Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars House of 1000 corpses, Love it
A horror masterpiece by one of metals biggest icons. A film very much in the vien of a Texas Chainsaw Massacre(even mentioning the famous Ed Gein) but taken to a higher level. Based around a fictional tale about Dr satan, a medical surgeon who takes a fancy to experimenting on his patient in bizarre ways. This leads a group of youngsters to investigate the tale to cure...
Published on 24 Feb 2004 by bambos8

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag really... mainly, of different body parts
This is an odd film really that I had high hopes for. I saw Rob Zombies sequel to this, called the 'The Devils Rejects' and loved it - I was really blown away by it, so when I found out about this, essentially what is part 1, I had to see it. Sadly it doesn't compete on any level... other than the fact it has Sheri Moon in it. Sheri Moon = Hubba Hubba.

This...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by The Truth


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars House of 1000 corpses, Love it, 24 Feb 2004
A horror masterpiece by one of metals biggest icons. A film very much in the vien of a Texas Chainsaw Massacre(even mentioning the famous Ed Gein) but taken to a higher level. Based around a fictional tale about Dr satan, a medical surgeon who takes a fancy to experimenting on his patient in bizarre ways. This leads a group of youngsters to investigate the tale to cure their boredom on long drive. This leads to a highly entertaining gore fest, with great over the top characters, and some cameos from some of horrors greats such as Karen Black.(Rob Zombie does not appear in this movie, only directs!)
A film for horror fans who just expect to be entertained, it doesnt take its self seriously and has re educated us on how to make horror movies, taking us away from the 90's formula of horror!
Great movie, cant wait for house of 2000 corpses! Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality movie, 4 Feb 2014
This review is from: House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Chainsaw massacre style theme without the chainsaw but with the legend of Dr Satan a local myth as a sideline, one of many well becomes the business but won't spoil the movie. Brilliant film and don't understand people giving this a poor rating, horror film with twists and turns a plenty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant debut from Zombie., 27 July 2014
This review is from: House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
The premise for House of a Thousand Corpses could have been done by anyone that could hold a camera up. But thank god we got someone who is in love with the horror genre. And a decade ago who would have thought that would be White Zombie front man Rob Zombie who for a time ditched the stage for the camera lens.

The film borrows from some of the great grindhouse epics of the 70s, most notably from The Texas Chainsaw Massacre but it never feels lacking or boring, this movie is clearly its own. The visual flashbacks and ads will go over peoples heads who are not into 70s horror, it's satire baby and it is done extremely well. There is one scene in particular which I would be happy to put amongst some of the most awe inspiring scenes in movie history. The 20 second silence as the camera withdraws to a birds eye view of one of the family about to shoot a cop in the head, we wait and wait and wait and then BANG! What a scene. And when you see pieces of magic like this it's hard not to fall in love with what Zombie is trying to achieve.

Zombie loves film and that is clear to see. And we have a very interesting line up of characters. Karen Black, Sid Haig to name a few.

The level of gore isn't as extreme as you may read elsewhere. It is here and this film certainly isn't for kids, but for the first half of the film there is next to no violence. Like a vintage Tarantino with sharp dialogue the film rolls along so well. Watch out for the delicious doll Sheri Moon, who lights up every scene she is in. She would later go on to be Zombie's wife. Horror fans will be hard pressed not to like Rob Zombie's first venture into movieland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie is a total watch, 25 July 2013
One of Rob zombies finest films, not only is it bloody but has some funny moments though out the film. Rob zombie to me is the master of blood and gore. From start to finish is just blood and screams. Not a scary film as such but if you like blood and gore it's a must watch :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yum Yum Bubblegum. I LOVED this film., 23 Nov 2006
By 
Pallus the Phallus (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Each to his(/her) own. There are a lot of comparisons between this film and the sequel, Devil's Rejects. For many, Devil's Rejects is the superior film. Here is my brief summary:

Devil's Rejects is a schizophrenic, curdled mix of Bonnie & Clyde and Naked Gun which does not work for me. The 'humour' and cop-chase aspects totally diffuse any suspenseful horror. I don't know what kind of film this is trying to be.

House of 1,000 Corpses is an accomplished work of classic horror. It looks good. The acting and characterisation is excellent. The journey, or 'ride'(!) through the story is an interesting one. Humour is subtle and amusing. The horror action is convincing and doesn't let-up. Personally, I feel the plot develops perfectly; this IS a horror gorefest -not The 39 Steps! The cinematography features short clips occasionally (arbitrarily?) interspersed between scenes which I really like; it is reminiscent of 70's techniques like split-screen etc. which is the era in which this type of film was borne.

I wish I'd watched it twice now (I returned the rental copy).

I DO recommend this if you like a traditional horror gorefest which makes you go >eek!< .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Horror Film, from a fan for fans, 29 Mar 2004
Rob Zombie has stated many time he has always been a fan of CLASSIC horror films. What he created here has every cliche of the horror films of the 70's and 80's..but with a mordern twist and AWESOME music...the characters are really twisted and you cant seem to look away at the scariest parts...this film will have you on the edge of your seat at times, laughing like crazy te next, but either way you will be FULLY entertained
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag really... mainly, of different body parts, 13 Feb 2011
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an odd film really that I had high hopes for. I saw Rob Zombies sequel to this, called the 'The Devils Rejects' and loved it - I was really blown away by it, so when I found out about this, essentially what is part 1, I had to see it. Sadly it doesn't compete on any level... other than the fact it has Sheri Moon in it. Sheri Moon = Hubba Hubba.

This film was all over the place - not in the way the story unfolded but in the way the film was made. At times it felt very well done, at other times it felt amatuerish and cheap. At times the sets and effects looked great and felt like a lot of money has been spent on them, and then at times some of the old-school film effects looked terrible.

The film was not anywhere near as good as The Devils Rejects, which you really must see. And where as that felt more like Tarantino's Natural Born Killers, this did feel very B-movie horror... but then I guess it's meant to.

Fans of the genre should enjoy it, and it's worth a watch if you've seen and enjoyed the sequel. But If you haven't this is probably the one occasion I'd advise you to watch the films back to front, because if you don't enjoy this it might put you off what is a really great piece of cinema: The Devil's Rejects [Blu-ray] [2005]Sadly though, 'House of 1000 Corpses' can't compete.

One thing I will say though, is that this is probably the best DVD I've ever seen quality-wise. Upscaled on my BluRay player, it looked amazing... better, sharper and crisper than any other DVD I've seen and better even, than some of my BluRays. 4 stars in places, but 3 stars overall from me I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars only if you like this stuff!, 13 May 2007
By 
M. O. HAYNES "couch magpie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this and Devils Rejects the wrong way round, like I guess a lot of people did, and like a lot of people liked the sequel better than the first.

That said the way this film is put together with its mix of styles is an entertainment in itself and as a Horror story of the 'Wrong Turn' kind it stands above a lot of other films out there in terms of shock vaule and plain out-and-out ickyness. Stephen King fans will love this film - it is very reminiscent of the gore and clown-based creepiness of 'It' without the metaphysical cosmic spider hockum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars why wait untill Halloween??, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Sick ,twisted and full of gore blood. you can really imagine this sort of family being out there somewhere. Brilliant if you want a good horror film all year round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy film, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you like your gore with little story line then watch this one not the best film i have ever seen quiet disjointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD]
House Of 1000 Corpses [2003] [DVD] by Sid Haig (DVD - 2005)
9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews