Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE 70s GRINDHOUSE STYLE HELLRIDE.
REVIEWED VERSION: 2002 Lionsgate US Blu-Ray

Director: Rob Zombie

Cast: Sid Haig, Bill Moseley, Chad Bannon, William Bassett, Karen Black, Erin Daniels, Joe Dobbs III, Walton Goggins, Jennifer Jostyn, Chris Hardwick

SYNOPSIS

Two couples are driving through backwoods America in search of some offbeat roadside attractions, such as...
Published 6 months ago by Caligula II.

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Rip Off Of So Many Better Movies
When I watched House of 1000 corpses, I had already seen Rob Zombies other movies (except devils rejects) so I figured this would be at least ok because I liked his other movies, but I have to say this was his worst oneand I was very disappointed. Even Halloween 2 is better than this (which I liked more than most people did).
It does kind of become frustrating after...
Published 4 months ago by Jack Wilson


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly different, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
A. Dunn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this. Rob Zombie is a good filmaker and is clearly doing what he loves; getting together a good cast who are also clearly enjoying themselves. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film but UK release?, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
Captain Howdy (Wakefield W. Yorks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film but still waiting for a UK release. Anyone know a retailer, used Google and even ebay cant help, seem's pointless when Devil's rejects is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you are looking for a good horror movie then..., 27 Nov. 2011
This review is from: House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
...skip this one. Save your money and watch the sequel "The Devils Rejects" instead. "House of 1000 Corpses" is a major disappointment. The story gets too weird, there is no suspense or scary moments at all, the camera is annoying and even the gore isn't well done. To make it short: This must be the most boring movie I,ve ever seen. OK, Misses Moon-Zombie is fine, but that's all, folks. Definitely not worth your time. Can't believe how people could give this more than one star. Avoid!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good movie to watch!, 17 Mar. 2006
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This movie is good but not as good as devils rejects tho! This movie has lots of blood and murders in it but it just isnt set out as good as what devils rejects was! To be honest house of 1000 corpses has a few scenes that just doesnt excite you at all but it is still a good movie though! Theres quite a few scenes that is so funny and thats what makes the movie better! I feel the cops could've played a longer role but the way they leave the movie is quite good, but overall this is a good movie to watch and at the price its at, it is worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gorefest gallore!, 22 Aug. 2004
This is an excellent movie but it went over the top with the gore for me i think...i would still reccomend it to any 70's horror movie buff.I have seen most classic horror movies including Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Halloween and Nightmare On Elm Street but i found this had a better plot than the last 2 but this film pays homage to TCM.I loved the way at the beggining they went on captain spauldings ride and he told them of all the serial killers (Ed Gein to name but the 1 that inspired TCM)...SEE THIS MOVIE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch., 23 Dec. 2008
By 
A pretty good effort. Good film - not great but worth a watch. As with all my reviews i'm objective and unbiased here in anattempt to provide you with as much information as possible to aid you in choosing whether or not to buy this.

This film is packed with references to other movies. The killers for example are all named after characters in 'animal crackers' (1930 Groucho Marx) When we firstsee captain spaulding he's advertising his museum of monsters and madmen "you like blood, violence, freaks of nature" etc. This is intended as anhomage the 'freakshow' (1928)

Its about a family of torturous killers who operate from their middle of nowhere house in americas deep south and specialize in abducting kids from the surrounding area. There latest victims are the subjects of this film. One of the family wears someones cut off face as a mask. Does that remind you of anything.
Yes you might have guessed that the Texas Chainsaw Massacre is the films biggest influence, not only with the killer family idea, and leatherface but also the jarring music. quite excellent music. Of course TCM was influenced in turn by the murders of ed Gein in the 1950's who wore a victims face as a mask before making it into a lamp shade. Lots of bones around the house here just like in TCM and the ed gein crime scene. furnature made out of bones, etc. Of course nothing wrong with being influenced by a classic as TCM. Dont expect this to be as shocking or as gory as Texas Chainsaw Massacre though. In fact the recent Hostel films which I was very dissapointed with are more gory than this. This is better though.

So if you want a gore fest maybe buying a film like hostel, TCM, or Braindead (1993 peter jackson) is better for you. All have more blood and guts than this. Braindead and TCM are better horrors than this as well.

As well as being a well thought out homage to TCM and the pre war horror flicks listed this also has some special moments all of its own. The song 'I remember you' comes on when the police mandiscovers a garden shed full of missing girls - terrific. And the excellent editing when the cops get killed. If you like inventiveness in a director theres tons of it here. the camera pullsaway in slow motion just before they put a bullet in the cops head. That made what could have been another bullet another murder into something memorable.

WARNING
The acting in this movie is terrible though the script is so bad it would demoralize any actor. Really if great scriptsand great acting are your thing dont buy this. horror movies aren'tknown for good scripts but this is worse than usual. Rob zombie actually gives his daughter a role as the youngest member of the family - big mistake and one that inexperienced directors often make. BUY THIS MOVIE IF WRITING AND ACTING ARE NOT HIGH ON YOUR LIST OF MUST HAVES.

Also buy it if you like comedy in your horror. Unless of course your dont already have 'The People under the stairs' (wes craven 1993 i think)The comedy in that is much better than this.

hope i've been of some assistance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One hell of a great horror movie?, 23 Jan. 2004
By 
This film offers plenty of gore galore, but little else.
The film is some kind of remake of the infamous Texas Chain Saw Massacre, only more polished maybe. Director Rob Zombie is a Heavy Metal rocker, so it is easily to understand why this movie
hasn't any style or famous scenes. I rated it three stars, because the villain characters are sometime more likeable than the goodies. Strange, isn't it? Although I've read that the movie's original run time is almost 2 hours (117 min.) they have edited a lot more gruesome and gory stuff out. What a shame!
Well, this could have been the most grossed out crazy, insane,
horror flick since Peter Jackson's Braindead!
Not bad, but not good either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD]
House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD] by Sid Haig (DVD - 2005)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews