Pink Martini are no bandwagon-riding aficionados. Fronted by pianist Thomas Lauderdale, Pink Martini is the real article--a band that approaches the music with unwavering seriousness yet never forgets the fun at the heart of it. Sympathique, the band's debut album reveals an incredibly diverse musical vocabulary on the part of frontman Lauderdale. And what singer China Forbes lacks in range and dynamics, she more than compensates for in attack, approach, and a clear understanding of the material. While most of the songs are upbeat, in the hands of Lauderdale and Forbes, "Qué será será," with its dark atmospherics should be rechristened "Qué será noir."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning album, 6 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sympathique (Audio CD)
This is a stunning CD. It is a cohesive blend of Cuban, French, Greek, Japanese, Italian, Spanish, classical, and Brazilian music. It is a hit in Europe; one of the cuts was included on one of the trendy Parisian Hotel Costes' CDs. The music is hard to classify- Jazz? Latin? House? Retro? Whatever you want to call it, it is marvelous, sophisticated, quirky, cosmopolitan, and international. And believe it or not, the group Pink Martini comes out of Portland Oregon. The group includes 14 talented musicians, covering vocals, trumpet, trombone, violin, cello, bass, guitar, piano, and percussion. Two cuts are augmented with the addition of a string orchestra and children's choir.
This is their debut CD, and as far as I know the only one. It was recorded in 1996-1997 in Portland. I can only offer the highest praise for this CD. Anyone, of any age, should find at least several things to love here. The first cut, Amado Mio, is a Latin groove. You will want to dance the tango or cha cha, even if you can't. The instrumental No Hay Problema is next, continuing the Spanish flavor. The next cut is what led me to the CD: Sympathique. This song could have been recorded by Edith Piaf, or Josephine Baker. However, it is an original work by the lead vocalist and the piano player of the group. It is definitely retro-light, humorous, tongue in cheek (in French, but the booklet includes a translation); I LOVE this song!
The next tune presents a remarkable plot twist. It is Que Sera Sera: yes, the song Doris Day made famous. It's the same song, but this is a twisted, chilling, haunted version. It's Doris Day meets Cirque de Soleil meets Fellini meets the Marquis de Sade. China Forbes' vocal is accompanied by an arrangement that is at once poignant, melancholic, light, discordant, tortured, wistful. This will blow your mind.
To soothe us after this alarming excursion, Pink Martini then kindly brings us to a calmer, peaceful place, thanks to a Frederick Chopin interlude, which flows into another Latin-flavored original composition, La Soledad. Chopin cleverly keeps sneaking back into the song. It's a fascinating juxtaposition. The Spanish theme continues with Donde Estas, Yolanda! Another instrumental, Andalusia, features some fine trumpet. It's a mellow, uplifting, driving piece that shows off the instrumental talents of the group. The next song, Song of the Black Lizard, in Japanese, is from the film The Black Lizard. It is sad and beautiful, and unforgettable (like the film). This work also demonstrates the power of the trumpet, this time with a Chris Botti-like chill groove.
The group stops next in Greece, with a slowed-down version of Children of Piraeus from the film Never On Sunday, which makes the song more poignant and wistful; and then cruises to Brazil with Acuarela de Brazil. The CD concludes with a reprise of Sympathique, this time called Lullaby. The tune is the same, but the mood is quite different-- full of longing, or looking back, or reminiscing.
If I had the option of giving this a multitude of stars, I would. This is an amazing work. I'd love to see this group perform live. They are clearly a bunch of clever, literate, talented, sophisticated, fun-loving, worldly people. I thank them for creating a delightful CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just sympatique but MAGNIFIQUE..., 5 Aug 2003
I got interested in Pink Martini after I bought the first Buddha Bar cd. It was feat. "La Soledad" a tango ballad which I immediately fell in love with.
When I first heard the cd, I was amazed by the worldwide music variety and education that Pink Martini have. The cd features music from Spain, Brazil, Greece plus the classic Bolero from Ravel
Being Greek I was surprised with the almost perfect Greek accent of the singer. All songs are played, sung and produced to perfection.
Definitely a diamond for any appreciative music lover. I am looking forward seeing them live in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 23 May 2006
By 
Cath B - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sympathique (Audio CD)
I bought this having bought 'Hang on little Tomato' and was not disappointed. It's a fantastic album, which combines a range of musical styles with inventive interpretations and exquisite musicality. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pink Martini -the must underated band around, 1 May 2006
By 
Y. M. Batten "Yvonne" (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sympathique (Audio CD)
I have recently ordered a second copy of this CD as I wore the first one out. Since purchasing this CD and Hang on Little Tomato, I have seen Pink Martini live twice and just booked my third concert. They are fantastiic. Brilliant musicians (which is rare) and the music appeals to all ages and tastes and 'does just what you want it to do'! Thay are great and I recommend them for easy listening or dance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I fell in love with China Forbes when they performed in Sydney!, 31 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. DAVID Geer "Korngold Fan" (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sympathique (Audio CD)
When Pink Martini opened the Sydney Festival this year I fell in love with China Forbes at least as a singer. This disc contains much that they performed & do so well. In fact I came home and ordered the CDS straight away and they don't disappoint!

Forbes & Pink M must be the only performers who can do Que Sera without you wishing they were Doris day!

Great disc as everyone else says - even greater band if you can catch them live - awesome sound and perfectionists in getting the balance spot on!

I hope I'll remember them and not just for singing and playing Brazil over a fire work show, need less to say Pink Martini won! Check them out on U Tube!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the later stuff from Pink Martini, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sympathique (Audio CD)
I enjoyed the later stuff from Pink Martini, and hearing this album i wished i had been turned on to them in the early days!. As ever such a eclectic mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Martini, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sympathique [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The first and the best album of Pink Martini, regardless of the other releases which are nice as well; but this title made Pink Martini known world wide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Driving music, 10 Nov 2013
By 
S. Kelly "mathematical SF fan" (Herefordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sympathique (Audio CD)
Lovely works to travel great distances. The various languages add to the variety and the challenge of identifying where they originate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sympathique
Sympathique by Pink Martini (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews