Customer Reviews
Sky


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classical versus rock
The front cover of Sky's debut album from 1979 proudly headlines the cast of top quality musicians that comprise its membership. Musicianship was never going to be an issue for the band that attempted to fuse rock with classical music. Ultimately, the music is sometimes one genre and sometimes the other, but never both. Nor is it ever totally convincing as rock. Despite...
Published on 11 Jun 2008 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn good
Very good, I have listened to this now many, many times and still enjoy it. However Sky 2 is so much better. Can we have the whole Sky back cat. on CD please.
Published on 28 Dec 2008 by J. Anthony


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classical versus rock, 11 Jun 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sky (Audio CD)
The front cover of Sky's debut album from 1979 proudly headlines the cast of top quality musicians that comprise its membership. Musicianship was never going to be an issue for the band that attempted to fuse rock with classical music. Ultimately, the music is sometimes one genre and sometimes the other, but never both. Nor is it ever totally convincing as rock. Despite the electric guitars and drums, classical values preclude the edge or soul of authentic rock music. Yet 'Sky' is a lovely album on its own terms. 'Westway', 'Cannonball' and ex-Curved Air Francis Monkman's five-part opus, 'Where Opposites Meet' represent the modern style, while 'La Danza' and the much-covered 'Gymnopedie No 1' are dragged out of the past. The Monkman-Gomm composition, 'Carrillon', is the one new piece to sound as if it belongs to a bygone age, propelled by John Williams's beautiful classical guitar work. This is a highly worthwhile album but not one which will appeal to purists of rock or classical music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classics goes rock, 23 Feb 2009
By 
B. Fildes (RAINHILL UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sky (Audio CD)
if you like your music classical but are also into modern sounds then this is the CD for you classical favorites played by 4 extremely talented musicians who bring it into the 20th century with some fantastic interpretations of the original pieces
originaly recorded over 20yrs ago but is as fresh today as it was then
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Prog-Classical Chill out album, 14 Feb 2008
This review is from: Sky (Audio CD)
What can I say, I have been listening to this album since it was released, the quality of the musicians and the tunes is out of this world...if you like your instrumentals chilled...buy it now, nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky (Audio CD)
Bought to replace the original LP which was past its sell by date and I really enjoy the sounds created bt Sky so I had to have this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sky by Sky, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky (MP3 Download)
I got this Cd to again replace my record. It is a great cd to relax to a blast of the 1980's, john williams and Hebbie Flowers wondreful musical people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just love Sky, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky (Audio CD)
Got the original tape album when it came out way back in the late 70's, and listened to this and Sky2 all the way to the South of France and back. It brings back some wonderful memories. It is a great album, which I will be listening to again and again and again.... you get the drift? In case you are wondering, I bought the cd coz the tape is giving up on me and has gone all screechy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 17 Mar 2013
By 
I. Hutchings "ianhutch" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky (MP3 Download)
I used to have this album years ago on tape but some how lost it so downloaded it the other day as I remember the track Carrilon being so beautiful and my memory was right, it was lovely to hear it again and I would say it's got to be one of the most beautiful tracks in the world. Download the album and you will see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sky cd, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky (Audio CD)
brought as a present but we have both enjoyed it,good value for the money.it came on time so would buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent debut, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky (Audio CD)
Sky could never be described as a rock band in its purest form, with its members being a strange hybrid of session musicians and classical soloists (especially John Williams), however these guys certainly know how to fuse classical with modern. The highlight for me is Francis Monkman's glorious 4-part epic 'Where Opposites Meet' but the shorter tracks are brilliant as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To complete the collection!, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky (Audio CD)
I had all Sky's other albums on vinyl, but not this one. Completing the collection was good, should have done it earlier and playing brought back memories of concerts we went too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sky
Sky by Sky (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews